Blogroll, Book Shipping & Other Misc. Thoughts

What will you do when the giveaway is over???

I hope you will share with us here what you feel you got out of it.

I am a sucker for those compelling stories of why I should do this crazy thing all over again next year. 🙂

Please add your blog address in the comments section. Include “http://” at the beginning. (Please double check your links!)

About shipping books to winners. We haven’t started that process yet. I know I asked for everyone’s patience on this at the beginning of the giveaway, so this is just a reminder. Allow one month from now. If you don’t have your book by November 1st, give me an e-holler. (Keep in mind that none of the authors/publishers have the names and addresses of their winners yet. But they will shortly.)

I’ve still got one winner to pick. So don’t forget to check back to see if you won!

And then we’ve still got three “most inspirational” winners to select after that! Give me until Tuesday Friday, October 9th for that. Judy and I are going to need to put our head’s together to decide.

And then I still have a lot more people to thank. So don’t go away! We’re not done yet!!!

And finally, if you enjoyed the giveaway I hope that you will add the WMBTSG badge to your blog.

writer mama back to school giveaway badge

Please link it to:

http://christinakatz.com

Because that’s where the giveaway is going to be next year…thanks!

13 Responses to “Blogroll, Book Shipping & Other Misc. Thoughts”


  1. 1 Jaymie October 1, 2009 at 8:08 am

    Christina, this giveaway was a blast! I plan to go back through each of the questions and make a file of the things I submitted and also take notes of resources and ideas from other writers. Not only do we have a chance to win great books, but we also learn so much from one another. Thanks again! ~Jaymie

    My blogs:
    http://bringonthebooks.blogspot.com
    http://justmejaymie.blogspot.com
    http://bringonthebooksforteachers.blogspot.com

  2. 2 Cara Holman October 1, 2009 at 8:22 am

    My blog (Prose Posies):
    http://caraholman.wordpress.com/

    The top ten things I got out of participating in the WMBTSG daily for the past two years:

    10. The fun of entering to win useful books.
    9. Actually winning useful books! (3 in all)
    8. Reading about the featured books on the blog.
    7. Actually buying or checking some of the featured books out of the library.
    6. The discipline of writing a daily response.
    5. The discipline of keeping aforementioned daily response between 50-200 words.
    4. The chance to self-reflect on my writing career.
    3. The camaraderie of writing alongside other writer mamas.
    2. Learning from other writer mamas by sharing ideas and experiences.
    1. Knowing that I belong to a community.

    Thank you, Christina!

  3. 3 Carol J. Alexander October 1, 2009 at 1:22 pm

    Thank you Christina for a very thought provoking month. You asked questions that made me think things about my writing that I’d not thought about previously.

    My blog, Everything Home With Carol, where I discuss topics related to homeschooling, homesteading and homemaking, can be found at http://www.EverythingHomeWithCarol.blogspot.com.

    Feel free to check us out.

    Blessings,
    Carol

  4. 4 Carrie Ure October 1, 2009 at 1:59 pm

    Thank you, Christina for hosting this wonderful event. I looked forward each day to the questions and recommended books. I was so surprised to discover many new ideas and unanswered issues to ponder about my budding writing career. I hope that my musings helped others who are thinking about writing. Keep up the great service to us writer mamas everywhere!

    I write about everyday spirituality, including career and job-hunting at A Modern Mystic, http://carrieure.wordpress.com.

  5. 5 Amie October 1, 2009 at 6:54 pm

    I welcome serendipity and structure. Focus and perspective? Yes, please. This giveaway provides them all and more. Introductions to great authors and books. Probing questions. Thoughts along the journey from an insightful community. After 3 years, this has become part of my writing rhythm. Many thanks for the many ways you give.

    I explore the who . what . when . where . how . and why not? of creativity at http://amiehollmann.com/blog

  6. 6 Stephanie C. October 1, 2009 at 7:58 pm

    Oh, I have learned so much from this giveaway. From others, I have been inspired to try new markets, to believe in myself, and not to be afraid to have my article rejected.

    From participating (although I was too busy to do it daily), I learned that sometimes you just have to do it. As a mom of two toddler boys, I can easily say that I don’t have the time. But very often this month I took the time to do something extra for myself (the time to read other’s responses and come up with one myself) and it payed of wonderfully for me. From now on I am going to take the time to write just a few more words. It doesn’t take long to write 50 – 100 extra and if I did that everyday, I would be closer to my writing dream.

  7. 7 writerinspired October 2, 2009 at 6:56 am

    As always, the questions and responses were thought-provoking, as well as the wonderful list of books – either to win or buy or browse at the library.
    I especially loved the idea of tying in the “cause” for Jennifer’s family. I admire you for using your platform and “reach” to help generate funds for such a worthwhile mission.
    I hope that you or Jennifer will keep us up to date on how much $ was raised and the process of adoption for Jennifer’s family 🙂

    (You already have my 2 blogs listed! But there are 2 more I’ve been following that may be a good addition for Writer Mama readers:
    http://www.teachingauthors.com/
    http://twowritingteachers.wordpress.com/

  8. 8 Donna October 2, 2009 at 8:26 am

    My blogs:
    http://donnasbookpub.blogspot.com
    http://donnamariev.wordpress.com

    Thanks Christina and Judy for all you do to inspire and inform writers. September has been an incredible month. I’ve learned so much from your posts and visitor comments. Forcing myself to focus on the questions and my answers has been challenging and insightful. What a wonderful community of writers are assembled here. Even though I didn’t win a book, participating in this month’s contests has been a winning experience. Thanks again, and keep up the great work!
    Donna Volkenannt

  9. 9 Kelli @ writing the waves October 3, 2009 at 9:26 am

    Thanks for hosting this giveaway, Christina! I look forward to participating again next year. So many great resources and sound advice! I enjoyed reading the comments from other writer mamas as well and found some new writing blogs in the process. My blog is already on your sidebar from last year. I plan to check out a lot of the resources you featured during your giveaway. Thanks again for being so dedicated to the craft and for helping others along the way. 🙂

  10. 10 L Ringler October 3, 2009 at 11:27 pm

    I certainly found commenting each morning before I headed out to work to be a great way to start the day writing and thinking about writing. I appreciated the thoughtful questions Christina posed – thanks Christina, for the asking and the incentives.

    And thanks to everyone who participated – I learned from your comments.

    Elsewhere, I’m writing at:
    Family Adventuring Thoughts & Tips http://www.familyadventurementor.com/
    Family Adventuring Stories http://travelingsimply.blogspot.com/

  11. 11 Kristen R Murphy October 4, 2009 at 10:58 pm

    Since this was my first ever Writer Mama Back-to-School Giveaway, I look forward to participate next year. I couldn’t wait to check in each day for the new question and to read the responses of every writer here. Though, my sickness (which I’m still fighting) held me back on certain days.

    I also anticipated viewing my name as a winner the following day, but no such luck there. My prize was learning from everyone who participated. All the questions required me to really look at my writing goals, and put a kick in the pants. As a busy momma of three, my goals get put on the back burner. I’m working on that.

    Keep up the great work! Kristen

  12. 12 Fawn October 5, 2009 at 5:01 am

    Very rarely do you come across a contest that makes everyone a winner. What a great resource for information, building community, and to interact with some of the best in the biz. This was my first year to participate, and as long as you keep doing the contest, it won’t be my last! For all the reasons listed above (especially liked Cara’s top 10 list), thank you Christina and Judy!

    My blog is http://insteadofthedishes.wordpress.com. It’s about “what I need to do, what I want to do, and how I try to get both done.”


  1. 1 All About October! « The Writer Mama Riffs Trackback on October 7, 2009 at 11:37 am
Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

My Latest Flickr Photos

More Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 186,445 Visitors

