Fit to Write Tips: Get Your Brain Moving

Kelly James Enger and sonBy Kelly James-Enger

Suffering from writer’s block? Can’t get the words to flow? Get away from the computer and move your body.

I find a good workout or even a short walk is enough to clear your head and give you a new perspective. Better yet, take a portable tape recorder with you. When I’m feeling stuck, I often grab my tape recorder and my dog and head to the park. I walk for a while, thinking about what I’m working on, and then dictate into the recorder. By the time I come home, I’ve got a good start on the piece, or at least some notes I can transcribe into my PC.

Sure, some people may wonder if you’re scouting for Neighborhood Watch, but consider this a great way to exercise your body and mind-and boost your productivity as well.

Author, speaker, and consultant Kelly James-Enger is a certified personal trainer and the author of books including Small Changes, Big Results: A 12-Week Action Plan to a Better Life (with Ellie Krieger, R.D.). Her book, Ready, Aim, Specialize! Create your own Writing Specialty and Make More Money, is aimed at novice freelancers; Six-Figure Freelancing: The Writer’s Guide to Making More Money helps experienced writers boost their bottom lines. Visit www.becomebodywise.com for free articles about freelancing and more information about her.

1 Response to “Fit to Write Tips: Get Your Brain Moving”


  1. 1 Jenny April 27, 2009 at 12:34 pm

    I have found that walking works! Also, I find that the brain kicks in after leaving the desk sometimes just because of the change in scene. Thanks for sharing the tip!


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

My Latest Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 186,654 Visitors

