In the spirit of the holidays, I’ve chosen TWO scholarship recipients again…

Writer Mama ScholarshipOnce again, I’ve decided to grant two scholarships today instead of just one (I did the same in October). For more reasons this time than those I gave then, to combat all the media doom and gloom and because two women impressed me enough that I wanted to. Also because times are tough and I want to offer as much support as I can. Besides, it’s the holidays!

And once again, I can’t promise the same for next time, but I will continue to at least give one scholarship each quarter.

Now, without further ado, and on my way to sign myself up for Over-givers Anonymous (see my post from yesterday on 2008 giving), the scholarship recipients are:

Melissa Lindberg

&

Erin Goodman

Hearty congratulations, ladies! I look forward to working with you in class in January. I will send you each a class confirmation shortly.

I wish I could grant a scholarship to everyone. Unfortunately, I’m not in a position to do that. Maybe some day. )

Thanks to EVERYONE who applied. I encourage you to apply again for the next WPSS class in March. Anything you can do to beef up the your traditional publication credits between now and the next application round is a good strategy.

Subscribe to The Writer Mama e-zine to stay abreast of when I’ll be accepting applications next time around.

And congratulations again, Melissa and Erin!

7 Responses to “In the spirit of the holidays, I’ve chosen TWO scholarship recipients again…”


  1. 1 Sarah December 16, 2008 at 3:47 pm

    Thanks for the chance…I’ll be applying again next time! 🙂

  2. 2 Kelli December 16, 2008 at 7:00 pm

    Congrats, ladies! I really hope to apply next time around. Such a great opportunity.

  3. 3 Melanie December 16, 2008 at 7:07 pm

    Congratulations to the winners!!! I’ll keep saving my pennies and try again next time 😉

  4. 4 Erin Goodman December 17, 2008 at 8:24 am

    I have finally stopped jumping around my house long enough to be able to type a reply…

    Thank you SO much for this opportunity! I am so excited to begin this class and take my writing to the next level!

    I will always remember how wonderful it feels to be given this amazing gift.

    Thank you!!!

    ~Erin

  5. 5 Melissa Lindberg December 17, 2008 at 11:34 am

    I am overjoyed and honored to be a recipient of this scholarship. I discovered the news last night, right before putting the children and myself to bed. While yesterday, December 16th, was my 43rd birthday, it had not been a day of fun and excitement; rather it had been an exhausting and overcommitted day filled with PTA meetings, school holiday programs, household chores and holiday errands…not much time to celebrate. As a “grown-up” I kept telling myself that it was “just another day”; yet in my heart I couldn’t help but feel a sense of childhood lost. Upon discovering that I had won the scholarship, suddenly, it wasn’t “just another day” after all. I am so thrilled to be awarded this honor. I will never forget this “birthday gift”. Thank you so much for this opportunity, 2009 is going to be a wonderfully exciting year.

  6. 6 The Writer Mama December 17, 2008 at 12:55 pm

    I love to hear that some mamas plan to re-apply. Many recipients have applied more than once.

    Thanks for all of your positive attitudes!

  7. 7 Jennifer December 19, 2008 at 5:47 am

    Congratulations ladies! As a former scholarship recipient I can say that you are in for a fun and focused six weeks that will make you just want to write, write, write. Take a deep breath and enjoy!


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

My Latest Flickr Photos

More Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 186,477 Visitors

