Archive for December 11th, 2008

December Sell-a-bration #11: It’s Been A Good Year

By Tiffani Hill-Patterson

Before taking inventory of my writing success in 2008, it didn’t seem like much. However, looking back, I realize that each small step pushed me a little closer to my goal of national publication.

First, I became a regular contributor to Birmingham Parent magazine with articles in nine of 12 issues. Because my editor likes my work, she passed along my name to another regional editor and I scored a reprint client.

Then, I took Christina’s class on targeting markets, which helped me zone in on my specialties. I also wrote for The Writer Mama e-zine for the first half of 2008 and learned so much about how other writers market their work. Also, through Christina and Jennifer Applin, another Writer Mama contributor, I learned about Brette Sember’s Regional Parenting Publication list.

Through these connections, I’ve published and been paid for 17 reprints, and I am awaiting checks for four more. That may not sound like much, but it adds up to a nice chunk and in today’s economy every bit helps.

Also, I’m a full-time copy editor at my local newspaper and an occasional columnist. My piece on my daughter’s hearing loss and cochlear implants was picked up by a couple of local magazines, giving my writing even more exposure. I also write for the newspaper’s parenting magazine, earning comp time for each story, which means more time for writing.

Next, I updated my professional Web site and started a blog about one of my specialties – hearing loss and cochlear implants. It’s about my family’s experiences, from surgery to therapy to everyday life with a 7-year-old who is deaf and hears with CIs.

In addition to print work, I’m getting paid to blog about health, fitness and beauty for Prevention.com. It’s not a lot of money, but it’s fun, interesting and easy, and I’m learning a lot about promoting my work.

Finally, my biggest assignment yet came near the end of November. A $1-per-word job writing about sports for a national special-interest publication was listed at FreelanceWritingGigs.com. After I e-mailed my cover letter and clips, I put it out of my mind.

About a month later, I got an e-mail saying, “After looking through your resume and samples, we think you may be a good fit …” One day and a conference call later, I got the assignment, due in less than two weeks.

I’m proud to say I turned it in a day before the deadline, and I am now awaiting approval and payment. If this one works out, I could gain a regular client and a great clip, a great national clip.

When I look back at my accomplishments laid out like this, I realize I did more than I thought to advance my writing career … one step at a time.

Tiffani Hill-Patterson writes about parenting, health and fitness. She also blogs about her family’s experience with deafness and cochlear implants at http://soundcheckmama.blogspot.com. Contact her at patterson1723@mac.com or http://tiffanihillpatterson.com.

Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

My Latest Flickr Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 186,865 Visitors