The Writer Mama Back-to-School Giveaway 2009, Day Five

WM2Welcome to day five of the annual Writer Mama Back-to-School Giveaway. One lucky winner will walk away with Writer Mama by Christina Katz (that’s me).

About Writer Mama, How to Raise a Writing Career Alongside Your Kids:

As a mom, you want to spend as much time with your children as possible. But you’d also like to make some money doing something you enjoy. How do you get the best of both worlds? Writer Mama, How to Raise a Writing Career Alongside Your Kids by experienced freelancer Christina Katz tells you how. You can start a stay-at-home freelance writing career tailored to fit your family and lifestyle.

Writer Mama will answer all your questions about how to get started, in realistic, easy-to-follow steps. While conversational and easy-to-read, this book also does a lot of hard work for you. It gives you practical advice and exercises that help you get started in a matter of weeks. You’ll get tips on how to:

  • begin with the easiest routes to publication for moms
  • network with other writer mamas, editors, and agents
  • write cover letters and queries
  • choose your own writing specialty
  • create a Web presence
  • set up a home office
  • make time for yourself, your kids, and your writing

You’ll love the short chapters, sidebars, and exercises that let you get the information you need in small doses that fit into your busy schedule. Plus this book was written to grow with you. Once you master the skills of being an article writer, it teaches you how to pitch a nonfiction book idea and explore other areas of writing—advice you won’t find presented like this anywhere else.

So if you want to get started writing for publication, let writer mama Christina Katz help. If she and countless other moms can do it, so can you!

Hands down, a treasure!
~ Allena Tapia, About.com

Writer Mama is a solid, sensible guide that is sure to help any woman who wants to pursue a professional writing career while raising her children.
~ Eric Maisel, author of Creativity for Life

What a find! Writer Mama is a must for any woman beginning a freelance career.
~ Barbara DeMarco-Barrett, author of Pen On Fire.

About the Author

Christina Katz is the author of Get Known Before the Book Deal, Use Your Personal Strengths to Grow anCK3 Author Platform (Writer’s Digest Books, October 2008) and Writer Mama, How to Raise a Writing Career Alongside Your Kids (Writer’s Digest Books, March 2007). She has a BA from Dartmouth College and an MFA from Columbia College, Chicago. Christina lives in Wilsonville, Oregon, with her husband, daughter, and too many pets. Christina teaches over one hundred students a year, speaks at writers conferences around the country, and has published hundreds of articles in magazines, newspapers, and online. She is the publisher of Writers on the Rise with thousands of subscribers and has appeared on Good Morning America.

Here comes the question you must answer to be entered in today’s giveaway.

HEY, I don’t think I had to disqualify anyone yesterday. Yay! But still…if you are new to the giveaway, please read “Da Rules.” Seriously, there’s a few picky things like we will only ship to U.S. addresses or if your comment is the wrong length I have to disqualify your comment (and I hate when that happens because it ruins all my fun).

Today’s question is…

Okay, I’m going to bend the rules on today’s question. You get three choices today:

You can either answer this question: Who are your favorite writer mama authors (past or present)?

OR

If you’ve read Writer Mama but have not yet posted an Amazon review, you are welcome do so and the report in the comments that you posted one (no length requirement on these comments). And if you’ve read it and you did post a review, big thanks! 🙂

OR

If you’ve read Writer Mama or taken any of my classes, you can share a recent writing success story over here on the success page (and then mention in the comments below that you posted one (no length requirement on these comments either).

OR

If you feel really ambitious, you can do all three. But please only comment once.

Before you go! WE HAVE A CAUSE TO RAISE MONEY FOR THIS YEAR! Please read the story about the Applin family here and consider  making a small contribution at some point during the giveaway. We’re aiming for $100/day collectively. Please help us help the Applin family adopt two beautiful children from Russia. 🙂

I’m falling behind on my comment reading but I can’t wait to catch up this weekend!

24 Responses to “The Writer Mama Back-to-School Giveaway 2009, Day Five”


  1. 1 Kelli September 5, 2009 at 5:49 am

    I already have a copy of Writer Mama so you don’t have to enter me in the drawing, but I still wanted to post the comment I left on Amazon a few months back about this awesome book!

    “When I first read the title this book, I knew it was exactly what I had been looking for. Within a few weeks of reading this book, I started a blog, connected with other writers through the Writer Mama website, and submitted a personal essay to a bestselling anthology series. A big jump for me as I had never submitted anything for publication before…and my essay was selected! This book inspired me to go after my childhood dream of being a writer in the midst of raising my children. I still have a ways to go, but it’s nice to know there is a support system of Writer Mamas out there to cheer me on. Thanks, Christina!”

  2. 2 Beth September 5, 2009 at 6:10 am

    My favorite writer mamas aren’t women I know personally. They may have a house full of kids, or they may be empty nesters. But once a mama, always a mama, right? So, a short list (because THIS writer mama hasn’t had enough coffee yet) of mamas I love to read is:

    Beth Moore: it doesn’t matter if it’s a bible study, commissioning, poem, blog post or non-fiction, I love to read everything this woman writes. Period. Empty-nester and grandma.

    Lysa TerKeurst: She makes me laugh, she makes me cry, she makes me think. She’s transparent about her life and her struggles, both personally and as a writer. She writes and revises until there’s something worthy of a highlighter on every page. Writer mama to 3 natural children and 2 adopted from Africa, though she makes no distinction (and she shouldn’t.)

    Ann Voskamp: Writer mama to several on a northern farm. Her writing is liliting, poetic – a refreshing style that I just don’t see often.

  3. 3 Jeannie Campbell September 5, 2009 at 7:25 am

    I love writer mama Karen Kingsbury. Not only did she have children of her own, but adopting 3 boys from Haiti to add to the wonderful chaos that is family…and still pump out books right and left…she gets a hats off (if i were wearing a hat, that is). 🙂

  4. 4 Erika Washington September 5, 2009 at 8:26 am

    I, too, already have Writer Mama but I could use another copy since I lent it to a friend and haven’t seen it in over a month…

    My favorite Writer Mama is YOU of course, lol!
    Sorry, had to put my lip gloss on and kiss just a little booty–at least once during this contest…

    I also love Jennifer Weiner, Jodi Picoult, Elizabeth Berg, Anna Quindlen, Sue Monk Kidd, Amanda Eyre Ward and Candy Havens. I had to go and check to see if all those ladies actually had children and they do! I find it amazing that they all write so well and have books out on a regular basis, some while having young children. I know once you start making money at it you can hire a sitter/nanny to help with your working time but they must also have very supportive familes to make it work. They make me feel like my dream is possible.

  5. 5 Carrie Ure September 5, 2009 at 8:44 am

    Since I already have a copy of Writer Mama, dog-eared and stained though it is, I’ll give it as a gift if I win.

    I wrote an Amazon review and left a success story.

    And my favorite Writer Mama is Ann Lamott. She has survived and thrived, as a writer and a mama, because she has a great sense of humor.

  6. 6 Anna-Marie September 5, 2009 at 8:54 am

    I’m so excited to find this book. If I don’t win then I’ll have to buy a copy!

    My fave momwriters are many many bloggers I know. And also writers of non-fiction books like Marilyn Rockett and Sally Clarkson. Also my friend Lisa Hodgen is a great writer helping homeschoolers. And I appreciate Michelle Malkin and moms like her who are passionate about a cause.

    I also agree with Beth’s post above. Beth more is an inspiration.

  7. 7 Allena September 5, 2009 at 9:52 am

    I already have a copy, but I just wanted to chime in and say that this book is just a MUST for any new writer mom getting started in the career– all the info, all in one place! It’s just … one of the most convenient books I own!

    My favorite Writer Mama…have to go with a novelist…. Allende probably.

  8. 8 Mar Junge, c3PR September 5, 2009 at 10:55 am

    If I said my favorite WriterMamma, besides Christina, is me, would that be weird? Even if it is, I’m going to say it anyway because I know I’ve inspired many other wanna-be-writer mamas that yes, they can do both — be a good mama and be a good writer too. Over the years I’ve bought several copies of WriterMama for my friends. If I win this one, it goes to my intern, who, at 22 is already asking me how to combine her writing career with motherhood. Since she’ll probably still be my employee when she starts her family, she’ll have plenty of support. And my oldest daughter, also 22, is following in my footsteps. She’s got the potential to be a great writer and I have no doubt when she gets out of grad school in two years (she’s going for her MBA) and starts her family (hopefully not for another five or ten years) she too will find stolen moments to write — and market her writing. Or at least let me read it to my grandkids. Writermamas create family legacies.

  9. 9 Joyce Lansky September 5, 2009 at 10:59 am

    I absolutely love Mary Ann Rodman. She has published several picture books and two novels: Yankee Girl and Jimmy’s Stars. Her historical fiction books are fascinating. Also, I’ve had the pleasure of attending several SCBWI Conferences with this writer mama, and she is a wonderful person as well. She has given me many great tips for finding new ideas for writing and has been a great friend. So let’s hear it for Mary Ann Rodman!

  10. 10 Jan Udlock September 5, 2009 at 11:25 am

    Hi Christina,

    I have been meaning to leave a comment on the success page but finally did it. Christina, I don’t know if you ever get tired of hearing that you changed people’s lives!!! My kids are so proud of me and tell everybody, “My mom, she’s a writer!”

    I loved it that I could ask you my millions of questions in class. Hey, talking about questions? When do you know that it’s time to take it to the next level? to national magazines????

    Blessings to you
    Jan

  11. 11 Beth Cato September 5, 2009 at 11:41 am

    I reviewed Writer Mama in December 2007 and have reviews posted on 50bookchallenge on LiveJournal and on LibraryThing. Today I went ahead and edited my old review slightly and sent it to Amazon as well. Even though I primarily write fiction, I found your book to be inspirational. It gave me a necessary push to start making submissions, and now my web site’s bibliography section is too big to fit on one screen.

  12. 12 Brianne A September 5, 2009 at 12:21 pm

    I’ve been reading a lot of mommy blogs lately, and my favorite is Heather B. Armstrong’s Dooce blog. She is such a talented writer. She’s funny, original, and honest about the things that most people try to hide. I’ve also been enjoying Rebecca Woolf’s “Girls Gone Child” and Karen Cheng’s “Snippets of Life.”

    You are also one of my newest favorite writer mamas! I’m not just saying that, I promise! I have been dreaming of being a professional writer for so long, and now that I’ve started reading Writer Mama, I feel like I’m closer than ever to living my dream. Thank you so much for taking the time to write it for all of us. It is exactly what I needed! If I win, I’m excited to give my extra copy as a gift.

  13. 13 Kristin Berger September 5, 2009 at 3:08 pm

    Well, I’d have to admit that Louise Erdrich tops my list for favorite author, that she’s written her many many books alongside raising many, many children (mostly as a single parent) AND running a bookstore. She must not sleep. I admire that!

    Also, Anne Lamott for making me laugh at the absurdity of it all.

  14. 14 Stace Hunt September 5, 2009 at 5:08 pm

    Once upon a time, I was a single writer mama, a poet. Now, after nine years of marriage, another daughter and a career in education, I rarely carve out time for my writing. (Although I bet I could have written a few chapters had I stayed off Twitter & Facebook this summer 😉 I’m entering in hopes of winning this book and being inspired to rekindle and recommit to my passion.
    Some of my favorite writers are mamas. I am currently reading Celia Rivenbark’s Stop Dressing Your Six Year Old Like a Skank. She makes me laugh.
    In college, my favorite poet was Sylvia Plath (probably not Mom of the Year…maybe this shows how demanding the writer’s life can be when coupled with the demands of motherhood). Naomi Shihab Nye and Sharon Olds are also two of my favorite poet mamas.
    I admire Jodi Picoult, Barbara Kingsolver, Christine Caine, and Stephenie Meyer. I have a high regard for any woman who can devote herself to both mothering and writing, simultaneously.

  15. 15 anna September 5, 2009 at 6:15 pm

    Hmmm–too many favorite Writer Mamas to choose from . . .
    One of my favorites for a long time has been Katherine Paterson. I love her tales of her beginnings as a writer: spending the wee hours of the morning writing at a dimly lit desk in a draft farmhouse, once the children were asleep [and this after working full-time running a business with her husband during the day]. Incidentally, she also says that she does not recommend this approach 🙂 I also have always found her approach to writing for children and young adults to be a thoroughly inspiring one, in its intentionality and wonderfully up-front sort of way.
    Some others include Barbara Kingsolver, Anne Morrow Lindbergh . . . and all those whose names I cannot think of at the moment but who will come cascading in a flurry of guilt-provoking “of course”‘s as soon as I post this reply 🙂

  16. 16 Heather Myton September 5, 2009 at 6:51 pm

    My favorite writer mama is my sister-in-law Karrie. She is commmited to being a writer and encourages me along the way. She inspires me with her follow through and commitment to bettering her writing through classes, books and practice. I am soo proud of her, she finished her first book this year and is in the process of editing. I look forward to throwing her a publishing party when her book is published. (Yes, I know there is a long way to go, but I believe in her.)

    I am also impressed by the women (and men) who are taking chances and putting themselves out there for their passion. Keep writing, it will happen.

  17. 17 Sarah @ Baby Steps September 5, 2009 at 6:59 pm

    As much as I loved Writer Mama, it never occurred to me to write a review on Amazon. I am in a big hurry at the moment and want the review to be worthy of the book, so I will most definitely post an Amazon review, but will do it later in the week when I have a little more time on my hands.

    As for my favorite Mom authors, I would have to say: YOU, Jenna Glatzer, Ann Lamott, and Allison Winn Scotch. All of you inspire and motivate me beyond words!

  18. 18 Kristen R Murphy September 5, 2009 at 7:38 pm

    Here is the Amazon review I posted in March of this year.

    “I came across Writer Mama by Christina Katz here on Amazon while browsing all the books on writing. As a momma, the title caught my attention. Writer Mama had great reviews so I decided to add it to my list of books to read on writing. I truly enjoyed reading Ms. Katz’s book. I felt the encouragement that I can actually achieve my dream of writing. I am now taking one of Writer Mama’s courses to give myself the nudge to get started. Go Writer Mama!”

  19. 19 Cara Holman September 5, 2009 at 7:40 pm

    It’s always a pleasure to get the chance to stand back, and acknowledge writer mamas who have served as an inspiration for me. I didn’t have to look any further than my own backyard, the Portland (Oregon!) Metro area:

    •Christina Katz for tirelessly encouraging aspiring writers.

    •Liz Nakazawa for the excellent advice I received in her freelancing class.

    •Cindy Hudson, who I have known from our Girl Scout leader days, for her engaging Mother Daughter Book Club blog.

    •Samantha Ducloux Waltz, who I met at one of The Northwest Author Series workshops hosted by Christina Katz last year, and whose practical advice on writing personal essays was instrumental in helping me land my first acceptance to an upcoming volume of Chicken Soup for the Soul.

    •Sage Cohen for taking the road less traveled and showing the rest of us that dabble in poetry that it is possible to be a successful mama poet.

    And I do plan to write an Amazon review and post a personal success story to the blog soon, but not today. I’m bushed from taking my daughter off to college!

  20. 20 jessicavarin September 5, 2009 at 10:00 pm

    Today, my favorite writer mama is Sage Cohen. I’m learning so much from her book, Writing the Life Poetic. After several hours at the bookstore, I broke down and bought it. This is the fourth new book I’ve bought this year. Her knowledge and insight are really valuable … I feel like I’m being mentored while reading.

    My other favorite writer mamas include Kathleen Dean Moore (nature/philosophy), Virginia Euwer Wolff (young adult), and Diana Abu-Jaber (fiction).

  21. 21 chloe September 5, 2009 at 11:59 pm

    There are many authors I love who also happened to be mothers; A
    few that come to mind are Barbara Kingsolver, Joan Didion, Fanny Howe, Ellen Bass better know as the co author of “The courage to Heal” but also a great poet with two published poetry books.
    Closer to home Ariel Gore, and Sage Cohen for her very inspiring “Writing the life poetic”.

  22. 22 Linda Tan (Singapore) September 12, 2009 at 9:14 am

    Hi Christina

    I’m an aspiring Writer Mama. Just completed a Writing Workshop in August and started to check out books on writing from the local library in Singapore. Your book (and one other book) caught my attention.

    I just finished reading your book and decided that I need to get a copy for myself as a handy reference. So you can imagine my excitement when I checked out your website and found this book up for grabs. It would be such a thrill to win this book 😛

    Anyhow, here’s my review on Amazon.com

    I chanced upon this book at the library in Singapore. It was just what I needed to get myself started on writing. Christina really understands what a mother wanting to write as a career needs—from the fears/ barriers she may face; to identifying how and where to focus her writing; to how to pitch her book/ article ideas—it’s all in this handy, personable, attractive book. Don’t let the small size fool you; it contains hundreds (if not thousands) of practical, useful ideas. I’m definitely going to get myself a copy to use as a manual.

    Written on Sep 12, 2009 at 04:02


  1. 1 Day Five: And the winner is… « The Writer Mama Riffs Trackback on September 8, 2009 at 4:58 am
  2. 2 The 2009 Giveaway List: The Writer Mama Back-To-School Giveaway Starts Tuesday, September 1st! « The Writer Mama Riffs Trackback on September 10, 2009 at 7:02 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

My Latest Flickr Photos

More Photos

Blog Stats

  • 186,482 Visitors

