A Recipe for Christina’s Crazy Burritos

I haven’t invented a recipe since I was a kid and took my mom’s homemade spaghetti sauce, put it on rice, and dubbed it “Chris a la Delicious.” But tonight, while on cold medicine, I started creating a new burrito filling out of some things I had in the fridge. Along the way, I thought, Either I’m on drugs (albeit OTC drugs) or this is going to actually be good.

But my plans were thwarted mid-way, when I pulled out my flour tortillas, the ones we just bought these weekend, and discovered there was a rip in the packaging, rendering them all rancid. (I found out the hard way, thanks.)

Well, we had to drive our playdate buddy home anyway, and when we got back from the grocery store my husband, who is the official roller around here, burritoed together my concoction and…what do you know? They were pretty tasty.

So I feel compelled to share. Keep in mind that this is NOT the heart-healthy version. I trust that the fit folk will slim this down into something they can stomach.

Ingredients:

2 chicken breasts

3/4 of a can of refried beans

1 can of chili beans in spicy tomato sauce

4 pieces of bacon

2 small potatoes

1/2 cup of canned corn (I like Del Monte Fresh Cut Whole Kernel)

“Mexican” blend of shredded cheese (Monterey Jack and Cheddar)

Mrs. Renfro’s Mango Habanero Salsa

4 Cooked flour tortillas

Sour cream to taste

[Chopped green onion, maybe]

Okay, so here’s what I did. I cooked four pieces of bacon until crispy. In the meantime, I rinsed and diced the potatoes and cooked them for ten minutes in boiling water. After I put the bacon on paper towel to drain and cool, I poured off (and put aside) all but one tablespoon of the bacon grease. Into which I tossed the chicken breasts (sliced and sprinkled with salt and pepper) and cooked them on medium heat until they were cooked through. Then I put the cooked chicken aside and added back one tablespoon of the bacon grease (I know, tsk-tsk). Then I drained and fried the potatoes for about five minutes to finish cooking them.

Once the bacon was cool, I chopped it up into bacon bits. Then Jason spread each flour burrito with a quarter of the refried beans, sprinkled on one quarter of the chicken chunks, added one quarter of the beans, one quarter of the potatoes and corn, and added a liberal sprinkling of cheese. He heated these in the microwave until heated through. 1-2 minutes, depending on your machine. Then, he added the salsa and sour cream, and rolled ’em on up.

The only thing I can think of that might have made these even better is a sprinkling of green onions. But I’m not 100% certain about that because we didn’t try it. But you try it and let me know how it is. Okay?

Enjoy!

Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

My Latest Flickr Photos

More Photos

Top Posts

Blog Stats

  • 186,447 Visitors

