Dear Writer Mamas (March 2009 Issue Archive Begins…)

I think March weather is a good metaphor for the writer mama life. You know how the weather is supposed to come in “like a lion” and go out “like a lamb” in March?

Isn’t this what real life is like for moms most of the time? I mean, let’s not sugar-coat it. Some days are brutal and others are nice and calm. But after the sweet moments, one of your kids can suddenly get the flu and spread it to the whole family. And seemingly overnight what was all good 24-hours ago can suddenly feel like a complete disaster, chaos included.

I’ve noticed since becoming a mom that sometimes it really only takes about 24-hours for things to fall completely apart. Sometimes even less time than that.

And when thing do go south, you’re allowed to be a lion. I mean, when you feel like SON OF GUN, I’M GOING TO FREAKIN’ LOSE IT! you are allowed to roar. And if you do you’ll feel better, and you probably won’t lose it.

So, when disaster strikes in the form of nasty flu or a school cancellation or a root canal or, heaven forbid, something more serious: ROAR!

Here’s how you do it:

You calmly explain to your child/children that mommy is angry right now and she needs to roar.

Then you roar as loudly as you can.

It’s easy!

Yes, I mean like a lion. You have children and you are allowed to act silly once in awhile. You can even be absurd. Trust me, your kids will  like it if you act completely ridiculous instead of losing your squash.

Okay, the first time your try roaring, your children might think you are nuts. But you can invite them to roar with you. You can even invite whatever adults are around to roar too.

And after you have roared your brains out for a little while, and everyone has roared their brains out, I guarantee you will all feel better.

Because the bottom line is this: if you’re a writer mama, you’re going to have to be a lion sometimes. Because if you are a lamb all the time, the world is going to bat you around like a little cat toy.

So, every once in a while, when you’re good and mad, practice being a lion and roar as loadly as you can. You’ll see what I mean when you try it.

Happy roaring, mamas!

Make good things happen,

Christina Katz
Publisher & Editor

2 Responses to “Dear Writer Mamas (March 2009 Issue Archive Begins…)”


  1. 1 Heather L. March 11, 2009 at 9:00 am

    That is so funny! I actually do this — roar like a lion in front of my kids! I even explain to them sometimes why I do it! never thought anyone else had my idea. 🙂

  2. 2 nathalie March 11, 2009 at 9:39 pm

    So Sam thought it was pretty funny when i tried this. Lucy Baby (the dog) did not. She’ll only come to me for a treat and then slinks quickly away. Possibily because she instigated the need for me to roar. 🙂


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

My Latest Flickr Photos

More Photos

Blog Stats

  • 186,398 Visitors

