The Writer Mama Back-to-School Giveaway 2009, Day Ten

writermarket.com2Welcome to day ten of the Writer Mama Back-to-School Giveaway! Today’s giveaway is a one-year subscription to WritersMarket.com.

All writers need great tools and WritersMarket.com is the one tool you need to help market your work, get it published, and get paid!

For more than 90 years, writers have trusted Writer’s Market to help them publish what they write. With WritersMarket.com, you get the power of experience combined with the tools you need to advance your writing career! Plus, with new genre-only subscriptions, WritersMarket.com is truly your customized personal assistant to get published.

WritersMarket.com offers:

  • The Most Up-to-Date Listings: Our database of more than 6,000 market listings and contact names is updated every business day by the Writer’s Market team of experts.
  • Powerful Search Functionality: Improved search feature helps you target market listings by unique characteristics.
  • Bookmark Organization: Listings can be marked as Favorites and organized in Folders for easy retrieval later.
  • Reminder Program: Reminders can be set at appropriate intervals to help you follow up on key manuscript submissions.
  • Other Stored Data: Information regarding specific manuscripts and submission attempts can be stored and used to track communications with potential buyers.
  • Agent Q&A: Industry pros answer select subscriber questions.
  • Rate Chart: Calculate how much to charge for your work using this handy chart.
  • Article Archive: Search by keyword or category for writing advice from top editors, agents and writers.
  • Industry News: Daily postings of news of editor hirings and firings, new magazines to be launched (or folding), and what’s new in the world of digital publishing and freelancer rights.

If you are new to the giveaway, please read “Da Rules.”

Today’s question is…

(Note: Be 100% honest. Please do not plug your own or someone else’s product/guide.)

Where do you find markets to submit to? Which market guides or resources do you use? Do you trust online resources, print market guides, or your own research? What’s the most important quality to you in a market guide? Most importantly, when you get published, which market resource would you want to thank most?

Give me the goods in 50-200 words, please. 🙂

Before you go! WE HAVE A CAUSE TO RAISE MONEY FOR THIS YEAR! Please read the story about the Applin family here and consider making a small contribution at some point during the giveaway. We’re aiming for $100/day collectively. Please help us help the Applin family adopt two beautiful children from Russia. 🙂

47 Responses to “The Writer Mama Back-to-School Giveaway 2009, Day Ten”


  1. 1 Kathryn Lang September 10, 2009 at 5:08 am

    I LOVE the writers market. I know that I do not use it to its full benefits, but it can make finding submission locations much easier!

    Today’s Question:

    Which market resource would I want to thank most? I have to say that even though the writers market has been a blessing, it has been the numerous online resources that have helped me grow my writing skills and my writing opportunities.

    Places like Aboutfreelancewriting.com and freelancewritinggigs.com have both helped me to search for writing opportunities outside my comfort zone and also helped me find tools to make my freelance writing career a reality.

    No matter where I get the information I always try to follow up by doing my own research – online and in print when possible. It’s like being a carpenter – measure twice and cut once. When it comes to getting published it’s better to check twice before clicking send!

  2. 2 K9friend1 September 10, 2009 at 5:11 am

    One of my best resources are writing blogs that share information about contests and publishing opportunities. I simply don’t have time to find them all myself. However, when I do hunt for possibilities, I tend to do so on line because it’s a quick and easy way to find information. There are a number of good resources available.

    If I’ve used an online resource before and trust it, all is good. Typically I’m cautious about a new on line resource and try to verify its credibility first. It is important to me that a market guide be accurate, timely, and accessible.

    The market guide I’d thank most if published, would be the one that opened the door for me.

  3. 3 Karrie Z Myton September 10, 2009 at 6:13 am

    I’m currently using Magazine Markets for Children’s Writers. I like its straightforward format and the information inside that I find so useful.

    Finding markets in this guide is easier for me mostly because I’ve used it in the context of a class with a teacher. In truth, the first time I looked at a market guide I gave up on the idea of writing for another 5 years. All the information with all the terms I’d never heard of petrified me. It’s pitiful, I know, but it’s the truth.

    Since then I’ve learned that many market guides can be scary but, with someone holding my hand, most are very helpful.

  4. 4 Fawn September 10, 2009 at 6:39 am

    I am not doing a lot of submitting yet, but I am researching various markets to find my niche(s). I subscribe to C. Hope Clarke’s TOTAL Funds for Writers, Dan Case’s Writing for Dollars, and the PayingWriterJobs Yahoo Group. I have also been to the library several times to peruse the printed version of Writers Market, which of course is wonderful. I also have been very lucky to have a great group of friends (writers and not) who forward any possible leads they hear about to me. So, I’m using a variety of different types of resources, and get value out of each one. To me, the most important feature in a market guide or lead is that the needs of the publisher are clearly defined. Who I would thank when I publish will probably depend on where the lead for that publication comes from. I will say that Writers Market is probably the most educational market guide, due mostly in part to it’s comprehensiveness.

  5. 5 Dawn Herring September 10, 2009 at 7:06 am

    I am a big fan of the internet for research on markets. I can often pinpoint exactly what I’m looking for on google.com or yahoo.com. I often have specific markets in mind when looking to submit my work, and those markets are not often listed in the print books. Going directly to the website of a market is, I believe, one of the best and most accurate ways of getting the information I need in order to submit to that publication. The writer’s guidelines are usually available, even if it takes time to find just the right link. I feel best going right to the source, whether it be the actual magazine, newspaper or periodical, or their website.
    I do have a copy of the Writer’s Market from a couple of years ago which I use occasionally; but the information changes often, so I use the internet to verify information anyway.
    I also read The Writer and check out their markets in the back of the magazine; they often pinpoint to specific markets I am looking for with up-to-date information.
    The most important quality is having current information, especially for those markets that are looking right now. Writer’s Market’s online newsletter is good for that, with up to the minute information.
    I would have to thank the internet search engines, connections on Twitter, and my own research for publication success.

  6. 6 Stephanie September 10, 2009 at 7:07 am

    My single greatest resource is fellow writers. I’ve been lucky to have been recommended to local publications by a writer friend. My online writing group has compiled a list of markets we have individually sought out or stumbled upon, and I’m so thankful for that! I also appreciate writers’ blogs which share ideas, markets, writing tips, and more.

  7. 7 Jennifer September 10, 2009 at 7:19 am

    To be honest (you asked, right?) when I first started submitting, I used Writer’s Market. But I got discouraged by the fact that so many markets hadn’t been updated in years, there wasn’t any specific editor information, and many markets weren’t included (because they don’t accept unsolicited, etc.). I had much better luck following the advice in Writer Mama and in your Writing and Publishing the Short Stuff class, like studying mastheads, researching editors so you can personalize your query, and just studying the magazines in general. As it turned out, by following some of your platform advice, I was also approached by a couple of editors independent of my querying efforts. Now, with some clips under my belt, I think Writer’s Market might be more helpful to me to branch out into some more markets. One can only hope!

  8. 8 Meryl Evans September 10, 2009 at 7:23 am

    I don’t submit to print publications often since I write for many businesses. But once in a while, I’ll look into submitting a query when I come across a good resource through email newsletters, blogs and web sites related to writing careers. When I find a possibility, I do my research and read the publications articles over several issues to clearly understand its market and content.

  9. 9 Ally Anderson September 10, 2009 at 7:30 am

    In the early years I read Writers Digest and pretty much any other directory I could get my hands on. But as I developed my writing and figured out where I wanted to publish my work I began using online resources, mostly publishers websites but also writing websites and blogs. And yes, asking fellow authors has been a great help as well. In my industry, especially, I find the authors willing to share info and give recommendations and I think that those recommendations are one of the most important resources I have.

    I think the most important thing about any market information is the information being current. Things change so quickly in this business that you don’t want to be jumping on year old data. It’s time consuming to “stay in the know” but very important.

  10. 10 Cara Holman September 10, 2009 at 7:36 am

    Again, it all comes back to the internet, for me. I can’t say for sure where I began, but by doing Google searches to find sites in the first place, and following links from sites I trust, I’ve built up a large collection of writing sites that list markets. Some of my favorites are Willamette Writers, Oregon Writer’s Colony, and the Literary Mama blog. And of course for anthology writing, there’s the Chicken Soup for the Soul and the Cup of Comfort series.

    But beware of cyberspace! If you’re not careful, it can become a tremendous time sink, and you can spend hours upon hours lost in virtual reality. A good sense of discipline (and perhaps an old fashioned hourglass!) is key in containing the amount of time spent surfing the web, and making sure it nets productive results.

  11. 11 Michelle Mach September 10, 2009 at 7:39 am

    I find markets everywhere–email newsletters, writing magazines, market lists with related articles online. And of course, bookstores and libraries. Yesterday I even picked up a free custom pub at the grocery store and started analyzing it for writing opportunities! The most important quality of a guide is up-to-date information, especially the very basic info that a market is still open and accepting submissions. A big thanks to the publications like FundsforWriters that send out marketing listings via email. Just seeing a list of markets on a regular basis, even if they’re not ones I can use, reminds me to get to work!

  12. 12 Marcia C September 10, 2009 at 8:02 am

    To be honest, most of the writing I do is for the local newspapers, magazines and businesses, so finding markets is easy. An editor sends me an e-mail asking if I can do a story. Beyond that I look through Writer’s Market, Children’s Writers and Illustrators Market, Sally Stuart’s Christian Writers Guide, and the Writer Magazine. I receive Writers Weekly e-mail newsletter. I also am a member of elance, but so far that has not been productive. I am a member of a few e-mail lists, which also give me some markets. In addition, I am part of a local writers critique group, and we sometimes discuss markets in our meetings or by e-mail.

  13. 13 Maribeth September 10, 2009 at 8:33 am

    I mainly use Magazine Markets for Children or Writer’s Market.
    I have to admit that anytime I read about other writer’s publishing credits, I will research magazines they mentioned for possible freelance opportunities.

  14. 14 Jaymie September 10, 2009 at 8:43 am

    I use the following to find markets (not that I have submitted to any of them – too scared! But maybe before the end of the year I will press through that fear!)

    1. Print writer’s market guides – Christian Writer’s Market, Writer’s Market, Children’s, etc.

    2. WritersMarket.com – great search options, handier than the paper guides, and usually more current.

    3. FundsForWriters from C. Hope Clark

    I know there are probably other resources out there, but I can barely keep up with these and the books and the blogs and the websites and the tweets…. There’s so much information ABOUT writing, I get distracted from actually doing any writing! =-)

  15. 15 Laura September 10, 2009 at 9:08 am

    My main resource has been the magazines that I have read for years. I got online, looked up their writer guidelines & submitted articles. I have also used Writer’s Market a couple of times. Of course, this blog itself has been a resource for me. Last year someone mentioned Cup of Comfort & Chicken Soup for the Soul, and I realized that they would be a perfect place to submit my type of writing, the personal essay. So, thanks to whomever mentioned them!

  16. 16 Lisa Goodrich September 10, 2009 at 9:09 am

    I have been graced by a good writer friend who has passed overflow work to me in the past. Currently I receive the Writer’s Weekly e-zine from Angela Hoy and Funds for Writers and Funds for Writers Small Markets from C.Hope Clark. I took an online class on Internet Writing Markets through Ed2Go.com with Linda Aksomitis. The course gave us ways to find and write queries based on our personal interests. When all else fails, I find postings through Google searches of job boards and technical writing associations.

    Trust is still a big issue for me with both online and print sources. It seems that printed information changes quickly, yet web sources may have unknown origins. I am most grateful for the blog Inkygirl with its writer cartoons, although that is not a resource for finding places to submit work.

  17. 17 Renee Roberson September 10, 2009 at 9:12 am

    Over the years I’ve come to rely on a wealth of options in terms of finding market resources. I love the hard copy of Writer’s Market (always have one on my desk!) and would be tickled to have access to the online version! I like visiting http://www.freelancewritinggigs.com as well, but haven’t had a lot of success picking up actual work from those leads. I often visit writer’s Web sites and get submission ideas from places they have been published. I pick up all interesting copies of publications in my local area so I can study them and see if they accept freelance submissions. Writers who have newsletters you can subscribe to often list a variety of markets, too.
    Another valuable resource for when you do decide to submit to national markets is http://www.mastheads.org. It’s subscription based, but it has the e-mail format and current mastheads for most updated national pubs. It saves a lot of detective work when it comes time to query!

  18. 18 Liz September 10, 2009 at 9:30 am

    I receive a weekly newsletters and a daily update from a listserv that provides information about writing markets and contests. I also reference the blogs of other writers who post information about markets. I also own a paper copy of Writer’s Market from a few years ago. I use it more as an idea source because it’s outdated, if I find a market in the book I do my research online to make sure the information is still correct. And, I check my local library for periodicals that might be possible markets.

  19. 19 Kathy Bitely September 10, 2009 at 9:38 am

    I am new to submitting my work at this point. Bit I have been reading up on the process and am greatly blessed by all these responses! I have been saving every magazine and publication I am even remotely interested in. I also check out their websites for ideas or submission requirements. Seems like whatever I get involved in now I am scrutinizing their materials to see if I could contribute an article! Thank you for this topic. Those of you who lead the way are mentoring those of us on the way.

  20. 20 Sarah @ Baby Steps September 10, 2009 at 9:42 am

    Ooh, I love Writer’s Market! For the first time ever, I subscribed to it last month (and absolutely loved it!)…but I unfortunately could only afford to do a one month subscription.

    So I now rely on my trusty 2005 print edition of Writer’s Market, and just do a little research to make sure the info is current. I also use the market list that I received in the WPSS class, which is great! In addition, I subscribe to the online e-zines or newsletter’s Writer’s Weekly, Funds for Writers, and Writing for Dollars.

    I’d say that the most important quality in a market guide is that the information be correct and easily accessible.

    At this point, I have only been published in regional magazines. Since Jen Applin provided me with the info to start submitting to regional publications, I guess she was my greatest resource. ☺ The ability to look up guidelines for numerous regional publications on Writer’s Market online was also extremely helpful!

  21. 21 Beth Cato September 10, 2009 at 10:11 am

    I subscribe to several sources for market information. I get C. Hope Clark’s Funds for Writers and Small Markets newslettesr, and visit her blog several times a week. Pam Castro’s Flash Fiction Flash Newsletter is a great resource that comes out once a month. Winning in a WOW! Women on Writing contest included their Premium Green service as a prize, which is fabulous; not only does it include a massive e-book of markets every month, their mailing list is a great way to learn about new market buzz or ask questions about the industry.

    Also, I must mention Duotrope. Not only are they a great way to search for markets, but their tracking system is excellent. It’s well worth registering on their site.

  22. 22 Joanna September 10, 2009 at 10:12 am

    I have a variety of sources, but keeping up on available markets in an efficient way is one of my writer challenges. I tend to zero in on the print market and their websites for writer guidelines if they have them. I love woodenhorsepub.com for the skinny on pub guidelines and calendars. It’s reliable and very current. Fellow writers are also a great resource — I am part of a group that passes around whatever market guidelines and contests we find. I also subscribe to Funds for Writers. But this an ongoing challenge.

  23. 23 Eve September 10, 2009 at 10:18 am

    I’m still polishing my work before I get ready to write my query letter and start submitting, but honestly, Twitter (of all things!) has been my biggest help. I’ve been following other writers and their agents and publishers, taking note when an author says “My agent [link to their twitter account] is awesome!” Then I follow that link, check around if this is the type of person I see myself getting along with, and find their submission guidelines. I’ve got a small list of people to submit to once I’m to that point. It’s been wonderful insight.

  24. 24 Cheryl M September 10, 2009 at 10:59 am

    First I look at the online guidelines for the magazines I read as those are the ones I’m also interested in writing for. I also use newsletters like Angela Hoy’s Writers Weekly, Hope Clark’s Funds for Writers or the Wooden Horse. For other magazines I’ll try to find their guidelines online. I’ve checked the Writer’s Market out from the library, but have never bought a copy. The online edition is a good idea for me. If I don’t win, I’ll have to look into that.

  25. 25 Carol J. Alexander September 10, 2009 at 1:10 pm

    I write magazine articles. My most used resource for markets online are Funds for Writers and Total Funds for Writers newsletters by Hope Clark, and Writing for Dollars newsletter by Dan Case. I do not own any book versions of Writer’s Market nor do I subscribe to any such online service. If I feel inclined to use them I go to the library. Maybe, some day, when I make a livable wage doing this, I will plunk down the money for my own copy. Honestly, the places I’ve found the markets that I currently write for are #1, the newstand and #2, the library. Also, my best markets are magazines that I already subscribed to or borrowed from the library.

  26. 26 Emily September 10, 2009 at 1:13 pm

    I use Writer’s Market online when I’m looking for a new market or have an unusual (for me) topic in mind, but most of my publishing success has come from keeping my eyes open at the newsstand and keeping my ears open when talking to other writers. I’m always amazed how helpful and encouraging other writers are when it comes to sharing outlets and editors’ contact information, and I try to continue that trend by sharing info and ideas with others writers myself.

  27. 27 Brianne A September 10, 2009 at 1:23 pm

    I am at the very beginning and haven’t submitted anything yet. I’m starting to research, though, and I’ve been using the Writer’s Market book as my main guide. I depend a lot on my own research too, visiting blogs and collecting information from freelance writing websites.

    The most important quality to me is that the market guide provides accurate and complete information. The more information the source provides, the less to time I have to spend looking for other answers elsewhere.

  28. 28 Diane September 10, 2009 at 2:02 pm

    I just came across this blog, and I found these comments very interesting. I am not a writer, so I have never submitted anything (and wouldn’t know how to), but my 12 year old son loves creative writing and is determined to be a published author. For now, I am encouraging him to write and submit to contests, like the Scholastic Writing contest.

  29. 29 Joyce Lansky September 10, 2009 at 3:35 pm

    I am a student at the Institute for Children’s Literature, and they have sent me some great resources in two of their text books: Book Markets for Children’s Writers 2009 & Magazine Markets for Children’s Writers 2009. I also like the Children’s Writer’s & Illustrator’s Market by Alice Pope. A lot of my decisions to submit come from meeting individuals at conferences or becoming interested in them through Twitter.

    I tend to trust online sources & printed guides until I find reason not to. I like a guide that is clear and easy to use. I’m not ready to thank anybody yet, but I’d like to be able to thank you for sending me your subscription. That would by awesome!

  30. 30 Heather September 10, 2009 at 4:12 pm

    I have always done my own research, although I have received referrals from friends who are also trying to get published. I tend to stay local and shoot for the magazines and papers I am familiar with. I am learning about other markets that are available to me and am looking forward to submitting some of my new stuff to some of those options.

  31. 31 Beth Vogt September 10, 2009 at 4:29 pm

    My dad gives me a copy of Writers Market every Christmas. This has been going on for at least a decade now. I pore over it like I used to dream my way through the annual Sears Wish Book when I was a kid. And, yes, I know I’m dating myself terribly! I just handed two older copies of Writers Market to the newest member of my critique group because they have great articles in them!
    But I also realize more and more magazines are posting writers guidelines online–it’s true for the magazine I edit too. So, I like to surf the ‘net for places to submit to too.
    But the best resource, tried and true, is brainstorming potential markets with my writing buddies–in my crit group or at conferences. Face-to-face information, with reliable, “I’ve worked with them before” feedback beats everything else, hands down.

  32. 32 Stephanie C. September 10, 2009 at 5:14 pm

    I use Sally Stuart’s Christian Writer’s Market Guide. She also has a blog with updates that I read. I also read my friend Lynda’s blog because she and I seem to submit the same ones, and she always has new ideas on her blog.

    I used to use the Writersmarket.com, but since I took the last year off of writing professionaly because of personal reasons, I stopped. Now I am thinking of going back to it. It helped me immensely, but I have a lot of writing planned now without it. Maybe I will after I run out of ideas and clients. I was always inspired to write after perusing the files on there.

  33. 33 Carrie Ure September 10, 2009 at 5:35 pm

    Wow! This is one of those questions that has produced such a wealth of information. Thank you all for sharing what you know.

    I am so new at this. The only research I have done is on the Internet. I have had success finding the information I need using Google and typing in “Writer’s Guidelines” and the name of the publication. I have recently subscribed to Writer’s Market and I have been so impressed by the wealth of information. I will continue to go there to find answers to many questions.

    I’m more challenged finding information about local markets and I’ll be eager to get more tips on that.

  34. 34 lringler September 10, 2009 at 6:16 pm

    The most productive markets for me have been regional ones I’ve been introduced to through other writers. Personal connections have led to editors taking a look at my work. I have learned a lot in writing for local markets, but now would like to make the jump to national publications.

    I don’t have introductions to such publications, so I will need to check out the recommendations in this blog – thanks everyone. So far, I’ve been analyzing likely magazines, using Writer’s Market (although when I followed up with web research, half the leads disappeared), and doing web research.

    We’ll see!

  35. 35 Mar Junge, c3PR September 10, 2009 at 6:27 pm

    My answers will be different than most WriterMamas because I write articles for clients that are published under their bylines, not mine. While this may not make me personally famous, it’s a good way to earn a living, as I get paid by the client for my time contacting editors even if nothing gets published. All of our markets are industry trade publications. You can go to http://www.businesswire.com and find hundreds of them listed. We also use a service called myedcals. Almost all print pubs have online sites which are preferred because clients can post links to articles on their corporate websites. I trust online resources and my own research. It is most important that the publication be read by my clients’ customers. When we get published, I thank my hardworking staff that makes time to cultivate good editorial relationships and come up with great article ideas. You’ll know you’re a successful article writer when editors start calling you, instead of vice versa.

  36. 36 karen k September 10, 2009 at 7:15 pm

    Mostly I use my own research. I subscribe to writers market and have not ever used it to its full potential. Often for the kind of markets I target, I find the information pretty vague, especially the “how to break in” advice. “Read us before you submit” is now pretty much a big ‘duh!’ Have I used enough quotes tonight? I also subscribe to Hope’s letter and check her website for contests. I’d like to thank her for her words of wisdom and potential markets all in one place!

  37. 37 Deb September 10, 2009 at 7:24 pm

    Gosh, I find markets everywhere! For the local and regional magazines you can’t beat the freebie section at Borders or your local store. My first article was published in a magazine I’d picked up at the drug store and studied. If I had an article ready for each good market I’ve found I’d be in great writer shape! I also subscribe to Funds For Writers and Writing For Dollars, trade markets with writer friends, and bought a current list of essay markets online.

    I trust online markets and print guides as long as I follow up to make sure the information is current. The most important quality in a guide is accuracy, for sure!

    When I get published, I thank the resource that led me to the right editor! And myself for holding my breath long enough to hit “send”!

  38. 38 Brandy September 10, 2009 at 7:32 pm

    I guess I am still living in the past on this one. I am using the archaic method of actual books, primarily the Writer’s Market and Christian Writer’s Market. I try to keep up with most current edition of these though, if that counts, but it looks like I need to expand my horizons to the online world of market resources.

  39. 39 Cathy Welch September 10, 2009 at 7:42 pm

    Currently, I am using ‘The Best of the Magazine Markets for Writers, Writer’s Market for 2009 and browsing the magazine racks at Barnes and Noble. I also, pick up local free publications to seek out opportunities on a smaller scale to obtain more clips for approaching publications with national readership.
    I find the most current guide out to be the most desirable as I’m sure all do. As you have indicated, Christina, the editing and publishing world carries with it a lot of turnover and I don’t want to be that writer who sends a query to Ms. Carillo when Mr. McConnell has taken the helm.
    When I get published, I’ll most likely be thanking The Writer’s Market as I have been purchasing it on and off for years and have gleaned much knowledge from this source.

  40. 40 Daree Allen September 10, 2009 at 7:44 pm

    As a newbie, I just delved into the Writer’s Market and LMP guides 2 weeks ago. I’ve also spent considerable time reading Writer’s Digest books. They are so hepful to someone like me who is just making sense of the industry. I don’t like the LMP guides as much because the format–it’s ot as cea.

  41. 41 Tonja September 10, 2009 at 7:45 pm

    Currently, I use a whopping two market guides. I subscribe to Children’s Writer which is a monthly newsletter that features publishers who are currently seeking material as well as publishing trends. While it is up-to-date, it is not complete. It only features a dozen or so resources (probably just those who are paying for it!) so it can be very limiting. I also have my own copy of 2009 Children’s Writer’s & Illustrators Market. I love the vast number of publishers featured so that I can customize publishers to my manuscript, however, it can be frustrating because the book is printed so far in advance that often times the submission guidelines have changed to my detriment. I find it hard to trust online resources so I generally stay away from them unless I am linking from a reliable resource. When I get published I would most likely thank the 2009 Children’s Writer’s & Illustrators Market because it is such a comprehensive list, albeit disappointing at times.

  42. 42 Kelli @ writing the waves September 10, 2009 at 7:48 pm

    I love the Children’s Writers and Illustrators Market There’s so much information in there that it is a little overwhelming! Everything from publishing house guidelines to upcoming writer’s conferences…I can definitely see why CWIM has been referred to as the “bible” of children’s publishing. Now, if I could only get these story ideas out of my head and sent off to a few of these places. I’ve also used internet resources, one of them being this site. I’ve also checked out the links that are posted on the Writer Mama sidebar and have found a few leads from those as well. So thank you, Christina!

  43. 43 chloe September 10, 2009 at 9:57 pm

    I read the Writer’s market, and other magazines.
    I am new at this and have submitted only a couple of things. One was a contest sent by a friend. I sure I will have a better understanding when I have more writing to submit, and I have to find appropriated homes for them.

  44. 44 Christine Deaner-Rogers September 10, 2009 at 10:40 pm

    To be honest, I have been dreaming of being a freelance and book writer for any number of years. Now that I have the opportunity to follow my dream I am finding it very difficult to find a marketing source that proves both trustworthy and does not leave a bad taste feeling that I am only doing a “job” that others are either unable or have no time to do themsevles.

    I worked as a pastor for over twenty five years. This provided me with weekly opportunities to both write and speak, even hosting a radio show for two years that featured my spoken writings.
    I have found most opportunities online. However, the time spent researching their reputations does not make such sources viable. Since I have not had any experience with written guides, I have had to rely on my on research.

    The most important quality in a market guide would be that it would provide all of the information available on the opportunity. It would also offer articles on how to approach these opportunities, how to insure that you get published/that your writings are accepted, etc. For me, regular information for new tofreelancers would be helpful.

    When I am finally published I would offer my thanks to this website and to the source that led me to such opportunity.

  45. 45 jessicavarin September 10, 2009 at 11:34 pm

    Writer’s Market and Literary Market Place are my jumping off points for further research. I pay attention to magazine racks, blog rolls, and small press shelves. I also zealously read contributor bios to see where other writers are publishing. The internet is my main source of information. I really enjoy discovering new online magazines and literary websites.

  46. 46 Abby September 11, 2009 at 1:52 pm

    I’m focusing mostly on local markets right now. I’ve done online searches for publications in my area and come across a few I didn’t know about. I also use my library’s copy of Writer’s Market, read Writer’s Digest and The Writer, and subscribe to About Freelance Writing. When I come across a new market, I go to the publication’s website and read the submission guidelines. I’m amazed by how many markets there are, and how hard it can be to break in.


  1. 1 The 2009 Giveaway List: The Writer Mama Back-To-School Giveaway Starts Tuesday, September 1st! « The Writer Mama Riffs Trackback on September 17, 2009 at 3:49 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

My Latest Flickr Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 186,755 Visitors

