Lonley Mom: A Guest Post From The International Mom’s Blog

From The International Mom's Blog

By Judy Miller

The kids went back to school today. And I find myself lonely – no noise, no distractions, and no interruptions. I miss:

  • Their little voices
  • Their big voices
  • Kids running in and out of the house all day
  • Spilled milk
  • Dirty dishes
  • Wet bathing suits and towels laying on the floor
  • Tripping over sandals in the hallway and mudroom
  • Reminding them to please shut the door since the air is on
  • Reading with them
  • Playing board games and cards
  • Playing outside
  • Their disagreements and hearing them make peace with each other
  • Their laughter
  • Their energy
  • Hugs
  • Special moments
  • “I love you”  throughout the day

They were excited to go back to school. But I feel torn – happy for them, but not for me. I find myself wishing we had more time, a longer summer. The weekend is only four days away…

[Like this post? Then please subscribe to The International Mom’s Blog.]

3 Responses to “Lonley Mom: A Guest Post From The International Mom’s Blog”


  1. 1 anniegirl1138 August 23, 2009 at 7:48 am

    I can’t wait until school starts. I want my schedule back.

  2. 2 writethejourney August 24, 2009 at 10:57 pm

    Judy–so bittersweet, isn’t it? My daughter’s been at the beach for a week and I can’t wait to see her again. It’s a little too quiet. But, I must say, I agree with anniegirl1138, writing will certainly be easier once we have the rhythm of school. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

  3. 3 Mama K. August 26, 2009 at 9:36 pm

    Judy—Have you heard of “homeschooling”? I never have to say good-bye to my children! We live and learn together all year round! Homeschooling has enriched my life so much more than it has inconvenienced it. In fact, homeschooling is what inspired me to become a children’s book writer. And my journey into the world of publishing has inspired my children to write—-my oldest son penned his first novel (300 pages!) before he turned 16!

    Think about it…


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

My Latest Flickr Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 186,755 Visitors

