Thank You, Mamas & Happy New Year!

I have been buried in paperwork since I came back to work on Monday. Also the little things in life (flat tire, sick dog, packages to wrap and mail at the P.O.) seem to be slurping up more time then I’d like. But I’ve felt fairly relaxed knowing that most folks are on vacation this week. So anything I accomplish (including several deadlines) means I’m making strides.

I wanted to take a moment to give a heartfelt thanks to all the mamas who participated in the December Sell-a-bration! I hope, as the New Year rolls on, that if and when you feel discouraged, you will come back to the December archives and read or re-read them.

More than anything, I gained a renewed sense of collective success. And I loved reading all the ways that success was experienced and described.

As we move into 2009, it makes sense to look forward and confirm the plans we’ve been dreaming for the past few months. I’m going to post a few of my goals here and I’d love to hear you proclaim a few of yours with me.

Please comment with your top three goals for 2009 and let’s charge into the New Year…together!

Christina’s 2009 Goals:

1. Land a book contract for book three and complete the writing before the year’s end/Start a novel and have it roughed out by the end of the year.

2. Create enhanced and more centralized community resources for all of my tribes (writer mamas, nonfiction writers, and platform builders).

3. Make better use of technology in order to connect personally with writers from around the globe.

Some experts are saying that in the future, content is going to be king for writers.

I disagree. I think CONTEXT, not content, is the key to success. Not just today but in the future…

I hope you will continue to come here and share your collective wisdom with me and all the mamas who come here for sustenance and inspiration.

HAPPY NEW YEAR, WRITER MAMAS!

7 Responses to “Thank You, Mamas & Happy New Year!”


  1. 1 Wendy Gregory Kaho December 31, 2008 at 2:51 pm

    Christina
    Thanks for all of the inspiring stories this month. They were just what I needed to see my year in perspective and come up with my list of resolutions. Drop by and see how all those classes and all that whining finally turned out.
    Wendy

  2. 2 Cheryl M January 1, 2009 at 4:57 pm

    My number 1 goal for the year is to be paid for an article. I have some clips and some ideas and now I need to start submitting!

  3. 3 Jennifer January 1, 2009 at 6:28 pm

    I just wanted to say thank you for hosting your Sell-a-bration. I looked forward to “dropping in” every morning for a healthy dose of inspiration. It was like Chicken Soup for the Writer Mama’s Soul… hey, maybe there’s an idea worth pitching, Christina!
    Thanks again,
    Jen

  4. 4 Celestial Goldfish January 2, 2009 at 1:55 pm

    My top three goals for 2009:

    1) Edit my newly-finished urban fantasy and get it in top form.

    2) Get an agent, using either the new book or my older manuscript.

    3) Continue to submit to smaller markets and build my bio line.

  5. 5 Luci January 2, 2009 at 9:25 pm

    Hey Christina,
    thank you for opening up your blog to us mama’s. It was really delightful to read and glean so much from the stories shared. Your goals are so well articulated and inspiring. Reminds me to expand on my ‘just write, write, write’ goal! Happy New Year’s!

  6. 6 Mary Jo C. January 3, 2009 at 3:28 pm

    Christina,
    Thank you for the opportunity to post our successes. From my post, two writer mamas contacted me for tips on how to start their own young writers groups for their communities! And, thanks again for putting Verna Dreisbach in touch with me.

    My top 3 goals:
    1. Continue to grow my platform as a young writers group teacher/coordinator by branching out from my current workshops.
    2. Complete revision of my novel written during NaNo and begin searching for publishers.
    3. Break into Chicago Parent

  7. 7 dundeewriter January 4, 2009 at 8:06 pm

    Christina,

    Your book Writer Mama led me to your blog, and your blog has led me to 1) lots of encouragement and inspiration 2) lots of other great mama-bloggers and 3) excellent resources and tips. Thank you so very much!

    I’m a wanna-be writer-mama, blogging at http://dundeewriter.blogspot.com and my 2009 goals are to:

    1) enroll in a Writer Mama class
    2) schedule more time to write
    3) submit my first query letter (YIKES!)

    Thanks for making me put it into writing! Happy New Year!


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

My Latest Flickr Photos

More Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 186,445 Visitors

