Sweet September! The Next Writer Mama E-zine Begins Here

Let’s hear it for fall-hip, hip, hooray!

My daughter starts second grade tomorrow, so I’ll be breathing a big sigh of relief and getting six-plus consecutive hours of work time back in my day Monday through Friday.

And in honor of back-to-school, guess what time it is?

It’s time for the Writer Mama Back-to-School Giveaway! Have you been commenting along for your chance to win great books each day? If not, please jump right in! We’re having a great time so far. (Don’t forget to read the rules, if you are new.)

I also want to invite you to join me in supporting two wonderful writers who have debut books coming out! Please see the announcement below about the September 15th Amazon Spike for Kristin Bair-O’Keeffe and Cindy Hudson, who have both served as managing editors of Writers on the Rise. I am thrilled for both of them.

In fact, Mother-Daughter Book Club Expert Cindy Hudson and Caroline Grant from Literary Mama will be my guests at the next #platformchat this Friday, September 11th at 11:00 a.m. If you haven’t had a chance to attend #platformchat on Twitter with me, I hope you’ll make it to this special event on the subject of balancing the mama-writing life with everything else. (I recommend you sign up for Tweetchat to attend, it’s quick and easy-just use your Twitter ID.)

I’m so glad I rested up a bit this summer because my fall schedule is hopping. I’m currently teaching two classes (go students!), in two weeks I’ll be traveling to New York City for the Writer’s Digest Business of Publishing Conference, then I’m kicking off the Northwest Author Series, launching a three-hour workshop on platform development in Eugene, Oregon, teaching (again) at Portland’s Wordstock, Festival of the Book, and offering a Writer’s Digest Webinar on how to use specializing or generalizing to increase your writing profits.

The next round of classes begins October 7th with classes being offered by myself, Abigail Green, Jen Applin, and Sage Cohen. Don’t forget that this week is your chance to apply for the Writer Mama Scholarship for my October 7th class.

And there’s more! I’ve got some big announcements coming up. Look for the all new Article Accountability Dream Team for Writer Mamas who have taken Writing & Publishing the Short Stuff to launch in January. Meanwhile, another group of my advanced students-Destination: Book Deal-will kick off on October 1st. See the announcement below for more details.

So am I happy that my daughter got the teacher she really, really wanted for school this year? Am I happy that she’ll receive an outstanding education while I cheerfully toil away in my home office? Am I happy that the weather has already shifted from dog days to cool, crisp air?

You bet I am! I might even dance a little jig when I get back from walking Samantha to her first day of school tomorrow.

I love school. I love that my daughter loves school. I love everything about learning and teaching and making steady progress towards goals. This is why I became a teacher.

And this is what I remembered on my summer break. What did you learn on yours?

Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

My Latest Flickr Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 186,719 Visitors

