Fit to Write Tips: Snack Healthier: Snack Healthier

Kelly James Enger and sonBy Kelly James-Enger


Don’t eat at your desk. Take a real break so you enjoy your food-and you won’t have to worry about crumbs in your keyboard, either.


Keep a selection of fruits and vegetables in your kitchen. I usually have apples, bananas, grapes, and baby carrots on hand-all make quick, healthy snacks.


Don’t short yourself on protein and fat. Peanut butter toast will keep you sated much longer than pretzels or a fat-free muffin.


Drink plenty of water! Thirst often masquerades as hunger, so you’ll snack less, and you’ll probably feel better, too.

Author, speaker, and consultant Kelly James-Enger is a certified personal trainer and the author of books including Small Changes, Big Results: A 12-Week Action Plan to a Better Life (with Ellie Krieger, R.D.). Her book, Ready, Aim, Specialize! Create your own Writing Specialty and Make More Money, is aimed at novice freelancers; Six-Figure Freelancing: The Writer’s Guide to Making More Money helps experienced writers boost their bottom lines. Visit www.becomebodywise.com for free articles about freelancing and more information about her.

5 Responses to “Fit to Write Tips: Snack Healthier: Snack Healthier”


  1. 1 Sarah January 24, 2009 at 3:48 pm

    Kelly,
    thanks for the tips! I actually was holding a candy bar as I began to read your article 🙂 So I am taking a break and going to get a glass of water.

    ~Sarah

  2. 2 The Writer Mama January 24, 2009 at 7:02 pm

    Now that’s funny. 🙂

  3. 3 Erin Goodman January 25, 2009 at 5:36 am

    Thanks for such a great reminder. As my career has been taking off (yay!) I’ve been noticing how frequently I forget to eat or I eat whatever I can grab while working at my desk.

    I really appreciate this gentle reminder to consciously choose what I am eating – and to step away from the computer to enjoy it!

    Thanks.

  4. 4 Angela Klocke January 25, 2009 at 9:14 am

    I’ve made a very conscious effort since restarting my career to leave my office to eat lunch at the kitchen table. I tend to stare out the window, think, or read for pleasure — and it helps! I have also found it easier to enjoy my food rather than scarfing it down so I can stop typing one-handed 😀

  5. 5 nathalie January 25, 2009 at 9:35 am

    Thanks for the practical ideas and reminders. I am totally guilty of rewarding myself with crap food and a little Internet surfing.


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

My Latest Flickr Photos

More Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 186,527 Visitors

