The Writer Mama Back-to-School Giveaway 2009, Day Twelve

hope2It’s day twelve of the third annual Writer Mama Back-to-School Giveaway!

From the bestselling author of Motherless Daughters, the real-life story of one woman’s search for a cure to her family’s escalating troubles, and the leap of faith that changed everything for her.

In the autumn of 2000, Hope Edelman was a woman adrift, questioning her place in her marriage, her profession, and the larger world. Feeling vulnerable and isolated, she was primed for change. Into her stagnant routine dropped Dodo, her three-year-old daughter Maya’s curiously disruptive imaginary friend. Confused and worried about how to handle Maya and Dodo’s apparent hold on her, Edelman and her husband made the unlikely choice to bring her to Mayan healers in Belize, hoping that a shaman might help them banish Dodo-and, as they came to understand, all he represented-from their lives. Examining how an otherwise mainstream mother and wife finds herself making this unorthodox choice, The Possibility of Everything chronicles the magical week in Central America that transformed Edelman from a person whose past had led her to believe only in the visible and the “proven” to someone open to the idea of larger, unseen forces. A deeply affecting and beautifully written memoir of a family’s emotional journey, it explores what Edelman and her husband went looking for in the jungle-and what they ultimately discovered-as parents, as spouses, and as ordinary people-about the things that possess and destroy, or that can heal us all.

Author Bio:

Hope Edelman (http://www.hopeedelman.com/) is the author of five nonfiction books, including theHope bestsellers Motherless Daughters (1994) and Motherless Mothers (2006).  The Possibility of Everything (http://www.thepossibilityofeverything.com/) is her first memoir.  Her articles and reviews have appeared in numerous publications, including the New York Times, the Chicago Tribune, the San Francisco Chronicle, the Washington PostThe Huffington PostGlamourChild, SeventeenReal Simple, Parents, Writer’s Digest, and Self, and her original essays have appeared in several anthologies, including The Bitch in the House (2002), Toddler (2003), Blindsided by a Diaper (2007), and Behind the Bedroom Door (2008). Her work has received a New York Times notable book of the year designation and a Pushcart Prize for creative nonfiction. She taught in the MFA program at Antioch University-LA (http://www.antiochla.edu) for six years, and can be found every summer teaching at the Iowa Summer Writing Festival. (http://www.continuetolearn.uiowa.edu/fest/) She lives in Topanga Canyon, California, with her husband, their two daughters, a fat cat named Timmy, and their pet tarantula, Billy Bob.

If you are new to the giveaway, please read “Da Rules.”

Today’s question is…

This is a book about seeking guidance in your life, so let’s talk about seeking guidance in our writing careers. Who have you turned to in your writing career who has provided helpful guidance for you? Did you learn from a person directly or through a book or…how? Who do you continue to learn from as you go along in your writing career? How have you created a “village” to support your career?

Give me the goods in 50-200 words, please. 🙂

Before you go! WE HAVE A CAUSE TO RAISE MONEY FOR THIS YEAR! Please read the story about the Applin family here and consider making a small contribution at some point during the giveaway. We’re aiming for $100/day collectively. Please help us help the Applin family adopt two beautiful children from Russia. 🙂

38 Responses to “The Writer Mama Back-to-School Giveaway 2009, Day Twelve”


  1. 1 Angela Giles Klocke September 12, 2009 at 8:23 am

    Wow am I ever in a “place” right now. Seeing this book and what it’s about seems timely.

    At the moment, I’m turning to my creative writing teacher in school for help. I wasn’t even sure I wanted to take the class (denying myself AGAIN!) but I’m so glad I did. I’m learning so much already.

    I also read a ton and am currently working through the Gotham Writer’s book (our class text). It has some really good stuff. Otherwise, I pretty much gave up all my writing books because I was done with writing. (Ha ha ha ha ha!) Although, I did keep “Get Known…” 😉

  2. 2 Meryl Evans September 12, 2009 at 8:29 am

    My “village” consists of writer and editor blogs as well as books. I read as much as I can about writing as a business. Though I’m not looking for fame, I know that we need a platform and be able to promote our stuff so editors and publishers will want us on board because we know how to get ourselves and our content out there. A few experienced writers, like Christina, have been kind enough to share tips. I don’t want to take advantage of anyone’s time, so I try to find the answers myself.

  3. 3 Kelli @ writing the waves September 12, 2009 at 8:40 am

    When I first reembarked on this childhood dream to be a writer, I didn’t really know where to start. I found the Children’s Writers and Illustrators Market at Barnes and Noble, but was honestly a little overwhelmed by the wealth of information and still felt very much on my own. Writing took a backseat once again as I finished my master’s degree, started teaching, and became a mom. It wasn’t until I came across “Writer Mama” on Amazon.com that I felt there might actually be some hope for me to “raise a writing career alongside my kids.” Since reading Christina’s book and connecting with other writer mamas through blogs and forums like this one, I feel like I have a much better direction, even though I still have a long way to go. By participating in this “back to school giveaway”, I’m hoping to make more connections with other writer mamas, learn from their experiences and advice, and create that “village” of support I need in order to reach my writing goals.

  4. 4 Amy Hudock September 12, 2009 at 8:43 am

    Writing communities have made the biggest difference in my writing life. Being a part of Literary Mama helped me to move from being an academic writer, all objectivity and reason, to a writer who can explore subjectivity and emotion. Also, being a part of the Lowcountry Writing Project has taught me how to learn from my students by creating a writing community every day in the classroom. So – my greatest mentoring has come through writing communities.

  5. 5 Joyce Lansky September 12, 2009 at 8:46 am

    It certainly does take a village to support a writing career and my strongest support has come from members of my Midsouth SCBWI group. If I have questions or concerns, I simply post on the listserv and writers are immediately there for help. I also attend the yearly conference as well as other events. Through this group, I have also become a member of an extremely helpful critique group.

    I also am a part of the ABC Writers in Memphis, Tennessee. We have monthly meetings to discuss our writing. The leader of our group is the regional advisor for the Midsouth SCBWI region, so she keeps us posted on everything important.

    Furthermore, I have found Twitter very helpful in my writing ventures. I especially enjoy Tuesday night’s #kidlitchat at 8:00 central time.

  6. 6 Writing Nag September 12, 2009 at 8:53 am

    My first writing mentors were in books. These books including “Word by Word” and “Writing Down the Bones” helped me believe in my words and in continuing in the field of creative writing. Further along the road I was lucky enough to meet other successful writers/poets who were happy to share their knowledge with me. Critique groups, writing buddies, fellow bloggers and friends continue to inspire me to work towards achieving my writing goals. My decision to go back to school and get a creative writing degree brought more creative people into my life. The advisers and other students I have met are my village. They motivate me and keep the words flowing. I try to give back to my village with my creative writing blog. Writers are generous people!

  7. 7 Cara Holman September 12, 2009 at 9:32 am

    Call me an opportunist. I take advantage of anyone and everyone I can to learn about the craft of writing. 🙂

    There are so many people who have helped me along the way in the past three years, I almost don’t know where to begin. I’ve received guidance through involvement with two writing groups, participating in local workshops, attending Wordstock and networking with myriads of other writers last fall, reading books and magazines about the craft of writing, perusing zines, blogs and writing websites, but perhaps most of all, from submitting endlessly to online journals and print anthologies, and carefully incorporating the valuable feedback I receive into the next iteration of my submissions.

    For taking a chance on a novice writer, in working with me to revise, polish and publish my essays and poetry, thus giving them life, I owe the most to: Sheree, RaeAnn, Allison, Sarah, Vinnie, Merle, D’ette, Liz, Colleen and Karen.

  8. 8 Teri Y September 12, 2009 at 9:35 am

    I’ve always believed my book to be a co-creative endeavour. The ‘village’ that is putting forth this book is my life coach/mentor who is published herself, a Latina firecracker who is a great cheerleader for me, motivating me to finish my book, folks I meet at writer conferences as well as the conferences themselves, as well as other writers on blogs and writer forums.

    In return, I also provide support/input for other writers as my way of paying it forward to those who have helped and will help along the way.

  9. 9 Loretta Kapinos September 12, 2009 at 9:39 am

    I started writing to learn more about me. And then I joined a class at my local YMCA. Through that group, I have found inspiration, support, creativity and friendship. In three years, I have grown as a writer in ways that I never thought possible. Now, not only do I write for fun but I also have two paying jobs as a result of my teacher’s prodding.

    Facebook and blogs are other ways I connect with writers of all types. Through social networks, I am reminded that I am not alone in my struggles.

    I would never continue this venture alone and am thankful to have found a support system that keeps me going.

  10. 10 Lisa S. September 12, 2009 at 9:46 am

    Originally I found guidance in my writing from books. There are so many good ones available and I love collecting them. In them I find new perspectives and I can always take away some new tidbit of helpful advice. I have taken classes, some good, others not so good. But I’ve found taking Christina’s classes and the on-line community to be amazing. There are more classes I want to take, and seminars I’d like to attend to continue learning. I’ve recently reconnected with a local writer friend and hope to meet with her occasionally to discuss our writing and begin forming a local writing “village/support group.”

  11. 11 Brianne A September 12, 2009 at 9:59 am

    I seek guidance in my writing from blogs and books. Two of my favorite writing books, (other than Writer Mama, of course), are Writing Down the Bones and The Artist’s Way.

    When I discover an author that I really enjoy, I always try to find out how they got to be where they are today in their careers. After I read Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love, for example, I read her “Thoughts on Writing” on her website. I find it really inspiring to see where people have come from.

    I really want to work on building my “village,” because right now it’s a pretty small one. I’m thinking of joining a writing group online, and I’ve also recently joined critiquecircle.com.

  12. 12 Catherine M-Y September 12, 2009 at 10:00 am

    This prompt is really complex for me because I want to be a writer but I’m not a writer. The problem is I’m a loner and really only have myself to turn to when I write. I adored the writing books by Stephen King and Walter Mosley but the actually typing of words or writing them is still painfully hard for me. I read lots of books so I would say I’m self taught. I even have tried to read terrible books so I know what NOT to write.Currently,I learn from my kids and husband because I have to edit my kids papers and my husband’s emails and business letters. Actually,I am a better editor or ‘second pair of eyes’ than a writer. As for support, I don’t have a ‘village’; I am an island adrift in a stormy sea of words. When I went to the Festival of Books, I was going to join a writing group. Maybe just maybe this year is the year I reach out to others.

  13. 13 Jenna/The Word Cellar September 12, 2009 at 10:37 am

    After feeling like my writing had plateaued and realizing that I needed a community of writers, I decided to go back to school for my MFA in writing. I thought through this a lot, wondering if pursuing a degree was the best way to improve my writing and build a village. I decided that while it wasn’t the *only* way to gain those things, it was the path that was calling to me. So now I’m in my first semester and loving it. I’m doing a low residency program, which means I work from home most of the year and go to campus for 10 days twice a year. I’m learning so much from my faculty adviser, my classmates, and the books I’m reading. I also have several writer friends outside of the program who are always encouraging me to go after my writing dreams, whether it’s submitting article queries to national magazines or creating my own self-published collection. It’s a great mix of guidance and inspiration, with focus on both the craft and the career sides of the writing life.

  14. 14 Ellie Searl September 12, 2009 at 10:37 am

    The soul of my writing comes from everything I see, read, hear, touch, eat, smell, and I would imagine that’s true for every writer. I don’t see myself as different from anyone else who struggles to create a beautifully written passage, a passage that delights the heart – or turns the stomach – or curls the toes. I glean excellence from those writers who rise to the surface of great story telling. I heed the advice of writers who know their craft so I can improve mine. Attending workshops, especially those at the Iowa Writing Festival, reading books on the art of writing, and reading authors who represent the best in each genre help me hit the right letters on the keyboard so my words dance to a better tune. I belong to a writing group – Write Impressions – and we support each other’s efforts to be more polished with every new piece. We began a story-telling blog over a year ago, with the pledge to post one story a month; the group and blog keep me on my literary toes and enliven my creative spirit for works-in progress.

  15. 15 caroline September 12, 2009 at 10:47 am

    My first writing community was made up of the people who earned the same dissertation fellowship that I did; that first year of writing, we exchanged drafts of each chapter, and knowing that our readers were in different fields helped us all communicate our ideas more clearly. Then, like Amy, the writers of Literary Mama helped me make the transition from academic writing to creative nonfiction. Today I’m happy that Literary Mama (through its monthly writing prompts and “Birthing the Mother Writer” column) is helping turn more readers into writers; I have benefited so much from the contributors and editors that I’m glad we can pay it forward to others!

  16. 16 Carol McLennan September 12, 2009 at 11:00 am

    Like many I know, I gave up my passion for writing in my youth to focus on a “practical” career. After many life changes, including the choice to be a stay-at-home mom, I began a process of self-reflection and evaluation. One of the things that allowed me to overcome self-doubt and open myself to the possibility of a writing life was an Artists Way group. Since then I’ve taken classes & workshops, joined groups, read books — but Artists Way was the start of it.

  17. 17 Susan Heim September 12, 2009 at 11:26 am

    I learn a little bit about writing in every book I read. I study the author’s style. How does she handle dialogue? How does he keep the reader’s attention? How complicated is the plot? Every book I read seems to give me some insight into what to do – and not to do – when writing a book. Whenever I lose confidence in my ability to write something, I read someone else’s work and become inspired by their ability to draw the reader in with their story.

  18. 18 lringler September 12, 2009 at 11:27 am

    My first writing community was based in Christina’s class many years ago. Some of us became a writing group that lasted the better part of two years. After that, I did writer check-ins with writer friends, stayed inspired through books (yes, Writer Mama and Get Known Before the Book Deal are on that list) and author websites, then took another class which connected me to more writers.

    Now I’d like to put a writer’s group back together again, and get brave enough to go to a writer’s conference. That was on my list for this summer…and I didn’t do it. Sigh. Next time.

  19. 19 Renee Roberson September 12, 2009 at 11:39 am

    I’ve learned so much about writing from a number of sources through the years. Books include: “Writer Mama,” “Get Known Before the Book Deal,” “Make a Real Living as a Freelance Writer,” Six-Figure Freelancing,” “The Renegade Writer,” “The Writer’s Market” and so on. I’ve also learned a great deal about building a platform and marketing from visiting these writers’ blogs.
    In my younger years, both high school and college professors served as mentors to help me guide my way from rough draft to finished product. Working as an editor at a regional publication guided me in my own career as I learned about what other writers were choosing for topics and how they presented their clips and query letters.
    Guidance is all around us, via online forums, writing classes, Facebook, and real-life peer groups. In fact, I don’t get more writing done because of all these “villages!”

  20. 20 Laura September 12, 2009 at 12:21 pm

    My writing community currently is comprised of books on writing, writing magazines, and a few websites (like this one). Years ago, I read a book called Wishcraft, and it advised to look for clues to what life you wanted, by looking at your childhood dreams. This led me to take seriously my childhood dream of writing. Since then, I have read every writing book I can get my hands on, via the library and Barnes & Noble. From each I learn something more.

    The rest of my ‘village’ is comprised of friends, who ask about my writing, encourage me, and listen endlessly to my rewrites. My biggest supporter has always been my sister, Cathie, who when I first told her that I was going to start writing (again), she said she couldn’t wait to read my work.

    I have tried to find a group of writers in my area, but to no avail. I am going to check online, at the places I have gleaned from this blog. Thanks!

  21. 21 Shelli September 12, 2009 at 12:21 pm

    First and foremost I go to God for guidance in my writing career. I am trying to seek him first in all areas of my life. I often think about Proverbs 16:3: Commit to the Lord whatever you do, and your plans will succeed.

    Like some of the other commenters I am having an island experience. I moved to KS about 7 months ago and I have a 4 year old and a 10 month old. I don’t know anyone in town and I feel alone in my writing. But I always remind myself that this is a season in life. I have written newspaper articles in the past and will do it again (even if it has been a couple years) Finding this blog is the first step in my “coming out” quest.

    So at least all of us on here are doing one positive thing for our writing right now, even if we aren’t actually writing!

  22. 22 Rene Eyerly September 12, 2009 at 12:50 pm

    Building my community is where I am focused right now. A few friends, writers and non-writers, are part of my collective. And I’ve received excellent guidance and mentoring through a couple of classes I have taken. Reaching out to a broader village, virtual and in my backyard, is my next step. I am definitely feeling the need for more extensive interaction with other writers.

  23. 23 Carol Bodensteiner September 12, 2009 at 12:55 pm

    My writing village is a writing group – comprised of just two of us at the moment – that meets at least every two weeks. Nothing like a deadline to make me get serious at the keyboard. We’ve been together for several years and the result is each of us has published a memoir. Indie bestsellers! My village has many visitors in the form of writing workshops. The Iowa Summer Writing Festival has provided great inspiration. In fact, Hope Edelman led one of the workshops I attended. I learn something new in every workshop, but at some point I must follow one wise writer’s advice to ‘just shut up and write.’

  24. 24 Liz September 12, 2009 at 1:19 pm

    I rely on writing friends and mentors (like you!) for guidance and also my family for support. The online writing group of which I am a part is my village – I’m really thankful for each woman in that group. When I’m totally bummed about the writing life, I read Anne Lamott for a pick me up. I’m heading to my first conference in a few weeks…I imagine that will bring great support, and I always find that a writing workshop will inspire me through the experience and also just the fellowship of other writers.

  25. 25 Cat September 12, 2009 at 2:20 pm

    My writing guidance comes from a variety of sources, including a few close friends who are good sources of support for everything I want to be/do, as well as some writing websites and books. I also try to attend a few writer’s conferences every year, including local SCBWI events and the Dodge Poetry Festival. These are sources of technical information, personal guidance, and inspiration. Depending on where I am and what I need, I go to one of these sources. The conferences provide a little of everything, and are also an opportunity to recharge my writer-self.

  26. 26 Janel September 12, 2009 at 3:02 pm

    I’ve always been able to easily learn things from books, as opposed to taking classes. I have read many books on how to write (and I just ordered more). Also, I believe that you can learn a lot from paying attention while you read. Find examples of writing that you like and note how they were written. I’m not suggesting you copy someone’s work, but that you figure out what elements make the work great.

    So far, writing has been a solitary experience for me, but I have been looking at a listing for a local writing group. Honestly, I just haven’t gotten to confidence to attend a meeting yet!

  27. 27 Dena Dyer September 12, 2009 at 3:18 pm

    I have been blessed to have a varied network of writing buddies, mentors, and friends. I first started trying to get a book published by reading books, and then I made my way to conferences, retreats, and online groups…decisions that major-ly paid off as I begin to meet people in person, get advice, and receive feedback on my proposals.

    Now, many years, rejections–and five published books–later, I can honestly say that I would NOT have gotten published without the network I’ve built. And I love giving back to aspiring writers
    .
    I now have a wonderful local critique group, and still get advice…I always will. It’s been an invaluable part of my writing career.

  28. 28 Emily September 12, 2009 at 3:26 pm

    I’ve always heard the quiet whispers, the musings, the lyrics, the lines. When I began to clear my life and make room for just being, I honored that writer in my head with space and time. So the first person I turned to was me and then the landslide of outside help began. Books, literature, seminars, workshops, emails to professors…all of these things together inspire me, guide me, give me strength to continue making the quiet time to hear the whispers. It’s amazing how one act, one connection, once chance meeting at the garden supply leads to another. When I began to call myself writer, the tribe began to appear…out of the woodwork,like it had been waiting for me to make my move. Synchronicity in action!

  29. 29 Lori Russell September 12, 2009 at 3:41 pm

    My writing community began when I took a community college creative writing course nearly 20 years ago. A few of us continued on privately with the teacher. That group encouraged me through my first published short stories. Later, when writing a novel, I joined a critique group and found not only a helpful set of readers, but people who have come in and out of my life ever since. My writing community expanded after taking a few classes from Christina when I began writing for her e-zine Writers on the Rise. Christina drew the contriubutors together at writers conferences and meetings . We exchange ideas and support and referrals to this day.

    Currently, I meet with two freelancers once a month. Our pitch group began as a place we could share article ideas and get help in where to pitch. Since then, we’ve discussed how much to charge for projects, what to do when an agent does or does not call, where the best trails are to hike when suffering writer’s block. We’ve landed agents and book contracts, published articles, dumped clients and taken on new ones better suited to our career goals.

    My husband is also a HUGE support and cheerleader.

  30. 30 Nellie September 12, 2009 at 3:46 pm

    In 1996, my dream was to write for The Weekly section of The Oregonian and the editor was Pat Mullarkey. With an English and teaching degree in hand, writing clips from my college and local newspaper, and a dream, Pat gave me my chance to write for The Oregonian, and I will always be grateful to her for that break — I send her Christmas cards every year to thank her. .

    I have continued at The Oregonian since then, eventually penning my Real-Life Mom column from 2005-2008, again a dream come true. My new editor Amy Wang gave me that break. Before that, my column WriterMom was published in the West Linn Tidings (from 1999-2005), again another dream fulfilled.

    I will always be grateful to these editors for the “breaks” they gave me and for me the village is always trying to pass on those “breaks” to other writers — I was an editor for five years with Pamplin Corp’s newspapers and helped new writers get published.

    Other ways I try to pass it on is to speak at writers conferences, talking about persistence and always, always, always remembering your roots: those who helped you, those who gave you a break, and then doing the same for others.

    Cornelia Seigneur

  31. 31 Carrie Ure September 12, 2009 at 3:59 pm

    Seeking guidance is a way of life for me. Since I was a child I have sought guidance from teachers. Also early on, I learned to ask for spiritual guidance directly from God. At this stage in my life, my major source of guidance comes from within myself. My heart is my very best guide and never steers me wrong. Sure I still pray and I still have teachers and spiritual mentors, but now I have the strength to align every bit of advice with my own inner compass.

    This is especially true in my writing career. I learn best from books, followed closely by teachers and mentors. I take what fits for me and I leave the rest. I would especially like to acknowledge Christina Katz who is my teacher/guide/mentor for this most important first stage of my career. My heart and gut tell me that she has the answers for me at this time and that it’s time to shut up and follow directions.

  32. 32 Beth Vogt September 12, 2009 at 3:59 pm

    Becoming a mom caused me to veer of the writing road. Becoming a mom again–a surprise late-in-life pregnancy–caused me to get back to writing. I thought: If I wait until this baby grows up, I’ll never write! One thing I did was to sign up for the Christian Writers Guild’s Apprentice course because you’re assigned a mentor. My mentor’s guidance was invaluable. She gave me feedback on each of my assignments. Sometimes I got a pat on the back–other times I got a kick in the pants. She kept me focused, motivated and helped me scrape the crud off my oh-so-rusty journalism degree.
    Day in and day out, I rely on my crit groups—one non-fiction, one fiction. There’s nothing like the guidance of the trusted, challenging, face-to-face feedback of writing comrades who know your voice, your passion and your writing goals.

  33. 33 Pam Maynard September 12, 2009 at 4:10 pm

    One of the first place I sought guidance in my writing career was “Writer Mama.” From there I learned many ways to feed the fire that burned within.
    My writing critique group has been the biggest blessing of all. We submit every 3 weeks and critique 2 others stories each week. Their input has been invaluable. They have helped me grow and gain confidence in myself and my writing.
    Facebook has also been a growing village for me. I have a large group of writer friends that are there if and when I need them. Some are freelance writers like myself, other more famous authors and publishers. It’s like a big family of creative folks, helping other achieve their dreams.
    I also keep enrolling in ICL writing courses. This forces me to complete manuscripts that my instructor will help me mold into sell-able material!

  34. 34 Linda Harris September 12, 2009 at 4:13 pm

    This is such an intriguing question. I looked to other writers in my critique group for guidance until they started to change my voice. Then I realized that I had left God out of the equation. I attended a class with David Manuel, and he emphasized that God is our co-writer. Now I have a few people who look over what I write, but I don’t put them in the place of God. He and I together decide what goes and what stays. This may sound very esoteric, but it works for me.

  35. 35 Fawn September 12, 2009 at 7:44 pm

    As a true newbie in the field, I am still in the process of seeking out guidance and building my “village”. I just relocated a year ago, so I am looking for local resources through the few connections that I have. I’m checking out a lot of books on writing from the library to see which ones I like enough to invest in (Writer Mama, for sure!). Online resources and connections are easier to find and establish, but a little more daunting to actually sort through and utilize.

    Currently, my village includes my wonderful husband and a few close friends, in particular, one friend who is also just getting started on her dream to be a writer. We are a dual support system for each other, although we are writing in different genres.

    I’m looking forward to making further connections through the process of getting writing published, and by attending some conferences and workshops, both on a regional and national level.

  36. 36 Mar Junge, c3PR September 12, 2009 at 11:33 pm

    Before I answer the guidance question, I saw the magical word in Hope’s novel … Belize! I, too, spent a magical week in Belize. Not in the jungle, but on a dive yacht. And while I didn’t go through a transformation, I did have a face-to-face encounter with a rare giant sea turtle that did inspire me to write. I have two writing mentors: Mike Peak, who taught me to write technical features, and novelist Floyd Salas, who taught me that nothing should get in the way of my writing. Life does, of course. The essence of being a writermama is compromise. I continue to learn from Floyd and from my peers. The village that supports my career, my family and other writers I hire is my PR agency, c3PR.


  1. 1 Day Twelve: And the winner is… « The Writer Mama Riffs Trackback on September 13, 2009 at 8:29 am
  2. 2 The 2009 Giveaway List: The Writer Mama Back-To-School Giveaway Starts Tuesday, September 1st! « The Writer Mama Riffs Trackback on September 16, 2009 at 9:29 am
Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

My Latest Flickr Photos

More Photos

Blog Stats

  • 186,482 Visitors

