December Sell-a-bration #5: Not Usually A Networker

By Abigail Green

As a typical introverted writer, I am not a natural networker. So it was with some surprise that I realized that this year much of my work has come from networking.

Since to me that word conjures up anxious situations filled with small-talk and the exchange of business cards, I actually don’t consider what I do networking at all. Rather, I’ve just been doing what does come naturally to me – keeping in touch with former colleagues and friends, reading and commenting on various blogs, sending people links or articles they might find interesting and useful.

The result? A new corporate client, my first acceptance to be published in an anthology, several freelance markets I didn’t know about, and a couple of teaching opportunities. And all these opportunities came to me.

Another thing that’s surprising is that these leads didn’t come from my closest or most well-connected friends. One came from a former boss I haven’t seen in years (yet another reason never to burn bridges!), and another came from someone I’ve only met online.

I have to give myself some of the credit, though – I keep myself open to opportunities that come my way, and I make a point of being polite and professional in all aspects of my work. Still, it’s encouraging that even a networking-averse writer like me can get ahead simply by being myself!

3 Responses to “December Sell-a-bration #5: Not Usually A Networker”


  1. 1 Sarah December 5, 2008 at 1:46 am

    Abigail,
    this is definitely inspiring for me, also not much of a networker myself! It’s really cool to see that it’s okay to be yourself…and still have an opportunity to be successful as a writer. Congratulations on your success!

  2. 2 anniegirl1138 December 5, 2008 at 8:26 am

    The accidental networker. That’s me too.

  3. 3 Mary December 9, 2008 at 8:41 pm

    I know what you mean. I never thought of myself as a networker in the past, but I’ve come to understand networking and marketing as essential to the livelihood of a freelancer. Now I rather enjoy putting myself out there to meet new people and gain interesting experiences.


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

My Latest Flickr Photos

More Photos

Blog Stats

  • 186,571 Visitors

