Introducing The Person Who Made This Year’s Writer Mama Back-To-School Giveaway Possible…

writer mama back to school giveaway badgeIf it had not been for Judy Miller, there would have been no Writer Mama Back-to-School Giveaway this year. Last spring, I took one look at my schedule for September (I write, teach and speak for a living, in case you are new to the blog) and didn’t think I’d be able to make it through the third year.

But I love hosting this giveaway! And I especially love all the self-reflection and sharing it encourages. So instead of throwing in the give-fest, I asked Judy Miller, who has been working as my assistant since March, to help. She was responsible for pulling together each daily post…and then I came in at the last minute and added the questions and managed the comments and drawings.

So if you’ve been really impressed with me all month, please spread a little appreciation Judy’s way. She totally deserves it. I am very fortunate to have a chance to work with Judy these past five months. She has been making impressive strides in her writing career and, next year, look for her e-workshop for parents of adopted tweens and teens, which is going to create a powerful context for transformation and healing.

In the New Year, Judy will be launching an e-workshop for adoptive parents called Parenting the Adopted Child. More info will appear in her website and in her blog soon but if you know any adoptive parents who are coming up on the tween/teen years with their kids, please don’t hesitate to point them Judy’s way!

So now I know why it’s such a huge job to run this giveaway! Because it actually takes two. And to tell ya the truth, some days, when I was traveling and Judy’s hard drive bit the dust, we probably could have used three. So now I’d really appreciate it if you would give Judy your attention so she can say hello.

Jude

Hi Writer Mamas!

I’m Judy. Some of you already know me. I’ve been helping Christina out as her part-time assistant since May. It’s been fun and an invaluable learning process on how it all works in the world of writing, self-promotion and marketing, and platform development. My general responsibilities have been to help with the blogs, e-zines, and other overflow Christina has with her full schedule. In the process of developing my platform, I’m learning a lot by helping Christina with hers.

adoptbookcoverI am a writer mama living in the Midwest with my husband and four children. Three of my four are adopted, so my platform is adoption and adoptive parenting. Raising an interracial and multicultural family provides a life that is rich with layers, texture, and a little bit of drama from time to time. My successes include articles in adoption and parenting magazines and essays featured in A Cup of Comfort for Adoptive Families (Adams Media) and Pieces of Me: Who Do I Want to Be? (EMK Press, November 2009). I am a columnist for the adoption network, Grown in My Heart, focusing on special needs. I write about parenting my international family on The International Mom’s Blog.

10 Responses to “Introducing The Person Who Made This Year’s Writer Mama Back-To-School Giveaway Possible…”


  1. 1 Meryl K Evans September 30, 2009 at 7:08 am

    Judy, I didn’t know how Christina was doing this whole thing especially with a trip in the middle of it all. The whole month ran so smoothly and it’s nice to know you’re the secret weapon. Thank you for helping Christina make it happen. I’ve been to all three and have a blast every time.

  2. 2 Donna September 30, 2009 at 7:52 am

    Hi Judy,
    Thanks so much for the gift of your time and talents helping Christina and giving us writers something to strive for this month. Congratulations on your Cup of Comfort for Adoptive Families publication. I’ve been published in three of their anthologies. Having a true story in their anthologies has been an encouraging and uplifting experience for me, as I’m sure it has been for you as well
    God bless you for all you do, not only as a writer, but more importantly as a mother!

  3. 3 Mar Junge September 30, 2009 at 10:10 am

    Hi Judy,
    Every year I save my daily contest entries in a journal and print it out so I can gauge my progress as a writer. Without Christina’s contest, I doubt I would take the time to do that.

    In fact, it was after last year’s contest that I realized how stressed I’d become and so decided to hire my PR intern fulltime. Today she is my best account associate and is getting to be a better writer every day. I learned, as I’m sure Christina did this year, how essential it is to have the support of a good team. Together, we can climb mountains!

    So thank you for all you’ve done to keep this contest alive. You’ve helped Christina inspire many a mama that they can indeed follow their dreams. And my best wishes for the continued success of your books and the health and happiness of your family.

  4. 4 Cara Holman September 30, 2009 at 10:27 am

    Judy-I’m sure I speak for all of us in the Writer Mama community when I say that I’m truly appreciative of your efforts to keep the Writer Mama Giveaway alive. It’s been a wonderful venue for self-reflection and for sharing ideas and experiences with other writers. Good luck with all your own writing and parenting endeavors!

  5. 5 writerinspired September 30, 2009 at 11:40 am

    Hey Judy,
    From one assistant to another – I truly appreciate your skills to organize, prioritize and represent our Queen Writer Mama, Christina. Thank you for your hard work and dedication to this site, which helps scads of us mamas trying to make a name in the publishing world.

    I wish you the best with your writing career and look forward to hearing more about your platform!

    Christina: Thank you for introducing us to Judy and showing your appreciation. Us assistants tend to get lost behind the scenes and are very honored and gratified when thanked for our efforts!; )

    Best,
    Mary Jo

  6. 6 Therese Walsh September 30, 2009 at 12:52 pm

    Judy, every successful blogger needs a helper (or 10!). Thank you for everything you’ve done to help our favorite Writer Mama. And thank you, Christina, for the chance to participate in your terrific giveaway!

  7. 7 Carrie Ure September 30, 2009 at 4:01 pm

    Thanks, Judy! I enjoyed this daily exercise so much. It really helped me to focus my thoughts on my writing. You ladies did a great job and I can’t wait to read my new books and hopefully participate next year.

  8. 8 Judy September 30, 2009 at 7:43 pm

    Well, good evening Writer Mamas!

    Assisting Christina is truly wonderful. All of you bring so much to The Writer Mama Back-to-School Giveaway, sharing and reflecting as you do. I’ve learned a lot. You teach me by being so generous. You are inspiring. I’m proud to be part of this amazing community of writers. Thank you for your kind words and encouragement.

    Judy

  9. 9 The Writer Mama September 30, 2009 at 9:25 pm

    Three cheers for Judy: Hip-hip, HOORAY! 🙂

  10. 10 Sarah Lindsey September 30, 2009 at 11:31 pm

    Thanks, Judy…that was really awesome of you to take the time to help out like that!


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

My Latest Flickr Photos

More Photos

Top Posts

Blog Stats

  • 186,447 Visitors

