The 2009 Giveaway List: The Writer Mama Back-To-School Giveaway Starts Tuesday, September 1st!

Fall in Love with Books Again!

Hosted by Christina Katz, The Writer Mama, for the Third Year in a Row

(This post is stuck at the top of this blog through September 30th: Scroll down for today’s giveaway!)

For the third year in a row, The Writer Mama, Christina Katz, is giving away thirty books in thirty days. All you have to do to participate is answer the question that Christina will pose daily. One lucky winner will win each day. There is no limit to how many times you can enter. The drawing is for U.S. residents. You don’t have to be a mom, but of course, the event is created with moms in mind, so please tell all the writer mamas you know!

Please read “Da Rules” before you jump in!

Day one: The Beginning Writer’s Answer Book edited by Jane Friedman

Day two: Page After Page by Heather Sellers

Day three: Write-Brain Workbook by Bonnie Neubauer

Day four: A one-year subscription to Writer’s Digest

Day five: Writer Mama by Christina Katz

Day six: Writing the Life Poetic by Sage Cohen

Day seven: The Last Will of Moira Leahy by Therese Walsh

Day eight: Take Ten for Writers by Bonnie Neubauer

Day nine: The Writer’s Digest Guide to Query Letters by Wendy Burt Thomas

Day ten: A one-year subscription to WritersMarket.com

Day eleven: On Writing Romance by Leigh Michaels

Day twelve: The Possibility of Everything by Hope Edelman

Day thirteen: Get Known Before the Book Deal by Christina Katz

Day fourteen: Book By Book by Cindy Hudson

Day fifteen: Thirsty by Kristin Bair O’Keeffe

Day sixteen: Formatting and Submitting Your Manuscript 2009 by Chuck Sambuchino

Day seventeen: Chapter After Chapter by Heather Sellers

Day eighteen: How to Write a Book Proposal by Michael Larsen

Day nineteen: The Fire in Fiction by Donald Maas

Day twenty: Trust Agents by Chris Brogan

Day twenty-one: Time of My Life in paperback by Allison Winn Scotch

Day twenty-two: Plug Your Book and e-Publish by Steve Weber

Day twenty-three: Novel Shortcuts by Laura Whitcomb

Day twenty-four: Publicize Your Book by Jacqueline Deval

Day twenty-five: Literary Mama: Reading for the Maternally Inclined edited by Andrea Buchanan and Amy Hudock, Mama, PhD: Women Write About Motherhood and Academic Life edited by Elrena Evans and Caroline Grant & The Maternal Is Political: Women Writers at the Intersection of Motherhood and Social Change edited by Shari MacDonald Strong.

Day twenty-six: Poet’s Market by Robert Lee Brewer

Day twenty-seven: Children’s Writer & Illustrator’s Market by Alice Pope

Day twenty-eight: 2010 Novel & Short Story Writer’s Market by Alice Pope

Day twenty-nine: 2010 Guide to Literary Agents by Chuck Sambuchino

Day thirty: The Deluxe 2010 Writer’s Market by Robert Lee Brewer

Special thanks to Jane Friedman from Writer’s Digest books, as well as all of the giveaway authors!

30 Responses to “The 2009 Giveaway List: The Writer Mama Back-To-School Giveaway Starts Tuesday, September 1st!”


  1. 1 Kelli @ writing the waves August 25, 2009 at 11:32 am

    I’m spreading the word about your giveaway. Just posted about it today. What a great list! Now I just have to remember to enter every day and keep my fingers crossed!

  2. 3 Sarah @ Baby Steps August 26, 2009 at 4:50 pm

    Yay, I’m looking forward to it! I’m keeping my fingers crossed that I’ll win something this year. Even though I was unlucky last year, I learned a lot from participating and had a great time! By the way, I’ve tweeted and posted about it, too.

  3. 5 Penelope August 27, 2009 at 9:32 am

    WoooHooo!

    I’m ready! 🙂

  4. 6 Holli C. Buck August 28, 2009 at 10:17 am

    Wow! What an amazing giveaway! I hope that I’m lucky enough to win something in this contest. 🙂

  5. 7 donnamariev August 30, 2009 at 5:19 pm

    I’m ready. I’m not crossing my fingers because I need them to type so I can enter your contests!

  6. 8 Minnie August 31, 2009 at 1:18 am

    Woo-hoo! I’m looking forward to this and am putting your button on my blog for the month of September. Many thanks for organizing this. What a lucky find … I somehow ended up here from Literary Mama.

  7. 10 Hope Edelman August 31, 2009 at 9:22 am

    It’s so great of you to include my new book, Christina. Many thanks! And a portion of all book profits are going to literacy and education project in Belize (where the book is set), so children will benefit from each sale. Writer mamas helping to support a new generation of readers–love it!

  8. 14 Cara Holman August 31, 2009 at 6:53 pm

    I’m ready for tomorrow! 🙂

  9. 16 marnini August 31, 2009 at 8:54 pm

    Woo-Woo-Woo. I am ready!

  10. 18 Mar Junge, c3PR September 2, 2009 at 2:59 am

    It can’t be September again already! I haven’t finished all the stuff I said I wanted to do in last year’s daily posts. Time flies when you’re writing. But at least writers leave tracks.

  11. 20 Carolyn September 3, 2009 at 10:38 am

    I just got the newsletter announcing this today. So I missed 1 and 2.
    Sounds like a neat idea. The blog at the top of the page mentioned a questions – a daily question. I don’t see a question though. Is there one for today?

  12. 22 Tonja September 13, 2009 at 8:31 pm

    I have always tackled the unfamiliar with knowledge and information, maybe even excessively. Since I am new to this world and the “business” of books, my approach would be handled the exact same way. I intend to network with any and every author that I come across, whether at literary events or at the park. I strike up conversations with independent booksellers because I believe them to be the ones who love what they do the most and have the most insight to offer. I would definitely begin blogging with a subject matter that involves my particular genre, so that I have an internet presence. I may not necessarily have anything to market at that point, but I may as well begin my contact base there. I would volunteer in all things possible in the literary field, whether conferences or special events in my local scene. Through this process, I would learn a lot about my personal strengths to emphasize them well in a marketing platform. Ideally, by the time I have a deal in place, this would all be second nature to me.


  1. 1 My Fall Schedule of Events: September 2009 – October 2009 « The Writer Mama Riffs Trackback on August 31, 2009 at 5:39 pm
  2. 2 Christina’s Fall Schedule of Events: September 2009 – October 2009 « Writers on the Rise Trackback on August 31, 2009 at 5:45 pm
  3. 3 The Writer Mama Back-To-School Giveaway Begins TODAY! « The International Mom's Blog Trackback on August 31, 2009 at 9:16 pm
  4. 4 Want a free book? « Life in Abigail's Attic Trackback on September 4, 2009 at 8:40 am
  5. 5 The Writer Mama Back-to-School Giveaway « Writers on the Rise Trackback on September 4, 2009 at 11:45 am
  6. 6 Sweet September! The Next Writer Mama E-zine Begins Here « The Writer Mama Riffs Trackback on September 10, 2009 at 7:12 am
  7. 7 Calling all Writer Mamas « Family Adventuring Trackback on September 12, 2009 at 11:42 am
  8. 8 The Writer Mama Back-to-School Giveaway « The International Mom's Blog Trackback on September 14, 2009 at 9:24 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

My Latest Flickr Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 186,648 Visitors

