Got Fireworks?

Well, July is here and no doubt, many of us moms have fireworks on our minds.

But what about our own personal fireworks?

I just heard from a former student yesterday that she is awaiting her first official contract for an essay in a national magazine! Woo-hoo! How awesome is that? I never tire of this kind of news.

That announcement is her fireworks. How about you?

We are half-way through the year now. I bet you have accomplished a lot with your writing.

Would you be so kind as to share you success with us?

If yes, I’d like to direct you to the “Success” tab above. (Scroll down to the bottom to share your news.)

This is how we celebrate around here. By sharing our successes with other moms who “get it.”

Happy Fourth of July, everyone! Hope your summers are going great!

Don’t forget to friend me on Facebook and follow me on Twitter, so we can wave to each other on the road to writing success. 🙂

5 Responses to “Got Fireworks?”


  1. 1 Renee July 1, 2009 at 5:50 pm

    Well, here’s a first for me. I actually had the editor of a local magazine call me personally and thank me for a “great pitch!” a few months ago. I was offered the assignment on the spot, and am now working on a second for this publication. And I’ve almost completed a non-fiction book proposal. Who knows if it will go anywhere, but it’s been a great learning experience!

  2. 2 The Writer Mama July 2, 2009 at 7:16 am

    Here’s some of my fireworks:

    Next week I’ll be announcing the lineup for Season Three of the Northwest Author Series!

    I’m starting planning for the third consecutive Writer Mama Back-to-School Giveaway, where I give away a writing book a day during the month of September. Don’t miss it!

    I’m touring blogs this summer to chat about platform development (Interested??? Let me know!) and I’ve launched #platformchat a weekly Twitter chat with two experts from the creative and the publishing sides of the biz, co-moderated by Meryl K. Evans.

    We are half-way through the year and my three FREE e-zines (Writers on the Rise, The Writer Mama, and the Get Known Groove) are going strong! Each publication has seven expert contributors. You are subscribed to all three, right?

    I’ll be announcing a fun summer promotion for signed copies of my books, Writer Mama and Get Known Before the Book Deal soon.

    My interview with Cory Doctorow appears in the forthcoming September issue of Writer’s Digest. I’ll also be in NYC at the Writer’s Digest Biz of Publishing Conference in September. And I’m doing an Author Webinar with WD on “Should you specialize or generalize” that you won’t want to miss.

    I am sticking to my promise of taking it down a couple of notches for summer. So far, I’ve decluttered and purged about 75% of our home (including closets), caught up on critical appts. (doctor, dentist, etc.) and planned for two summer visits to grandparents’ houses.

    How about you? What have you accomplished lately or this year? We would love to hear about it on the “Success” page!

  3. 3 writerinspired July 8, 2009 at 7:23 am

    Fireworks abound! I won first prize in a fiction writing contest, will be teaching a week-long young writers’ summer camp, continuing my monthly free young writers workshops and have been pounding the pavement by stopping in to meet local vendors in Downers Grove, IL. It’s all about “Getting Known!” More on the success page…

  4. 5 Tiffani July 10, 2009 at 5:53 pm

    Boom boom pow!

    My Ages + Stages piece on special-needs friends is in the July issue of Parenting (School Years). http://web.me.com/patterson1723/patterson1723/Articles_files/ParentingSchoolYearsTiff.pdf

    I have another national piece set for publication in the July/August issue of Volta Voices, the magazine for the Alexander Graham Bell Association for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing.

    Also, I just got a second assignment from VV.

    I’m also discussing a possible assignment with a major medical group’s magazine. Cross your fingers!

    And I’m still a full-time newspaper copy editor. 🙂

    Happy summer!


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

My Latest Flickr Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 186,756 Visitors

