Be Responsive: A Few Great Ways

What I love about responding to a request for a nomination, a review, or any other “best of” request is that it gives me a chance to reflect and then learn something about myself. We’re doing a lot of good reflecting as part of the giveaway this month, here’s three more great opportunities:

What’s your favorite writing book? Swing on over to Meryl K. Evans blog and comment. She’d like to know what you think.

This is Random Acts of Publicity Week according to Darcy Pattison. Learn more here and then spend four days promoting your favorite authors.

If you’d like to support my books (or any author’s book), you can:

  • Write an Amazon review. It’s always appreciated.
  • Ask your local library to order copies of my books.
  • Send a quick e-mail to Writer’s Digest and nominate one of my websites/blogs/e-zines as one of the 101 Best Websites. Send comments and nominations for next year’s list to writersdigest@fwmedia.com with “101 Websites” in the subject line (deadline is Jan. 1, 2010).
  • Nominate this blog over at Michael Stelzner’s blog, Writing White Papers, until Friday, September 11th. Just click here and mention our address (https://thewritermama.wordpress.com/) in the comments section.

I’ve done all of these this week (for others) and it feels great to support a writer I respect and admire. Never think that the small gestures don’t count. Every time you give freely, it comes right back to you as a writer.

3 Responses to “Be Responsive: A Few Great Ways”


  1. 1 Jessica Varin September 8, 2009 at 9:46 am

    Also: Write a powells.com review. Amazon won’t let you leave a comment unless you buy the book from them.

  2. 2 Meryl Evans September 8, 2009 at 11:07 am

    Jessica, I have never had a problem posting reviews on Amazon for items I bought elsewhere. Are you sure about that?

  3. 3 The Writer Mama September 8, 2009 at 7:57 pm

    Hi Jessica & Meryl,

    I think Meryl is correct. I believe that Amazon will let anyone write a review so long as you have an account.

    And I also believe that a lot of folks use the Amazon reviews to look for information before heading over to their favorite Indie bookstore.

    But, for the record, I am all for folks posting reviews everywhere! 🙂


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

My Latest Flickr Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 186,756 Visitors

