Dear Mamas (May Issue Starts),

I’m traveling a lot this month, for me. I’ve recently returned from a trip to Seattle to visit three King County Libraries and in a couple of short weeks, I’m off to New York for the 2009 Book Expo America / Writer’s Digest Conference.

Normally, because I’m a mom I try to keep my travel to one trip per month, but I couldn’t resist both going for both opportunities this time. I love connecting face-to-face with fellow writers!

I’m also preparing for a June 16th Writer’s Digest Webinar, “Should I Specialize or Generalize?” If you want to evaluate your strengths, analyze your skill sets, and answer this question as it pertains to you, this will be a helpful learning experience.

I’d say this webinar is about as close as you can get to seeing and hearing me speak at a writer’s conference. And everyone who participates will receive a copy of my recently released book, Get Known Before the Book Deal, Use Your Personal Strengths to Grow an Author Platform.

I bet many of you have not done a webinar before but there is really nothing to it. You just show up in front of your computer at the scheduled date and time and watch the images I display on your computer screen while listening to my voice in real time. You can even type in questions for me to answer during the Q&A period. If you’ve never done one before and you are curious, check out the FAQ’s here.

Writer's Digest May/June 2009 issueIf you’ve not yet had a chance to pick up the May/June issue of Writer’s Digest with the feature section on platform development for writers, there’s still time. But don’t wait. I’m sure the July/August issue will be out before we know it. I’m so pleased to be partnering with my publisher to create so many excellent learning opportunities for writers, not just in New York, no matter where you live! I hope you will partake as your needs and budget allow.

Make good things happen!

Christina Katz
Publisher & Editor, The Writer Mama

3 Responses to “Dear Mamas (May Issue Starts),”


  1. 1 Kimberly May 15, 2009 at 2:04 pm

    Thank you for the Writer’s Digest announcement! I haven’t been to the bookstore for awhile, so I’ll try to get there this weekend to check it out! Best wishes with your travels!

  2. 2 The Writer Mama May 15, 2009 at 9:33 pm

    Thanks, Kimberly! Hope it’s there!

  3. 3 Holly Bowne May 19, 2009 at 7:00 am

    I just wanted to thank you and Sharon Miller Cindrich for the “Use Your Parenting Experience to Generate National Pitches” article. I’ve been focusing on writing humorous-type essays, and have had a few successes. But I’m embarrassed to say it never occurred to me to turn those parenting experiences into service-oriented articles. I’m geeked to try this out! Thanks for your willingness to share your expertise with newbies!

    Have a great day!


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

My Latest Flickr Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 186,756 Visitors

