December Sell-a-bration #22: Laying a Platform’s Groundwork

By Jennifer Kales

This year, I decided it was time to get proactive about my writing career. I took classes (two with Christina, one with Abby), did market research and pinpointed my writing platform.

To begin with, I launched “The Nut-Free Mom Blog” in January of 2008. When I began it, I really didn’t know if anyone would find it and/or read it. Imagine my surprise when my blog was mentioned and quoted on NPR this past September. My readership has steadily grown and my blog has inspired me to start working on a book proposal.

In March of this year, I met another one of my goals. My article “Playing Safe” was published in Chicago Parent magazine and was even one of those featured on the cover!

Since a platform is multi-faceted, I’ve tried to “get known” in other ways. Right after Thanksgiving, the Chicago Tribune published my lengthy Letter to the Editor in response to their 2-part investigation on food allergies. Following that, I received an e-mail from the president of the Illinois Food Allergy Education Association thanking me for my advocacy efforts!

Last week I was asked to be a “Featured Blogger” on the Wellsphere website (wellsphere.com) as part of their Parenting and Food Allergy communities. They said they really like my writing! I will have my own profile page, etc. and this will put my blog before many more readers.

Regarding essays, I’ve got several markets I’m targeting, essays currently circulating and many more ideas in the hopper. I feel confident that something will pan out soon.

Looking back, 2008 was a very productive year! I accomplished more with my blog than I had thought possible and feel like nothing can stop me now if I put forth the effort.

Jennifer Kales is a Chicago-area freelance writer and mother of two beautiful girls. She blogs about food allergies and parenting at www.nut-freemom.blogspot.com.

2 Responses to “December Sell-a-bration #22: Laying a Platform’s Groundwork”


  1. 1 Tiffani December 22, 2008 at 9:02 am

    Great job, Jenny! Sounds like a great year to build upon. Your blog is terrific, and I’m so happy you’re becoming known as the expert you are. 🙂

  2. 2 writerinspired December 22, 2008 at 9:06 pm

    Jennifer,

    I read your Chicago Parent article a while back – great job! I’m a Chicago local too (in Downers Grove) and have been trying to break the Chicago Parent market for almost a year! If you can offer any tips, I’d gladly listen.
    Thanks! Mary Jo


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

My Latest Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 186,654 Visitors

