Friday Wrap Up: The Good, The Bad & The Amazing

Ladies, hello!

I thought I take a moment to stop by my own blog since I’ve been guest blogging like a maniac all month.

And you know what? It’s really cool. I’m learning a TON and I’m so glad I’m doing it.

My only regret is I wish I’d done a blog tour sooner!

I still have TWELVE more copies of Writer Mama to give away this month, so please let your readers know that they can follow my trail of blog posting, answer my questions and qualify to win a free book!

So, blog tours = good. 🙂

But choosing the blogs for the blog tour? OMG. Much harder!

I tortured myself for three hours yesterday trying to be fair and select the “right” blogs for the tour. But of course it’s SO subjective. And I’m horribly biased. And in the end, as much as I’d like to say that I was completely fair and that everyone got equal consideration, I just have to say: that would be a lie.

So, I’ve learned something in all of this: humans tend to partner with people they already know and trust. And I guess, this explains why you will always fare better in your writing career if you get a referral or have had a past relationship with a gatekeeper.

Of course, I knew this already and it’s been born out for me in the past. I’ve also written about it and I teach my students to make the most of connecting and connections but I had no idea before seeing my biases in myself, how DEEP this stuff runs.

I don’t know if sharing this is making any of the dozens of bloggers who were not chosen feel better or worse. But I thought it was a discovery worth sharing. And if you were not chosen, just shrug, and say, “She is SO biased.” Because it’s true.

Having said all of that, I want everyone to know that for every blog I chose, there was another that I ALMOST chose.

So have a little compassion, I had to choose somehow. 🙂 And I don’t personally know at least half of the bloggers chosen. (I’ll count but that sounds about right.)

Finally, I want to share an amazing story. A lot of us are on Facebook, right? Well, you know how you often hear from people from way back when and then you have this kind of surreal/bittersweet feeling of, “Wow, I can’t believe I’m connecting with this person after all of these years!” mixed with, “Oh my goodness, how did we get so OLD?”

Or maybe that’s just me.

Anyway, I heard from an old friend from all the back to the first day of sixth grade. Both of our families were new to town then, so we were in the principal’s office waiting to be taken to meet our new teacher in a new school.

Now I don’t have the greatest memory, and often rely on friends to remember things for me, but I remember this day. Probably because, you know, when you’re a kid, the first day of school as “the new kid” is stressful.

What I remember about the girl starting school with me that day is that she was relaxed, friendly and she had a huge, warm smile. I was so grateful for her positive presence that day. (I’ll keep her identity private, since she doesn’t know I’m writing this.)

Jump to today. We reconnected on Facebook last week and start messaging back and forth. Then she asked what I do but before I could answer she had a realization. She’s been carrying Writer Mama around in her car since she bought it a year ago. She reads it while car pooling kids around and trying to decide where to go with her career now that her youngest is in school.

Because I took my husband’s name and I haven’t seen her since we went our separate ways (she went to public high school and I went to private high school) she didn’t realize “Christina Katz” was me!

And obviously I don’t have hidden camera in every copy of my book (although, come to think of it, how fun would that be?).

Maybe it’s not as amazing as it seemed to me. But I’ll tell you what, the combination of technologies happening today is pretty exciting. And the degrees of separation between us previously defined by physical space are definitely collapsing.

And even though I cannot even begin to keep up with my e-mail and all the requests for my time that have also arisen thanks to technology, at the end of the day, technology is pretty cool and I think the it’s potential to do good in the world is greater than we can possibly imagine…probably because we’re all so busy connecting with old friends on Facebook, right?

Have a great weekend and, if appropriate, spring break, mamas! I’ll be catching up with old friends (as well as doing our taxes and streamlining my tech life). Don’t forget to make good things happen!

2 Responses to “Friday Wrap Up: The Good, The Bad & The Amazing”


  1. 1 Liz S March 20, 2009 at 9:45 am

    What a wonderful Facebook story, Christina! Really heartwarming. Thanks, too, for the info on your final tour selections. I have to admit I was obsessively checking your blog yesterday to see if my blog had been selected for the tour. And, no, even though my blog wasn’t selected, I’m not saying “She’s SO biased” right now. I’m saying “She’s great for doing this tour!” It’s been a wonderful, fun tour.

  2. 2 Andrea March 20, 2009 at 1:11 pm

    I wanted to say thank you for choosing me. I am really excited about the opportunity to have you visit my site! I started hearing about the tour only about 8 days ago. Once I saw it on one blog I started seeing it pop up in some of my favorite places. I’ve been looking through your site and reading up and even though I generally write fiction I hope to connect with more writing mama’s of both fiction and non-fiction. There are a lot of us and we can all learn something useful from each other.

    Thank you again for the opportunity to connect with some great people!

    Blogging Mama 🙂


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

My Latest Flickr Photos

More Photos

Blog Stats

  • 186,571 Visitors

