Excellent Review of Get Known

Get Known Before the Book Deal by Christina KatzIt’s always a pleasant surprise to wake up and find a thoughtful, positive, well-written book review of one of your books after you’ve put so much thought and effort into it. So I was thrilled this morning to find this review of Get Known by Thursday Bram in her blog Thursdaybram.com.

Recently in his blog, The Newbie’s Guide to Publishing, Joe Konrath wrote about how easy it is to criticize a book and how everyone seems to have jumped on the bandwagon without bringing a respectful or professional take to the effort.

I’ve been pretty lucky when it comes to scathing critiques of my writing by critics (you have to actually get reviewed to get scathing critiques and writing instruction books don’t tend to garner the interest of paid book reviewers), however, I have been personally attacked (I was told to get a plant instead of a child when WM came out) and recently I was received a dubious review of one of my workshops, which I won’t dignify with a link, because apparently the reviewer (a self-described “lothario”) missed the entire point and was only interested in cutting it and me down.

Suffice it to say, when I read a review of one of my books by a complete stranger, and they seem to be posting the review not because they are getting paid but to share information, and it’s a rave review, I feel pretty darn good.

Because the fact of the matter is: I don’t write my books to please critics. I write them to help writers.

So, thanks Thursday Bram. For restoring my faith in reviewers. I may never get that coveted New York Times review (or even The Oregonian for that matter) but on mornings like this, I feel like all of my hard work has been acknowledged and appreciated…and I couldn’t ask for anything more.

1 Response to “Excellent Review of Get Known”


  1. 1 kiara November 26, 2008 at 6:39 pm

    Aw, I thought it was a lovely (and useful!) book! I look forward to reading my copy again once November is over and I’m no longer staring down a 50k word deadline. I’m planning to do a much more thorough review for you then. I’ll be sure to send you a link.


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

My Latest Flickr Photos

More Photos

Blog Stats

  • 186,398 Visitors

