Fit To Write Tips: Forget Fashion

By Kelly James-EngerKelly James Enger and son
 
Some of my readers may already know of my penchant for thick, fluffy socks. I can’t concentrate, much less write well, when my feet are cold, so cuddly socks are an important part of my work “uniform.”
 
But my uniform is pretty casual. Most days I work in overalls, sweats or pajama bottoms. I’ve found the key for me is to be comfortable. Wearing pants that cut off your circulation (maybe it’s time for the next size up?) or worse, an uncomfortable skirt and toe-pinching high heels may look great, but they won’t help you meet your daily word count allotment. Opt for function over fashion, and comfort over couture. You may not win any best-dressed awards but you’re likely to be more productive at your writing desk — and that’s what’s really important.
 
 
 
Author, speaker, and consultant Kelly James-Enger is a certified personal trainer and the author of books including Small Changes, Big Results: A 12-Week Action Plan to a Better Life (with Ellie Krieger, R.D.). Her book, Ready, Aim, Specialize! Create your own Writing Specialty and Make More Money, is aimed at novice freelancers; Six-Figure Freelancing: The Writer’s Guide to Making More Money helps experienced writers boost their bottom lines. Visit www.becomebodywise.com for free articles about freelancing and more information about her.
Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

My Latest Flickr Photos

More Photos

Top Posts

Blog Stats

  • 186,447 Visitors

