The Writer Mama Back-to-School Giveaway 2009, Day Four

Writer's Digest September 2009 IssueWelcome to day four of the annual Writer Mama Back-to-School Giveaway. Today’s giveaway is a one-year subscription to Writer’s Digest magazine edited by Jessica Strawser.

Who wouldn’t want to win???

Each issue of Writer’s Digest brings you the must-know tips and publishing secrets you’ll need such as:

  • Technique Articles geared toward specific genres
  • Business Information specifically for writers
  • Tips & Tricks for rekindling your creative spark
  • Inspirational Stories of writers who are living the dream, and how they got there
  • The Latest (and Greatest!) Markets for print, online and e-publishing
  • Tools of the Trade, including the latest advice and info on software, books and Web resources

[The image is of the September 2009 issue of Writer’s Digest with a feature interview with Cory Doctorow by me–Christina Katz. Don’t miss it!]

Here comes the question you must answer to be entered in today’s giveaway.

If you are new to the giveaway, please read “Da Rules.” Seriously, there’s a few picky things like we will only ship to U.S. addresses or if your comment is the wrong length I have to disqualify your comment (and I hate when that happens because it ruins all my fun).

Today’s question is…

What writing publications do you rely on to keep you up to date on industry trends, writing tips, and author stories? Do you still subscribe to as many writing trade publications as you used to or are you increasingly subscribing to and reading blogs or e-news to inform your writing career? Has the recession impacted your writing-related reading? If so how? [Answer any or all of these questions…I’m genuinely curious!]

Before you go! WE HAVE A CAUSE TO RAISE MONEY FOR THIS YEAR! Please read the story about the Applin family here and consider  making a small contribution at some point during the giveaway. We’re aiming for $100/day collectively. Please help us help the Applin family adopt two children from Russia. 🙂

And please don’t forget to read the rules! Several posts had to be deleted from days one, two, and three because they were not the proper length. What is the proper length? It’s in “Da Rules“!

Thanks. This is fun. I’m so glad we are all doing it. 🙂

49 Responses to “The Writer Mama Back-to-School Giveaway 2009, Day Four”


  1. 1 David Noceti September 4, 2009 at 1:29 am

    I’ve been turning more and more to digital information, though I must admit it’s hard to find what I’m looking for. I’ve set up my google reader to follow various agents, publishers, and book dealers. I also use Facebook to follow anyone that might be of help, (a certain writing mamma springs to mind).

    It’s amazing the amount of information available for free on the net. The only cost is the time it takes you to research it.

    And finances saw to the ending of my Writer’s Digest subscription, though I have signed up for Writer’s Market online.

  2. 2 Meryl Evans September 4, 2009 at 5:34 am

    I subscribed to Writer’s Digest in the early 2000s and had to give it up with other magazines to cut costs and couldn’t keep up. However, I restarted my subscription not too long ago not only because of its great content from writers like Christina, but also I wanted to get more familiar with the magazine’s print edition so I could be in better shape to query them. The magazine has changed a lot since I last subscribed as I found the old issues.

    I mainly rely on social networking (blogs included) for writing career information and advice. Plus, the interaction makes it easier to meet other writers, editors and publishers. I love Jane Friedman’s weekly roundup of Best Tweets for Writers at http://blog.writersdigest.com/norules/.

  3. 3 writethejourney September 4, 2009 at 6:06 am

    I subscribe to Writer’s Digest and, recently, Poets & Writers. Online I follow the Renegade Writer blog and others (including Writer Mama, of course!). Even though it’s free to read Web content, I find I read more paper publications because I spend so much time at the computer. Sometimes I need to just get away from Google Reader! I find myself reading snippets in the magazines that sit on the coffee table–I’m much more likely to pick them up than log on and search for a blog post. Easy to pack to the park, too.

  4. 4 Kelli September 4, 2009 at 6:09 am

    I used to subscribe to the Children’s Book Insider which I found to be really helpful. I’ve saved all of the issues they sent me as references that I still use. To save a little money, I’ve been utilizing websites and blogs for awhile, but for a specialized market like children’s writing, I really haven’t found a better resource that has all of the most current info right at your fingertips than the CBI publication. Like David commented, there is a lot of info on the net, but you have to know where to look for it so it does get pretty time consuming. Having everything compiled for you already in a writing publication is a definite plus!

  5. 5 Cat September 4, 2009 at 6:13 am

    I use mostly Web sources as well–I used to subscribe to more print publications. Now I use Writer’s Market online and get the free version of Publisher’s Marketplace (someday I’ll afford the paid version). I also subscribe to newsletters from Publisher’s Weekly and Library Journal to watch market trends. I use the Verla Kay blue boards and I check a few editor/agent blogs regularly. And I check websites like Mediabistro for their How to Pitch articles. I just dropped my subscription to the Writer–that was an economic decision. But I do feel like most info can be found online these days.

  6. 6 Cara Holman September 4, 2009 at 7:00 am

    The times they are a changin’. When I started out, I was all about magazines and books about the craft of writing. I checked them out of the local library and bought the ones most helpful to me.

    Now, though I will never stop consulting books and magazines (there is just something magical about those glossy covers and printed pages ready to be consumed), I find myself increasingly turning to web publications for up-to-date information,. From blogs and email lists to ezines and newsletters, I can count on them to get timely information on a day-to-day basis. I have honed my skill for quickly and efficiently perusing electronic information and getting the most out of it!

  7. 7 Abigail September 4, 2009 at 7:03 am

    Writer’s Digest…I can’t live without it! The last few issues have focused on critical issues for writers, such as building your platform, understanding the ins and outs of publishing and now this issue, the key to understanding what agents want. The level of detail WD provides on these topics and others has been invaluable to me as a newbie. I do subscribe to Poets & Writers Magazine, too. This publication is a great inspiration, as it provides in depth bios on writers from various genres and there are a plethora of deadlines and contest classifieds—great for writers who are just starting out. Other favorites: The Iowa Review, Zoetrope and Tin House. I do enjoy online content, however, I have learned to be very cautious about whose blog I read. The source must be reliable and knowledgeable.

    As far as the recession, it has had little impact on my subscriptions or online reading interests. In fact, I feel it’s more important than ever to know what is going on in our business. In order to know what to write, we must know what’s happening not just in the “real” world, but in the “writer’s” world, too. While the recession has impacted our entire economy, I still feel encouraged by what I see going on in the publishing world. Folks are still reading and as long as they keep doing that, recession or not, they will continue to need our words!

  8. 8 Janel September 4, 2009 at 7:57 am

    I definitely rely on the internet more than I used to for information. I subscribe to blogs with topics ranging from how to get published to writers writing about their lives. When I find a blog or website that I like I make sure to take the time to visit other sites that are recommended. I have found some very valuable information just from following links and exploring blog rolls.

    In the past I bought writing related magazines all the time, but now, only occasionally. Over the years I have built a solid, little library of reference books along with a collection of magazine back issues to turn to. I have been researching some of the books on your prize list and plan to add a few of those to my collection too. I go for the quality over quantity theory.

  9. 9 Lara September 4, 2009 at 7:58 am

    I just recently began subscribing to The ASJA Monthly e-newsletter and have found it to be quite informative – well worth taking the time to read. I’ve also subscribed off and on over the years to various print trade publications (in fact Writer’s Digest is on my current birthday list – here’s hoping!). I would say that I am definitely reading more trade related material, both print and electronic, than in the past as a way to improve my skills and increase my professionalism. And there are certainly quite a few wonderful blogs and e-newsletters out there written by agents, editors and professional writers that I feel have given my career a much greater boost than it would have gotten without them.

  10. 10 Maribeth September 4, 2009 at 8:18 am

    Ooh, I really really want to win this one. I have not renewed my Writer’s Digest subscription yet because I am trying to pinch pennies over at this household. I frequent their website so I can catch up as much as possible. I also of course visit your blog which provides a wealth of information for an aspiring writer mama. My genre for right now is middle-grade and young adult so it is important that I have all of the current Children’s Writer Market books. I also keep an updated version of The Magazine Market so I can continue to build up my resume. I have found that it is easy, free and fun to visit writing blogs and they provide inspiration, success stories, and great tips

  11. 11 Sarah @ Baby Steps September 4, 2009 at 8:52 am

    While I have a great love for reference books and beautiful glossy magazines, I have had to cut my costs lately and am mainly relying on blogs, twitter, e-zines, newsletters, etc. Also, I signed up for Writer’s Market online a few weeks ago, but will have to cancel it because I just can’t afford it right now. Also, I still check out the latest mags at the library whenever I get a chance.

  12. 12 nathalie September 4, 2009 at 8:53 am

    The two magazines I have (and will) continue to subscribe to are Writer’s Digets and Poets & Writers. I am working toward minimizing my online time and just genuinely enjoy flipping through the pages of a magazine, tearing pages out and putting them in various files or mailing them to friends who might find the subject interesting or helpful. I buy literary magazines and The Writer on occassion off racks at my local bookstore but am thinking of subscribing to a lit mag as well.

    Being a loyal subscriber paid off last year when I pitched my green writing idea to P&W and it got accepted and assigned quickly. I did’t have to waste any time getting sample copies or studying magazines because I already knew exactly what’s been going on.

    Online, I read Writer Mama, Writer’s on the Rise, Hope Clark’s “Funds for Writers” regularly and some others on occassion. Oh, and of course Writer’s Market. Though I usually buy a current copy of that, too, since you can’t put sticky notes all over the computer.

  13. 13 Brianne A September 4, 2009 at 9:13 am

    Like so many others, I’m also trying to save money and have not renewed most of my magazine subscriptions. I am relying on the Writer’s Market, as well as a few websites and blogs. My problem is that I am easily distracted while surfing the internet, and before I know it, I’ve wasted an hour on unrelated websites. I am trying really hard to cut back my time spent online. When I do use the internet now, I set a time limit for myself so that I am more productive.

  14. 14 Diane J. September 4, 2009 at 9:48 am

    I hit the library for most writer magazines. As for books, I make a list of all the books I want (it’s kind of big, because I love to wander around Borders for fun) and then when people want gift ideas, WaLa! I give them a list of books (now that it dawns on me I can ask for magazine subscriptions, too). It’s actually funny, because my in-laws are always saying “Well, isn’t there something fun you want?” Ummm, books are fun…I love books!

  15. 15 Erika Washington September 4, 2009 at 10:23 am

    I did have a Writer’s Digest subscription awhile back but had to let it go as well. I’m hoping I can get it going again before the end of the year. My two women’s writers groups are a great resource because we pool our resources together and loan out various mags and we share a subscription to Writer’s Market online.

    I also spend WAY too much time on the internet–in the name of research, nonetheless but I’ve found some great resources such as publishers weekly, twitter, facebook, SHE Writes, blogs such as Renegade writer, bad pitch blog etc… Candy Havens also has a great writers workshop in yahoo groups as well.

    No matter what I will always buy the yearly publications of Writer’s Market, Short Stories market and Magazine Markets for writer’s every year. However, I’ve started only buying ‘how-to-write’ books from the used book store in the library where they are only a quarter. They sometimes have past issues of mags I want to query for 10 cents. Can’t beat that!

  16. 16 Jaymie September 4, 2009 at 10:41 am

    I subscribe to The Writer and Writer’s Digest. Thankfully my subscriptions came due early in the year when I had money to subscribe. Now would be tougher. I also subscribe/buy book-magazines like Booklist, Mystery Scene, Romantic Times, BookPage, and Publisher’s Weekly (the children’s books previews) to see what is out there, what trends are, and what books I want to read next! Online, I get the Writer Mama ezines and Funds For Writers. I am signing up for more online things because they are free, but it is hard to keep up with all of it. I find myself archiving a lot hoping I will have time “someday” to go back. At least I know I have resources available if I need something in particular and can go through my files and dig stuff out.

  17. 17 Kristin Berger September 4, 2009 at 10:47 am

    I continue my subscription to Poets & Writers, though during these days of raising young kids, rarely read all the articles or use the submission info like I used to. Still, I feel in-the-loop, and know that I’ve had publishing success from the information and advice they’ve compliled. There are a few writer blogs, like Sage Cohen’s and Writers on the Rise that I tune into every so often… the internet is a great resource, up-to-date, which I appreciate.

  18. 18 Michelle Rafter September 4, 2009 at 11:17 am

    I read Writers Digest but use WritersDigest.com more. (In the interest of full disclosure, I should note that my first piece for WD will be in the November/December issue).

    I follow WD Publisher Jane Friedman on Twitter and read her blog, There are No Rules (http://blog.writersdigest.com/norules/) – it’s fantastic for tracking how the publishing industry is using social media.

    Aside from WD, all the other writing business pubs I read are e-newsletters, blogs or message boards. There’s a wealth of great material available online and because electronic publishing is so quick, the material’s very timely. I’m a big fan of Freelance Success (www.freelancesuccess.com) and some of LinkedIn’s freelance writing discussion groups.

    Though they’re not periodicals, I also regularly refer to some writing classics on my bookshelf, including Wiliam Zinsser’s “On Writing Well.”

    My own blog for freelancers, WordCount: Freelancing in the Digital Age, has introduced me to bloggers and writing websites such as The Renegade Writer, The Urban Muse, The Social Writer and Practicing Writing that I wouldn’t have known about otherwise, and I read them often for suggestions and advice.

    Michelle Rafter

  19. 19 Carrie Ure September 4, 2009 at 11:22 am

    At this point I’m still getting used to the idea of being a writer. I have read several books about the art, craft and business of writing, but checking out trade publications is a new behavior that I have just begun to cultivate by frequenting Christina’s blogs and reading her newsletters. That said, I am all ears! I can’t wait to read the other responses on this topic.

  20. 20 Kathryn Lang September 4, 2009 at 11:29 am

    The Writer is one of my favorite writing magazines. I subscribe to Writer’s Digest because my hubby enjoys it. I also follow a multitude of online writing sites but have had to start limiting the amount of time that I can spend surfing the internet or I end up spending my day doing nothing but that.

    I started pulling the stories that I enjoyed the most out and putting them into a notebook. That way I have all the information and a whole lot less to store.

  21. 21 Dawn Herring September 4, 2009 at 11:32 am

    I subscribe to The Writer and Poets & Writers magazines. My library has copies of Writers’ Digest which I read during my weekly visits. I also subscribe to Christina Katz’s three e-zines for writers, plus I receive several newsletters from Writer’s Digest. I have a growing collection of best selling writing books which I purchase on special occasions (birthday, holiday). Writing blogs and websites are regular fare each day from links on Twitter and on my blog feed.

    Dawn Herring
    JournalWriter Freelance
    Be Refreshed!

  22. 22 Heather Myton September 4, 2009 at 11:36 am

    I subscribe to the Writer Mama blog and follow the links you post to other blogs. I haven’t ever subscribed to a magazine on writing and honestly didn’t know there were any out there. I know about books and blogs on making a writing career happen and now I know about magazines too. A whole new world to explore. Yeah!

  23. 23 Cheryl M September 4, 2009 at 11:40 am

    I have been slowly transitioning over the past few years from science related magazines/journals to writing related ones. I subscribe to The Sun and Brain, Child and while those don’t keep me up with the industry in general, I feel like they help me keep current with literary trends. I do get the weekly Wooden Horse e-mail information about current magazines and how they are doing or which magazine has a new editor. I occasionally check out Writer’s Digest or The Writer from the library, but am usually many months behind on those. The recession hasn’t really changed my reading simply because I haven’t subscribed to many publications yet.

  24. 24 Cathy C. Hall September 4, 2009 at 11:49 am

    My WD subscription just ran out and I haven’t gotten around to renewing yet…I think because I read magazines while driving (not me driving, while someone else is driving!)and I’m staying put more. I always have a writing book on the nightstand that I’m trying to finish reading (right now, it’s George Singleton’s “Pep Talks, Warnings, and Screeds”- SO funny!)I subscribe to a few newsletters, like Publisher’s Weekly, to keep up with the business end of writing, and I use Premium Green (a members market publication) and FFW. And, like so many here, I have a couple of blogs and sites I check regularly for specific market news.

    I don’t think the recession has had that much of an effect on the resources I purchase. I’ve subscribed to WD on and off for years. I join professional writing groups (like SCBWI) for market inside info, and I buy (or win!) several writing books each year. It’s all an investment in my career-such as that career is 🙂

  25. 25 sallyhanan September 4, 2009 at 12:16 pm

    Because my husband and I are both self-employed with hardly any income, I have cancelled all subscriptions and do all my learning online. I used to subscribe to Writer’s Digest. From time to time these days, I will read the writing magazines at a local bookstore, but I cannot buy them, which is a shame as their helpful content is much more focused.

    When searching online, it takes longer to find quality answers to my writing questions, and many of the advice givers have no published work (or very little I can respect), which kind of moots the purpose of my learning from them. One thing online reading does help me with is names: names of good books to read, writers to follow, publishers to read up on, agents who might be a good fit for me. I subscribe to these people’s blogs and I look for these names when I visit the library, thus no longer wasting reading time on sub-par books.

  26. 26 K9friend1 September 4, 2009 at 12:18 pm

    Primarily I am using books that tickle my interest (several of them are featured in this blog giveaway!) and articles or e-zines that I get via the internet.

    That’s not to say that I don’t love magazines! I will happily look through them for help or inspiration, too, though I tend not to reorder once the subscription expires.

  27. 27 jessicavarin September 4, 2009 at 12:21 pm

    I’m loving this thread. Such great suggestions!

    My main sources of information come from Twitter, blogs, and websites of local writing guilds. I also read Writer’s Digest and Poets & Writers at the library or bookstore. On the local level, I subscribe to listservs for a couple of writing collectives. Finally, there’s the old fashioned way – I talk to friends about what markets and contests we’re entering.

  28. 28 Brandy September 4, 2009 at 12:35 pm

    I have been outed. I don’t subscribe to ANY writing publications. I will check out certain writing blogs, and I toy with the idea of taking writing classes, but then I talk myself out of it. After all, these tools are for “real” writers. Occasionally I browse writing publications when I am at the bookstore, because I find them fascinating and informative, but I rarely purchase them. It really is all about getting into that mindset, that I am a writer. I do check out writing books from the library, and my SIL and I work through writing exercises together from books every few months. Really, for me, investing or not investing in publications isn’t so much related to the recession, but rather, viewing myself as a writer.

  29. 29 Lori Russell September 4, 2009 at 12:40 pm

    I used to subscribe to Writers Market (online), Writers Digest and Poets & Writers. I have given up my subscriptions as my budget tightened. Working at a bookstore this summer was a great place to learn about the industry from the other side and also to talk to readers about why they buy books and what really influences them. I read magazines on the rack during my break and check out back issues from the library for free. I follow a few blogs, especially my fellow columnists at Writers on the Rise, as well the Writer Mama. I recently was given a copy of the publication from the Author’s Guild and it has some fanatiastic info.

  30. 30 Beth Cato September 4, 2009 at 12:40 pm

    I subscribe to Writer’s Digest and Poets & Writers magazines. Online, I follow a large number of author, agent, and editor blogs and read a few on Facebook as well. I also get Publisher’s Lunch sent to my mailbox every weekday. The recession hasn’t impacted us – cross fingers – so I have been able to maintain my paid subscriptions and continue to buy writing-related books (though usually with hefty coupons or discounts).

  31. 31 anna September 4, 2009 at 12:53 pm

    I have been largely relying on on-line tools lately to stay up to date on my publication news and tips. One great resource has been writer’s listservs: Child_Lit, from Rutgers University, for one. And SCBWI [Society for Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators]. In addition, I love lurking on blogs like yous [ 🙂 ] and others such as “The Writing Road.” I would love to have a print subscription but have so far not had one . . . 😉
    Thanks for wanting to know!

  32. 32 Amie September 4, 2009 at 1:17 pm

    I like to have a mix of resources but lately the web has been winning. I subscribe to The Writer and read e-mail newsletters from Publishers Lunch and Wooden Horse Magazine and browse the blogs. And I usually check out every book that our local library has on writing. The recession has actually helped me to get more magazines – because of the price drop. And I still pick up a Sunday New York Times – love to check the books section and I find the whole thing gives me ideas and inspiration.

  33. 33 chloe September 4, 2009 at 2:26 pm

    I am lucky in this regard. I work in a large bookstore and can just read what I want without necessarily having to buy it.
    I subscribed to ‘The Sun’ for years and stopped for financial reasons but also because I could find it a month later at a coffee house I went to at the time.
    I still read it and since I made a commitment to publish, I also read ‘Poet’s & Writers’, and ‘Writer’s Digest’.
    I follow a few blogs mostly for fun, as it is a time suck for me.
    I am surrounded by writers. and I can usually find the information I need through one of my co-workers at the bookstore.

  34. 34 brigidday September 4, 2009 at 2:42 pm

    I just renewed Writer’s Digest. As I have yet to make a dollar from my writing, I have a hard time justifying spending a lot, so I use the library and the internet as my main resources. I do have a few writing books (Writer Mama being one) that I glance at on my shelf and can’t wait to continue reading as soon as I get the time. I am guilty of the bad habit of spending lots of time reading blogs and then wondering where my writing time has gone. I am on the verge of signing up for an E-class with one of your instructors. I think. No really, I am. Maybe. OK, really.

  35. 35 Pam Maynard September 4, 2009 at 2:46 pm

    I enjoy subscriptions to a few magazines and newsletters that keep me up to date on trends, tips and new markets. The Writer Magazine, Writer’s Digest, The Wooden Horse, Children’s Book insider, and many more free newsletters that i can hardly begin to list all of.
    I am a faithful reader of Publisher’s Lunch. I tend to look for my dream job more than market happenings.
    I also read PW Children’s BOokshelf, ICL Children’s Writer eNews, Angela Hoy’s Writerweekly.com, and Writing for Dollars.
    I have recently become a fighting Bookworm at CBI, although I haven’t had to time to peruse and use the site as I want to.
    I havent’ cut back on buying books or magazines for the trade, after all, it’s tax deductible and you can never have too many books or magazines!

  36. 36 Eve September 4, 2009 at 3:10 pm

    I’ve been reading mostly online blogs and publications like Writer’s Digest. Fuel is another one that’s helped me, and I’ve been following a few author’s personal blogs and Twitter feeds. They’ve actually been pretty informative, moreso than you might guess. Everytime a writer tweets about their writing goals for the day, or how they are stuck on a plot point… it’s insight into the world, and it reminds me that even the professionals get stuck in this. If I’m stressing that I only got 2,000 words done that day, sometimes there’s a writer who says “I only got 500 words written today”. It’s a good pick-me up. Not that I thrive on other’s misery, but that I feel like I just won a short, friendly footrace, and tomorrow we’ll run another one, and maybe they’ll win.

  37. 37 Carolyn September 4, 2009 at 3:33 pm

    I have subscribed to several publications for the last few years. Writers Digest http://www.writersdigest.com/ ) and The Writer Magazine (www.writermag.com) to name a couple. Also Writers Market – online. I’ve used information in the articles to rewrite stories and ads in the back to find contests, publishers, conferences, etc. Haven’t make any huge headway in getting published (yet) but I am still trying. :-]
    Poets and Writers is another magazine/website I find useful (www.pw.org). They are good for finding poetry contests for one. MFA school recommendations there as well.
    If you are interested mainly in contests, you can find lots at http://www.winningwriters.com/. They have a free membership and much more inclusive listings with a paid membership.
    There are many newsletters out there and other magazines, hundreds of websites too. Just keep googling and looking around.
    If the money situation doesn’t improve soon I may have to drop the mags when the renewal time comes. I hope I don’t have to. I think pubs are is tax deductible if you are trying to publish for profit, but don’t quote me on that. I am NOT a tax expert.
    Happy reading.

  38. 38 Holly Rutchik September 4, 2009 at 3:47 pm

    Ohhhh! I have been waiting for this day! I am “new” to the world of trying to get published and have turned to several blogs (hence why I am here:)
    I do tend to wander into Half Price Books looking for The Writer and Writer’s Digest. We are on a tight budget, so magazines had to go. But, I do love to have those glossy pages in my hands and am fearful the magazine may die altogether, something I would not be happy about. So, I have decided to pick one and send my check!

  39. 39 Kristen R Murphy September 4, 2009 at 4:11 pm

    As an aspiring writer striving to learn as much as possible, I began the year subscribing to Writer’s Digest Magazine and newsletter. I have now acquired several “how-to write” books and “writing” reference books, which some of them are on the giveaway list.

    Writer Mama was one of the first books I purchased, and loved that it was directed at me, a writing momma. Christina’s book led me to her e-zines, and the WPSS class. From the class, I signed up for The Wooden Horse Magazine newsletter and subscribed to WritersMarket.com, a free subscription purchasing the 2009 Writer’s Market Book. As a “search for anything” queen, I look for writing info on the web and try to learn through others on forums.

    As far as the recession goes, I have cut down my book-buying obsession altogether. I will not let my WD subscription go at this point since in my rural city, the local library doesn’t carry it. Since my city does not have one bookstore, I discover writing resources through the worldwide web. Therefore, I am thoroughly grateful for my computer and internet connection. 🙂

  40. 40 Krysten H September 4, 2009 at 5:24 pm

    I used to subscribe to several writing magazines, but in the past year one has gone out of print, and I’ve let one subscription go and another one might end up not getting renewed as well seeing as the economy isn’t doing too well. I have found a few online blogs that are helpful and I also found a writing newsletter that I hope to get a regular subscription to in the future. I have to admit, getting a new writing magazine in the mail on a day when I’m kind of dragging my feet on writing really does perk me up a bit.

  41. 41 Jan Udlock September 4, 2009 at 5:40 pm

    Hi,
    I have a subscription to Writer’s Digest and the Writer. However, because they are print mags, I think it’s important to subscribe to online resources, too. I subscribe to Writer’s Weekly, Writing for Dollars, and Hope’s newsletter. I read 12 – 15 writer blogs like ALL of Christina’s blogs, newsletter and updates.

    I also probably own or have read one sixth of the books Christina is giving away. I only buy books used on Amazon.

    Thanks, Christina.
    Jan

  42. 42 amillionbrilliantshadows September 4, 2009 at 6:10 pm

    Although we’ve always been on a pretty tight budget, we did have room for splurges now and then (mostly books and the occasional purse for me). Now that the recession has hit and we’ve had a baby, we’ve tightened up a bit more so there isn’t so much splurging going on. Although I still use my local library a lot (they have a nice section of writing-related books and subscribe to Writer’s Digest), I’ve found that it is so much easier read writing-related blogs. There’s so many great, informative blogs out there that it would be a shame not to take advantage of them. Plus, you can get so much more out of interacting with others via blogs than you can when you just read a book about writing.

  43. 43 Beth Meleski September 4, 2009 at 6:50 pm

    I have paralysis by analysis when it comes to writers’ resources. I go to the bookstore and browse but then talk myself out of buying books because I keep reading that these resources are out of date before they’re even on the shelves. Then I go to the magazine section, pick up the latest issue of Writer’s Digest, bring it home, and put it at the bottom of the teetering tower of magazines I have purchased in the name of “research”. I visit Christina’s sites relatively often and Abigail’s whenever I post to my blog and remember to check out the other blogs I’m “watching”. Then I usually end up noodling around in cyberspace, following random links and filling out any pop-up surveys that appear on the sites I find. However, I did read far enough into the latest issue of Writer’s Digest (the one with Christina’s interview in it – a shameless plug couldn’t hurt, right?)to find an article about iGoogle, a “user-create Google page that can consolidate everything into one spot…” So now, I’ve put all trolling of the internet on hold until I can set up my iGoogle. But first I’m going to the bookstore.

  44. 44 Cathy Welch September 4, 2009 at 7:12 pm

    I subscribe to Writers Digest and The Writer. Both are informative and always hit the nail on the head with multiple topics each month that I need help with.
    I am taking the Breaking Into Print course through the Longridge Writers Group. Not only am I being ‘forced’ to write on a regular basis, there is a forum two to three times a week which is mostly a teaching time by one of the instructors, Mary Rosenbaum. This school has taken me further along, and made me ‘braver’ in putting my writing out there.
    I am finding ‘Writer Mama’ to be an on time, practical read that is making me aware of, and trying short writing pieces that I never even knew were sellable before.
    In addition, I am now following writers on Twitter and have subscribed to email updates to a few freelance job opportunity postings.

  45. 45 Janet September 4, 2009 at 7:38 pm

    I subscribe to Children’s Writer. I also have numerous books about writing. A lot of them I have been fortunate to get at thrift stores. I guess maybe people may have given up on their quest to become a writer and decided to get rid of their books. I search the internet for info constantly and sign up for newsletter emails which are very helpful.

  46. 46 Jennifer September 4, 2009 at 7:41 pm

    A monthly review of writing mags is something I am neglecting right now. I’ve been focusing on the craft of writing lately, and not on the business side. I sometimes grab Writer’s Digest at the library and read it — a subscription would be great. The recession has definately caused me to cut back on all subscriptions (I have zero magazine subscriptions at the moment) and I cancelled my writers market membership as well. Anything I can do for free at the library, I don’t pay for right now. I think my mailbox is getting lonely though…

  47. 47 Mar Junge, c3PR September 4, 2009 at 11:03 pm

    I rely entirely on blogs and websites. Writermama, of course. And “There are no rules.” Publicity Hound. Dianna Huff’s Marcom Strategies. Ann Wylie’s Writing Tips. Marketing Sherpa. Ragan’s PR Daily Newsfeed and the My Ragan site. WritersDigest.com. Plus anything that’s fed into my inbox that I have time to read that day. No subscriptions needed. With time at a premium, I have become a “sound byte” reader. Give me short bits of info I can use. I love Robert Middleton’s Action Plan Marketing blog because it says right at the top how long it will take to read. I do have writing books in my bookcase I ocassionally pull out as a refresher. Bird by Bird is one of my favorites. And my notes from Floyd Salas’s novel writing class. But overall, it’s the blog entries that make their way into my inbox that help me hone my skills.


  1. 1 Day Four: And the winner is… « The Writer Mama Riffs Trackback on September 5, 2009 at 9:00 am
  2. 2 The 2009 Giveaway List: The Writer Mama Back-To-School Giveaway Starts Tuesday, September 1st! « The Writer Mama Riffs Trackback on September 8, 2009 at 4:55 am
Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

My Latest Flickr Photos

More Photos

Blog Stats

  • 186,398 Visitors

