Writer Mama Giving in 2008

With the holiday season upon us, I’ve been thinking a lot about giving, specifically all that I’ve been blessed to give back to the writer mama community in 2008. If you know me, you know that I am a big believer in karma, the principle that underscores the idea that as you sow, so shall you reap.

In 2008, I gave:

  • Almost $1200 in scholarships for my Writing and Publishing the Short Stuff Class.
  • 30 books by other authors, one magazine subscription, and three gift baskets in partnership with others during the Writer Mama Back to School Giveaway (not to mention shipping costs).
  • Well over 30 copies of my own books during the giveaway and throughout the year (not to mention shipping costs).
  • Several free coaching sessions.
  • Dozens of hours for the Northwest Author Series and giveaways in conjunction with my publisher, Writer’s Digest Books.
  • Hundreds of posts on this blog.
  • About 70 hours managing the details of The Writer Mama e-zine.
  • About a dozen interviews to others for their publications.
  • And several hundred dollars in professional gifts.

Of course, this isn’t everything. This is mostly just the stuff I didn’t have to do. The things I wanted to do.

In writing this list, I realize that I really gave a lot more than I was aware of as I was doing it. That’s because I love what I do, including the work that pays: writing, teaching and speaking. But I confess, sometimes the giving is the happiest part.

Occasionally, I’ve had to say “no” to people in the heat of a really busy moment or a pending big deadline. No matter that we all need to say no sometimes, I’ve found that no one ever likes to hear it.

Perhaps I need to cut down on how much I’m giving? I hope not.

On one or two occasions I may have stretched myself a little too thin. Certainly I’ve wished I could have been on top of every detail every time, but I haven’t been able to be that perfect.

When I look back over what I gave away, on my own and in conjunction with others, I realize that I gave…a lot. And, as always, the same way I do everything, I did it imperfectly.

6 Responses to “Writer Mama Giving in 2008”


  1. 1 anniegirl1138 December 15, 2008 at 3:39 pm

    Enjoy the holiday. Happy Christmas and a joyous New Year to you and yours.

  2. 2 Sarah December 16, 2008 at 1:36 am

    Hope you have a great Christmas and New Year! Enjoy the break…you deserve it!

  3. 3 Sarah December 17, 2008 at 4:32 am

    Way to give Christina. I think you’ve done your share. I hope that I’ve done mine.

  4. 4 nathalie December 19, 2008 at 9:12 pm

    You know, I think you should also include the time you’ve given away to encourage folks and respond to God only knows how many e-mails. I know I’m not alone in my appreciation for your warmth and helpful nature.


  1. 1 In the spirit of the holidays, I’ve chosen TWO scholarship recipients again… « The Writer Mama Riffs Trackback on December 16, 2008 at 2:55 pm
  2. 2 Dear Writer Mamas (January 2009 TWM e-Zine) « The Writer Mama Riffs Trackback on January 14, 2009 at 9:31 am
Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

My Latest Flickr Photos

More Photos

Blog Stats

  • 186,571 Visitors

