The Writer Mama Back-to-School Giveaway 2009, Day Thirty

Delux WM2This is it! The last day. If you haven’t won in the The Writer Mama Back-to-School Giveaway you’ve got one more chance.

MORE MARKETS—MORE OPPORTUNITIES TO GET PUBLISHED

Here’s the one reference you need to get your work published and paid for! The 2010 Writer’s Market Deluxe Edition by Robert Lee Brewer (Writer’s Digest Books) includes all the valuable information you expect in the standard Writer’s Market PLUS a 1-year subscription to WritersMarket.com. In addition to the 3,500+ listings in the Writer’s Market, you’ll have instant online access to another 2,500+ listings that just couldn’t fit in the book—with daily updates.

Take charge of your writing career with online tools that allow you to organize your favorite market listings and keep track of where you submit your work. All of this and more is available on an easy-to-use WritersMarket.com Web site that is accessible from anywhere with online access.

Author Bio:

Robert Lee Brewer is the editor of Writer’s Market, Writer’s Market Deluxe Edition and WritersMarket.com. A RL Brewerpublished poet, he covers poetry topics at his Poetic Asides poetry blog.  Brewer also speaks at writers’ conferences and writes articles for Writer’s Market and Writer’s Digest.

If you are new to the giveaway, please read “Da Rules.”

Especially since folks have been getting, ahem, a little long-winded lately. This is funny because at the beginning of the giveaway folks weren’t writing long enough. Now I can’t get them to stop writing. :)

Please keep it between 50-200 words. Do you best!

Today’s question is…

Markets. Where are the markets for your writing? Where have you marketed your work? Where do you hope to sell your work in the future? What markets have you had the most success selling to? And how can you increase your earnings from writing in the next twelve months?

Give me the goods in 50-200 words, please. :)

Before you go! WE HAVE A CAUSE TO RAISE MONEY FOR THIS YEAR! Please read the story about the Applin family here and consider making a small contribution at some point during the giveaway. We’re aiming for $100/day collectively. Please help us help the Applin family adopt two beautiful children from Russia. :)

45 Responses to “The Writer Mama Back-to-School Giveaway 2009, Day Thirty”


  1. 1 Kathryn Lang September 30, 2009 at 4:00 am

    The big question that I am facing is the way to increase my earnings. My income the last couple of years has come from lower paying ghost writing gigs. I was making a decent income writing 20 short articles each day. But that is not allowing me time to pursue my own passion in writing. I have to find the balance.

    I am continuing to work with some of the same people that I have in the past but I am also looking for print writing opportunities, speaking opportunities and anything that will provide me some strength for a nonfiction proposal. I believe that the best way to increase my earnings is to expand beyond the short articles.

    Experience has taught me that great things do not happen overnight. They are built with persistence, determination and consistency. I am determined that I will expand into more print opportunities, books and even expand my name on the internet in the next 12 months.

  2. 2 Leslie Ann Dyer September 30, 2009 at 4:18 am

    Markets. I wonder all the time where my writing will fit. I just started writing humorous commentary and was looking through a old version of Writer’s Market that I have and I really couldn’t pinpoint any specific magazines where I would fit.
    I have submitted to one small magazine and I also publish my blog. I also write stories for children. These I plan on submitting to contests and magazines intended for the ten to twelve crowd. How do I plan on increasing my earnings in the next twelve months? I believe if you write something then there will be a market for it. So I continue to write and I’m sure the money will come – I just have to have patience.

  3. 3 Karrie Z Myton September 30, 2009 at 4:51 am

    Markets. Where are the markets for your writing?
    I was just wondering that myself as I begin to look for the article I’m working on right now. I think it will be in a middle grade magazine by Cobblestone. But I’m not sure because I’ve been distracted by writing this:)

    Where have you marketed your work?
    I have marketed my work mostly to children’s magazines.

    Where do you hope to sell your work in the future?
    I hope to sell my non-fiction to magazines and my fiction to a publishing house. But I don’t yet know enough to say which one.

    What markets have you had the most success selling to? And how can you increase your earnings from writing in the next twelve months?

    It seems pretty straightforward to increase my earnings – submit and write queries much more regularly. I’ve had the most success with non-paying markets.

  4. 4 Pat September 30, 2009 at 5:11 am

    I have been fortunate enough to have had a few writing pieces recognized in contests, and been published in anthologies where payment is a contributor copy.

    As far as “sales” are concerned, I’ve sold a story to the Cup of Comfort series and one to the Chicken Soup series. Anthologies are so varied in subject matter, that a writer who produces essays should definitely look into that area as a potential market.

    In regard to short stories, I’ve primarily looked at magazines, both online and print as potential markets. So far no luck, but I will keep writing and submitting!

  5. 5 L Ringler September 30, 2009 at 6:51 am

    I have learned a lot writing for regional magazines, and have had regular gigs with three different regionals for the last 5 years. They pay, but not well. I feel successful, but ready for the next step. My challenge now is how to break into the nationals. I get editor nibbles, which feels good, but they so far haven’t resulted in publication. I have written queries, only to double check an editor name and find the magazine has folded. In these changing times, it feels like the jump to the next level just got a little harder. Which means I’ll have to work harder and smarter to make more from writing in the next year.

  6. 6 Yvonne Pesquera September 30, 2009 at 7:01 am

    While reviewing past issues of magazines, I found that editors consistently publish profiles of inspirational people who are doing their small part to affect positive change. For example, I sold a profile of an 11-year-old girl (who started a kid’s peace group) to the nationwide newspaper, *The Christian Science Monitor*, and I sold a profile of an all-women’s mountain biking team (that’s working to bring more women into the sport) to the regional *San Diego Magazine*. To date, I’ve been focused on general interest/lifestyle publications. But over the next year, in an effort to increase my earnings, I plan to market my articles to consumer niche and trade magazines. For example, I’m writing an article about a peace group that offers free vacations to nonprofit workers. I’d like to research trade magazines that cater to nonprofits; additionally, I’d like to research consumer niche magazines that are popular reads with nonprofit workers.

  7. 7 allena tapia September 30, 2009 at 7:07 am

    What has worked for me, as far as markets go, is to concentrate on my expertise area. I have a lot of luck placing stories that are Latino-centric, or in Latino magazines, as that’s the world I live in, despite not being Latina myself.

    Where I’d like my markets to go: I’d like to move into travel more. I was also thinking that clocking 30 hours per week is killing me with all the other things I like to do, so I really want to hit some of those higher paying markets!

  8. 8 Meryl K Evans September 30, 2009 at 7:13 am

    First, thank you for another incredible giveaway, Christina. Can’t believe it’s over, but I’m sure you’ll be glad to return to your already busy schedule. Just less busy.

    I rarely query publishers and focus more on business work. It’s not that I am afraid to query publishers, but I know it’s time consuming and often doesn’t result in a gig. I prefer to build relationships and get to know people because I can better meet their needs that way. But I like to have one or two magazine gigs a year to show I can do more than just online and business writing. I’ve been fortunate those gigs came through knowing the folks behind the publications. I must do something right because they ask me to contribute again, so it’s not just who I know — but also the quality of the work.

  9. 9 Carol J. Alexander September 30, 2009 at 7:21 am

    Finding markets is a constant source of frustration for me. As a freelance writer of magazine articles, I have sold pieces to several national magazines on a regular basis. They are, however, lower paying markets. I have sold one article to a high paying market, but not anything more. The frustration is in the timing. I’ve had editors assign articles and then sit on them for a year before they say if they want them or not. I constantly struggle with the choice between selling the piece for $50-100 today or waiting two years for a yes and then waiting another year to get paid $300-$500 on publication. What am I missing?

  10. 10 Kristen Feola September 30, 2009 at 7:46 am

    Market: the customers for a particular product or service, or in my case, writing.

    I’m trying to define my market right now because I’ve realized I can’t be everything to everybody. I need to find my niche and get my work out there. I’ve been doing a lot of writing lately, but unless I get my words in front of the eyes of the right audience, they might as well not have even been written.

    My goal over the next 12 months? To have a book in my hands written by Kristen Feola.

  11. 11 Brandy September 30, 2009 at 7:52 am

    Ha! Increasing my earnings shouldn’t be hard. You can only go up from zero, right? 🙂 Markets elude me to some extent. I prefer to write fiction, and it is hard to find short one-time submissions needed or wanted for fiction. I haven’t had much luck finding online resources for this. So my focus has to be more on magazine submissions and querying publishers.

    Have completely enjoyed Christina’s month of giveaways. I have loved reading everyone’s responses and learning from all of you!

  12. 12 Donna September 30, 2009 at 7:57 am

    The markets I’ve been most successful with are for nonfiction writing and contests. I’ve had true stories published in three Cup of Comfort anthologies. This month, I got a contract and check from Blue Mountain Arts for an essay I wrote for their Irish Inspirations anthology. I’ve had a few fiction pieces published in literary magazines and anthologies–most in payment of contributor copies, but a few paid cash. I’ve also had success writing book reviews and interviewing authors on line. My goal next year is to finish my YA novel while continuing to freelance nonfiction to help pay for postage.
    Donna V.

  13. 13 Linda September 30, 2009 at 8:14 am

    In a still-hurting economy where publications come and go, seemingly overnight, markets and marketing are two words that loom large. I have had my most consistent luck writing for association publications, which don’t fold quite as readily as their commercial sisters. New online publications have been relatively easy to break into, although they, too, come and go quickly. In the last couple of years I have lost three steady writing gigs to publication failures.

    So I have taken on editing assignments to keep the cash coming in while I search for new markets. As I look ahead, my plans include:

    Trying to keep 25 to 30 queries in circulation at all times,

    Targeting the 10 publications I most want to break into by sending them one query each month,

    Establishing a website offering both writing and editing services,

    Trying my hand at filler pieces,

    Building a blog of my own to keep me focused on my passion as well as to help get my name out there,

    Networking—lots more networking.

  14. 14 Cheryl M September 30, 2009 at 8:19 am

    My markets are regional and national parenting magazines. I have yet to be successful submitting except to a very local magazine. I can increase my earnings by selling any articles at all! With my baby getting close to 3 months old and a school schedule set up for my older two, I feel about ready to jump back in to the query process. This giveaway has been helpful to get me thinking about writing again.

  15. 15 Christina September 30, 2009 at 8:27 am

    First, I have really enjoyed reading the comments above.

    The markets I pursue right now are creative non-fiction, essay and poetry. I enjoy writing from my life, and enjoy sharing my experiences with others, just as I enjoy reading the experiences of others–and learning from them. As a new writer with only three publications (non-paying), I have been submitting to newer publications, online ‘zines and a few of the higher end markets just to test the water. I share the frustration of the writers above with regard to the waiting and the pay for newer among us.

    I have marketed my work to sites focused on motherhood, poetry, and creative non-fiction. Being a new writer, the ones accepting my work have been non-paying markets. I am submitting to paying markets now, but getting lots of rejections. While it’s depressing, I keep on writing.

    In the next 12 months, I hope to have some pieces published in childrens magazines, and I will submit some of my essays to print publications.

    I do not anticipate much pay at this stage in my career–especially with the way the writing market has evolved. Getting yourself in print is harder and harder every day.

  16. 16 Dawn Herring September 30, 2009 at 8:30 am

    My primary markets for my poetry, essays, and memoir would be literary magazines; since they are hard to get a hold of, I’ve only submitted occasionally.
    I also have several pieces I plan to market to a regional parenting magazine and possibly a Christian magazine.
    I sold a couple of reporting pieces to my city newspaper, however I have yet to submit any freelance articles to them recently. Since we live in a rural area, it’s hard to pinpoint what content would work.
    I have been published in writing and homeschooling newsletters, but I’m hoping to establish myself in more lucrative markets in my niche.
    Right now, my primary writing work is for book length projects, therefore, I haven’t actively submitted to markets to sell parts of these projects as individual pieces. I hope to see this happen next year.

  17. 17 Cara Holman September 30, 2009 at 9:03 am

    I am expanding my markets all the time. I initially broke in with writing for websites and zines. Now I’m focusing mostly on the anthology market, with special emphasis on the Chicken Soup for the Soul and Cup of Comfort series, and am pleased to have landed my first two essays, with a third currently under consideration. I also recently stretched myself and had a My Turn essay published in the Oregonian, which only whetted my appetite for trying more journalistic writing. I’ve discovered contests, and interlace them in with the rest of my writing for practice, fun and relatively rapid feedback.

    My goal for next twelve months is to continue to focus mainly on the anthology market, and to also explore the possibility of pitching and writing articles for newspapers and magazines. As an inveterate list maker myself, the idea of penning lists and tips appeals to me the most. For the long term, I’d love to teach workshops and edit my own anthologies someday, a little motivational dream I keep firmly tucked in the back of my mind. In the meantime, I keep writing and submitting, maintain my Prose Posies blog, and use social media to network.

  18. 18 Liz September 30, 2009 at 9:14 am

    I can’t believe the giveaway is over (or that September is for that matter). What will I do tomorrow? Anyway…on to the question! Right now I am focusing on regional parenting magazines markets and anthologies for my writing. I hope to sell my work to larger magazines in the future. I am working on increasing my earnings by sending out more submissions so that I can not only earn more but also increase the clips that I have and therefore establish more of a platform that will allow me to augment the writing income with other income.

  19. 19 Beth Cato September 30, 2009 at 9:49 am

    I send my work to all sorts of markets – flash fiction, longer-length speculative fiction, pro publications (though no luck there yet), essay anthologies, and contests for fiction or essays. For my short works, my biggest goal is an acceptance to a pro spec fiction market so that I can eventually qualify for an SFWA membership (which requires three professional short works sale, or a novel deal to a major publisher).

    I’ve had good luck so far with my flash fiction and essays. I’ve had cat stories published in THE ULTIMATE CAT LOVER and CHICKEN SOUP FOR THE SOUL: WHAT I LEARNED FROM THE CAT (which just came out) and I have a story in consideration for CHICKEN SOUP FOR THE SOUL: TRUE LOVE. Small fiction markets don’t pay well, so the “real money” has been in these anthologies. Once I’m fully approved for the TRUE LOVE book, I can say that I doubled my income over last year – an income that will still be in three digits. Start small, work up from there!

  20. 20 Amy Simon September 30, 2009 at 10:07 am

    I’ve found my markets from market guides, websites and through other magazines. I’ll find a magazine I like and then find out that the publisher has other similar magazines targeted at a different market. I’ve had the best success writing for Christian teen magazines and Christian parenting magazines. I think I’ll earn more if I diversify and experiment with more markets – secular as well as Christian.

    Thanks!
    Amy

  21. 21 Cathy Welch September 30, 2009 at 10:46 am

    I’m preparing my first article to send to health-related magazines. I found the one I am querying at Barnes and Noble. Since, I found two others through the ‘Best Magazine Market Guide’ I received from my writing course. I have begun another idea and will need to research markets for mid-life women and women’s interest magazines.
    Increase my earnings? One paycheck would do that. I do have a day job, but would go to part-time if I could earn a small recompense for my writing.

  22. 22 Mar Junge September 30, 2009 at 10:49 am

    I promote my nonfiction writing services to any company that needs marketing help, but primarily I work with Business-to-Business companies in the $20M to $75M range. I market and network to companies in Silicon Valley, but have client across the US.

    Rather than have publishers pay me, I get paid by my client companies. They have bigger budgets and I can count on receiving a check every 30 days for the writing services performed that month – even if nothing gets published! A side benefit of ghostwriting articles for companies is that it’s easier to pitch and place articles with magazine editors when they don’t have to negotiate payment.

    I will continue to market nationally, primarily to the vertical trade publications serving technology, defense, legal and financial services and medical practice management.

    Considering that every writermama has a limited number of hours per day in which they can write, eventually a good professional writer gets to the point where the best way to increase earnings from writing is to write less and manage other writers more.

    (P.S. Thanks Christina for another wonderful September. What will I do tomorrow with all the extra time?)

  23. 23 writerinspired September 30, 2009 at 11:55 am

    I also would like to thank Christina and Judy for this spectacular giveaway! Love the community (and prizes!) found here. Will you give us an update on Jennifer’s Cause??

    On to the markets: I find markets through many sources: Hope Clark’s weekly newsletters FFW and the Writing For Dollars newsletters, as well. Fellow writers (esp. my fantastic group of WPSS ladies!) chime in and share when we find something that worked for us or would be a good fit for another’s platform.

    I’ve had more success in smaller women markets with nonfiction articles and essays, though networking helps, too, as I published my first fiction piece with a source I met a conference! I also won a fiction contest – HUGE surprise and moment of pride.
    Though, I’m reevaluating my platform and what and where I need to publish to fit my goal of getting know in my community as a creative writing teacher for YA’s.

  24. 24 coffeejitters (Judy Haley) September 30, 2009 at 11:56 am

    I’m just getting started with this so I haven’t sold a thing yet. My dream is to ultimately write for the glossies, but I know I need to work up to that (not that I wont try querying them anyways). So, no success with any markets so far entirely because I have not yet sent out a single query letter. Anything would be an increase in earnings.

  25. 25 Janel September 30, 2009 at 11:56 am

    I currently write articles for beadwork magazines. It was a case where a hobby spun off into a chance to make money by writing about it. I currently have one submission out and I have a few more pieces that are almost ready to be pitched.

    I have always loved fiction and the seeds of a cozy mystery are germinating in the back of my mind. Those ideas need to grow some more before I attempt a book. However, in the next year I would like to see some of my short stories published. Online or in print, paying or not, I just want to see my name associated with works of fiction. I also have a few personal essays that I plan on submitting. This is the year that I will get serious about writing.

  26. 26 Diane J. September 30, 2009 at 12:12 pm

    My markets are regional parenting publications, right now. I have gotten a few tips published in more mainstream women’s publications and those publications are my biggest goal. Well, outside of writing a book, that’s my ultimate goal.

    Since finishing the WPSS class, I now have a carved out time frame to keep working within, so I intend to keep revising and submitting material to regional parenting pubs and as I gain more clips, more up the ladder slowly.

  27. 27 Valerie Willman September 30, 2009 at 1:09 pm

    The only place I’ve published in is in our local newspaper, but I hope to someday be published in Mothering, Brain,Child, Mother Earth News, Eugene Weekly (one of our local weeklies), and Living Without.

  28. 28 Pattie September 30, 2009 at 1:32 pm

    Thanks for the fun giveaway prompts!

    The market I was targeting, the magazine Today’s Christian Woman, has gone out of print. So I will be targeting another type of publication. I’m still working on creating a niche for myself, and while I’m not ready to release it to the internet community as of now, I am working on it and have a couple of other publications in mind. Right now I’m developing my writing online, as a volunteer writer for a ministry. It is really helping me gain experience in writing under deadline and is fantastic practice for now. The Deluxe Writers Market would be a fabulous resource for me as I seek other markets for my writing, so I can be paid instead of always volunteering my work.

  29. 29 writethejourney September 30, 2009 at 1:43 pm

    I’ve been published regionally so the next logical steps are to pursue online publication (exclusively online pubs, that is) and–gulp–national magazines. I need to start jumping in with two feet. I can increase my earnings by submitting more pieces but also writing more queries rather than finished essays and shorter articles.

    Thanks for a great ride, Christina!

  30. 30 Brianne A September 30, 2009 at 1:58 pm

    In the future, I hope to sell my work to national parenting magazines and women’s health publications. I am going to increase my earnings from writing in the next twelve months by submitting work regularly and by continuing to research markets for my work. Since I’m just starting out, I want to try a few different markets that I’m interested in. I want to see where I have the most success and what I enjoy the most.

  31. 31 Laura September 30, 2009 at 2:26 pm

    I have mostly written personal essays and some short fiction. The markets I have submitted to are Guideposts and Chicken Soup for the Soul. I have submitted short stories to the ‘Show us your Shorts’ competition, and intend to do so again this year. However, I have only sold one article, to Guideposts, and that was two years ago. I am currently working on another article to submit to them now.

    In the future, I hope to continue to submit personal essays, but hope to also learn to write & submit other types of articles. I have not figured out which magazines to market to. I think I need to go back & work my way through Writer Mama again. I also intend to continue in my quest to write fiction, both short & novel length.

    As to increasing my earnings, that’d be easy, since I haven’t earned anything as a writer since 2007 (I have a day job). As a mother, I tend to see the year beginning in September, so this ‘year’, I intend to spend more time ‘in the chair’, submit more articles (and short stories), and save any earnings toward that laptop of my dreams.

  32. 32 Suzanee September 30, 2009 at 2:48 pm

    Most of my published writing so far has been for corporations or small businesses and were provided as in-house or freelance assignments. I’ve barely tapped the surface of attempting to submit writing to the Christian market, which is the area I would like to grow into.

    I am also a graphic artist, and I have 15 years of experience creating marketing and identity materials using both skills. I hope to be able to turn my design experience into useful articles for graphic artists and media teams that service the Christian industry.

    Frankly, I just need to get over thinking I’m a “newbie” and realize I’ve been writing/designing professionally for years, with a lot of useful experience to offer. I need to grow a backbone and start submitting frequent queries (or letters of introduction) to numerous publications. I think that will significantly increase my earnings!

  33. 33 Cathy C. Hall September 30, 2009 at 3:53 pm

    Wow! I almost forgot to check Writer Mama today; I would have missed the last day of the Giveaway!

    I send my work out to a variety of markets…Anthologies like Chicken Soup and Cup of Comfort have been good for my essays. But I also send to regional or small press anthologies, for both essays and oddly enough, spec fiction. You’d be surprised how many folks read speculative fiction! I’ve got a werewolf story I hope to finish and send to The Beast Within (You can check Ralan’s or Duotrope’s for short fiction markets).

    I also send my essays to regional magazines and newspapers. I try to target a Boomer audience if I’m pitching my column. If “Senior” is in the title, then I’m all over that 🙂

    I also write children’s fiction and non-fiction. When I write something, I look for a market. Mostly, I bug the heck out of Highlights, but I just sold a puppet play to an anthology, so you never know where you’ll find a market.

    Looking for markets, looking for markets. Really cuts into my writing time!

  34. 34 Adrienne Ross September 30, 2009 at 3:54 pm

    Most of my publications are in literary magazines or anthologies. I’m increasingly finding those are not the right markets for my essays and stories. This year, I’ve branched into fiction, and my unfamiliarity with those markets is holding back my success at publication. Adding to my frustration, the literary markets don’t (or rarely) pay, and I would like my writing to generate some revenue.

    I stay up to date on markets through free, in-the-email sources (The Practicing Writer, CRWOPPS) and by checking blogs with calls-for-publications (Poets & Writers, Writing it Real). I need to become familiar with a broader range of markets and have made a good start by submitting work to HCI (a Cup-of-Comfort type publisher…still awaiting word on my birdwatching essay…) Writer’s Market will form a research-base for searching out new print and online magazines, especially paying markets.

    I will finish my book manuscript in 2010 and send it out by the end of the year. Having a broad range of fiction and non-fiction publications will show I have the makings of a market for my book. So, when I spread my wings into new directions, Writer’s Market will be one route I’ll take.

  35. 35 Carrie Ure September 30, 2009 at 3:57 pm

    For the time being I have decided to focus on writing about careers and job hunting. Listening to the news, it would seem that I have an endless market out there. But I’m learning to be more nuanced in my approach, to think more about sub-niches. I’d like to write for spiritual seekers looking for work, as well as working women and mothers. Another possible audience is those in the midst of career change. For now I’m focusing on regional magazines and newspapers, but I hope to slowly break into national magazines. I’d especially like to write for the national spiritual magazine world.

  36. 36 Joyce Lansky September 30, 2009 at 4:49 pm

    I write for the children’s market and have queried a few magazines, agents, and editors. So far I have not had success and need to focus more on the short magazine stories; however, novel writing is so addictive.

    I write a lot of humor and plan to submit to magazines that like funny writing. I also have a nonfiction piece that I’ve only queried once and plan to submit it to someone else. I am currently working on a nonfiction article that I hope to sell to Sports Illustrated for Kids.

    I would increase my earnings from writing if I’d only sell SOMETHING.

  37. 37 caroline September 30, 2009 at 5:17 pm

    This has been a great month of giveaways, Christina! thanks again for all your generosity in hosting this, and for all you do to connect writer mamas.

    My market so far has been motherhood writing, especially of course, via Mama, PhD, mothers in higher education, but that is less “my” issue now (since I’m no longer working in higher education). My goal now is to get my food writing published in the near future.

  38. 38 brigidday September 30, 2009 at 5:22 pm

    I purchased the 2009 Writer’s Market with the best intentions and failed in the greatest sense of the word. But buying the book last year was a step in itself. So this year, I plan on using the book and getting out there. By November I hope to have a schedule of queries to submit and stick to it. Finding the market that will suit my voice is at the top of my list. And on that note – my child is asking for me to read books, and that is an offer I can’t refuse.

  39. 39 Debbie Mickelson September 30, 2009 at 5:44 pm

    It is crucial to know my writing markets. Knowing my markets definitely increase my earning potential. It’s important to make the best market decisions so that I don’t waste my time querying or pitching. I don’t want to be part of the statistics of writers not reading submission guidelines.

    So far, I’ve marketed my work online and in print, but not nearly enough. My focus is on children’s writing and parenting articles and I’m looking at regional magazines. I think that this might be an easier market to break into than major magazines.

    My plan is to write more consistently and learn tricks from Christina’s WPSS class starting next week. This gives me opportunities for more project to submit, and more markets to look into.

  40. 40 Amie September 30, 2009 at 5:55 pm

    Another great September come and gone. Thanks so much for the giveaway. Always a bright spot. For markets, I’ve had the most success with personal essays exploring spirituality and travel in national religious publications and websites and local newspapers. As some publications die and others are born, I have found the Wooden Horse publishing newsletter to be a good resource on finding emerging markets. After moving to a new area, I am researching the local and regional markets. I’d like to focus on local and international travel pieces for parenting publications and anthologies. Hopefully find a consistent web gig to help me improve my craft and refine my focus as I develop my platform.

  41. 41 Pam Maynard September 30, 2009 at 6:40 pm

    My markets for my writing are mostly children’s fiction magazine submissions and non-fiction articles for children’s and country type magazines. I have done little to market my work. I tend to submit to random magazines, get a contract, write the article and wait for the money! I haven’t found a niche yet so I can start my platform.
    I have the most success with small local or Christian magazines. I did have an article in GRIT magazine May 2009, Poultry on Pest Patrol. That’s my biggest and best earnings to date!
    FYI, I have enjoyed writing about writing everyday! Thanks Christina!

  42. 42 Joanna September 30, 2009 at 8:52 pm

    In the beginning, I wrote personal essays that landed online homes. I also write regular articles for a local entertainment magazine, which gave me the chops to write a travel article on my hometown for a regional travel pub (and that led to another travel article this summer). But mostly I have honed my focus to parenting magazines, with an emphasis on service type articles. I cracked the national market a couple years ago, but it’s slow going and my favorite parenting pub folded last January so I feel like I’m starting all over again with editors. Patience, patience, patience. My biggest goal this year is to have many more queries in circulation so I have more potential projects going to generate income.

  43. 43 Stephanie C. September 30, 2009 at 8:56 pm

    I have had the most success with the online market. I have become very good writing SEO content. I also have become very good at writing for the Christian market. Since this is what I read a lot of, it just makes sense for me to write for this market.

    But I do realize that I need to step out of my comfort zone in order to become a better writer. I have started reading family/parenting magazines and women’s magazines. I intend to try to write for this market in the next year.

    I feel that I already have become a better writer by expanding my reading choices. So when I start querying and become published in these markets, I can only guess how much I will improve as a writer. Not only that but I will also become a better writer in the markets where I am already successful.

  44. 44 karen k September 30, 2009 at 9:10 pm

    Thanks for another great giveaway, it was fun! So, markets. In the last year, due to economical impacts, I lost 40 percent of my income from periodicals. Now, I don’t earn six figures, but 40 is still 40. My market has been outdoor and tourist magazines. So many have gone away, that I’m currently researching new markets and contemplating strategies to regain that income. I have always been slow and steady, and it looks like I’ll stay that way with hard work to get back into groove.

  45. 45 Sarah Lindsey September 30, 2009 at 11:19 pm

    My pursuit of writing for publication did not begin until after I read Writer Mama in July of 2008. Since then, I have worked hard and taken this pursuit of a writing career one step at a time. In the past 14 months, I have managed to gain some local and regional publication credits, focusing on parenting and pregnancy articles. My goal for the future: write for national parenting, pregnancy, and women’s interest magazines. The steps I’m taking to achieve that goal: practicing my craft and building up a portfolio (with clips from local and regional mags). The next step I’m going to take: start querying those national magazines. Hopefully, if I do this, my earnings will increase significantly.

    Thanks so much for hosting this giveaway, Christina! I really enjoyed and learned a lot from it! Despite being extremely determined to participate every day, Life threw some curves in my path – my mom had a heart attack and was in and out of the hospital for the last few weeks. So, with all the extra stress, it was really great to have something fun to look forward to every day that I was able to get online. Thank you!


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

My Latest Flickr Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 186,755 Visitors

