December Sell-a-bration #13: I Grew In Words and Wisdom

By Mary Ann Ebner

To kick off my 2008 writing goals, in early January, I launched a blog. Now in its twelfth month, I’ve used the blog to push myself to write and connect. I followed up on the blog a few months later with the launch of my website (still primitive but on its way).

I completed two worthwhile online writing classes. Did they provide encouragement? Yes, but even better . . . the instructors offered valuable criticism and I listened.

Through frugal planning, I squeezed a writing conference into my schedule and budget. I attended the ASJA conference in April, and to keep costs down, sent out a request: Starving artist seeks sofa. My plea was answered. Sleeping on the futon of a friend of a friend turned a writing goal into a reality.

I grew in words and wisdom through my local weekly workshop with other writers in New York.

More clips (including a new national byline) landed in my published files and a key editor sent me one of my top rejection letters on record. (It’s in the save file.) Garnering the year’s sales and rejections required follow-up efforts and I improved but there’s room for growth.

Along the way, I completed a cross-country move with the kids and my husband trailed a month later. After putting the new office together, I’m back at my keyboard. And as this year comes to a close, I continue to meet established writers and new writers who want to find themselves sitting down with words. I hope we’re all warming our chairs and writing well in 2009.

5 Responses to “December Sell-a-bration #13: I Grew In Words and Wisdom”


  1. 1 vodkamom December 13, 2008 at 2:17 pm

    Last year I send out two children’s books to publishers. IN the last year I have received 40 rejections (makes me feel like a REAL writer) and have decided I will NEVER give up. I landed a monthly column in our local paper (18 months ago) and just ADORE writing my blog. I vow to keep pushing my books, and this year I will try to attend a writer’s conference.

    There. I said it. Now let it be so. 🙂

  2. 2 cookerycontent December 14, 2008 at 6:50 am

    Two books on their way, a monthly column, your blog . . . and your commitment NEVER to quit all make me want to celebrate, vodkamom. I’m posting your post over my desk for inspiration. — Mary Ann

  3. 3 Jen December 14, 2008 at 1:46 pm

    Yes, this is great all around, from the post to the comments! Thanks for the smile and the kickstart. I have to admit I love the name vodkamom, as well!

  4. 4 writerinspired December 14, 2008 at 8:43 pm

    Mary Ann,
    Sounds like a full-packed year. Loved your ad for a couch to sleep on! Really shows your determination!
    Mary Jo

  5. 5 Donna McDine December 17, 2008 at 2:07 pm

    Mary Ann…great accomplished along with a move…way to go…KUDOS! Best wishes for a successes 2009!


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

My Latest Flickr Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 186,756 Visitors

