I’m Curious About NaNoWriMo…

How many writer mamas are participating?

What do you like about it?

What are the benefits that are not obvious to those who have not done it?

Is it fun?

I’ve not done it, but maybe…next year. Time for me to write my first novel, perhaps?

9 Responses to “I’m Curious About NaNoWriMo…”


  1. 1 Tammy Takahashi November 5, 2008 at 11:20 am

    Lots of moms participate in NaNo! 🙂

    I am the moderator of a Homeschool NaNo support group. It’s made up mostly of moms, with a few kids and dads sprinkled in.

    We have 72 members, and every year the group grows as word gets around.

    There are lots of reasons people decide to write a NaNo novel. Our group has several published authors, many 1st time writers, and everything in between.

    The benefits of NaNo are hard to describe. It leaves me with this feeling of accomplishment, and a renewed trust in my ability as a writer. The first book was the most significant. It pushed my limits. It just felt…. right.

    Before NaNo, I wrote only nonfiction. And I had no real confidence that I could write more than a few pages. I ended up writing and selling my first book soon after. It was nonfiction, but I’m convinced that I would not have been able to finish it as quickly, and as completely, as I had without having experienced NaNo.

    NaNo gives me an excuse to BE a writer, and nothing else. A fiction writer. It’s not just a hobby, or something I’ll do one day. It becomes everything in November. Writing fiction is my whole life for a month. It gives me permission to say, even after November, that I write fiction. It makes it real.

    That’s my experience. Everyone has a different experience. Give it a try. Perhaps you can use the experience in your next book 🙂

  2. 2 The Writer Mama November 5, 2008 at 11:30 am

    Wonderful sharing, Tammy!

    I have quite a bit of interviewing and researching to do between now and next year. But your comments are spurring me forward.

    Heartfelt thanks!

    🙂 C

  3. 3 Luci November 5, 2008 at 11:38 am

    Hey Christina,
    NaNo participant here! And in a surprising turn of events, I’m lovin the experience so far. Surprising because, I’ve never written anything with a 50,000 word count. I likened that to as arduous and strenous a task as scaling the north face of Everest. In flip-flops. But seriously, I’m having a ball creating the story, the details seem to come to me as I write. I’ve also ‘met’ fellow nano-ers for support. One benefit for me is developing a plot and structure to my half baked ideas that I can go back and tweak in December. For me it’s about getting it done and the feeling of accomplishment that goes with it. Thanks for asking.

  4. 4 hi kooky November 5, 2008 at 12:57 pm

    Hi Christina,

    I’m actually participating in NaBloPoMo (the blogger version – http://www.nablopomo.com). I wasn’t aware of NaNoPoMo until very recently.

    I’m learning a lot about the discipline of writing every day. This process is showing me that daily work is possible! (It’s been easy for me to think I don’t have enough time or energy after taking care of the kids.) I’m understanding firsthand that daily writing makes a qualitative difference in my work.

    I also enjoy checking in on other bloggers who participate in NaBloPoMo. It’s interesting to see how they push themselves to write everyday, and where they find inspiration. I find myself further inspired (and in some cases, educated) by their work.

    And it IS fun! It’s only day five and I already feel quite a sense of accomplishment. Woohoo! I highly recommend it.

  5. 5 Pattie November 5, 2008 at 1:17 pm

    I am doing this for the fifth year in a row. I am accountable to many friends and dedicated to writing daily for 30 days in a row. It’s been a good practice of self-discipline for me. Of course, today I’m officially behind…….and I feel compelled to say, I have never won yet. But I am hoping to win this year!

  6. 6 anniegirl1138 November 5, 2008 at 2:10 pm

    Second year for me and I have found it a great way to set a timeline and not let life interrupt it.

  7. 7 Eliza November 5, 2008 at 4:03 pm

    I’m doing it again this year — this makes six years, with three wins! My NaNoWriMo from two years ago is under submission at [name redacted] right now — I can definitely say it’s a good (but difficult) experience.

  8. 8 Mary Jo C. November 5, 2008 at 7:44 pm

    I’m a first timer this year, as well. I decided to just do it, since the novel I started years ago came to a screeching hault because I began revising before I wrote the complete first rough draft. And alas, I lost my novel mojo.

    I joined a local group of NaNo’ers where we have scheduled meetings pre-November to discuss characters, plot, settings and the like. And we have weekend “write-in’s.” This is a great reason to get out of the house and go write with other like-minded novelists, all battling procrastination and dwindling word counts.

    My biggest inspiration, is my class of young writers, I teach on Saturdays. I felt the panic they expressed in their wide eyes when I told them they were going to sign a “contract” with me to hold them accountable to their selected word count. Ya know what? I rec’v emails almost daily with their updates and how excited and proud they are to be accomplishing this feat! How can I NOT keep up with them?

    Not to mention, everyone knows I’m doing this, so how’s that for accountability? The emotions run hot and cold, but I’m hoping this sense of freedom (from putting my editor in a locked box) will propel my creativity and allow me to write from the heart, and save revision for December!

    (But, I’m posting now instead of meeting my personal goal of 2000 words today *sigh*)

  9. 9 Erin Maher November 7, 2008 at 3:46 pm

    My first time doing NaNo as well. I basically decided last minute – October 31, and it’s been a bit of a whirlwind. I have never written a novel, let alone in 30 days, and I must admit – I think my NaNo is the worst novel of all time. At first I was expecting it to just happen to be the best novel ever written, but reality sank in after the first ten pages. You would think that that would really get me down, but the experience has just been so exhilarating. There really is a dedicated NaNo community, and it’s pretty cool.

    Anyways, that’s my opinion :).


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

My Latest Flickr Photos

More Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 186,527 Visitors

