All About October!

For me, back-to-school marks the beginning of my new work year. I’ve decided (after working a bit less this past summer) to work more during the school year and less during the summer from here on out. So next summer, I plan to attend some writing conferences and that’s pretty much going to be it so I can enjoy quality time with my immediate and extended families.

And there are more changes in the works. Soon, I will only be offering four e-mail classes (instead of six) and will convert my platform classes into audio or video courses.

In January, I will launch two “Dream Teams” for former students who are interested in more support, encouragement and guidance on an ongoing basis. These Dream Teams will be linked up by a monthly conference call, weekly accountability assignments, and a group interface for sharing among participants. I was going to switch up the groups every three months but now I’m thinking that six months will be best for everyone.

I’m going to be working with Judy Miller, my intern/assistant over the holidays to create some e-books. Topics you might be interested include: “Author Mama,” “Write An E-book & Build a Following,” and “Grassroots Self-promotion for Authors.” I’d love for you to meet Judy, if you don’t already know her. You can read more here.

There’s going to be more news to come as the New Year gets closer, but suffice it to say that I am streamlining and focusing all of my online efforts to make room for book number three, which I’d like to start in January.

I wonder if there are classes, services or products you wish I would offer that I don’t currently offer. I’d love to hear your feedback on this via e-mail. Please write to me at writer mama dot earthlink dot net and let me know your thoughts.

The Writer Mama Back-to-School Giveaway is now over. I consider it a huge success. Big thanks go out to Judy Miller, for her help creating the posts, to Jane Friedman for providing many books, and to all of the authors who participated. The giveaway continues to be a popular opportunity for self-reflection and self-discovery for those who participate. It is always so gratifying for me to hear what everyone have to say about the process. You can read more on that here.

Harvest time is here in earnest, mamas. And it’s time to separate the wheat from the chafe. What will you keep? What will you let go of? How will you streamline your time to be as successful as you can be while safeguarding your quality time with your family?

3 Responses to “All About October!”


  1. 1 writerinspired October 8, 2009 at 7:39 am

    Great post about streamlining to focus on career and to focus on family time. What I’ve done in my home is designate 2 weeknights that are my working nights. After dinner until about 10:30pm, I go to “work” and my husband and kids know not to disturb me. With this focused time, I have eliminated the fragmented screen time which was sporadic email replying, blog posting & commenting and Twitter and FB mktg efforts. Little to no writing was getting done, many interruptions were frustrating me and making my family feel low on my priority list. On week 2 of this new schedule and all is happy (and productive!)

    • 2 Sarah Lindsey October 8, 2009 at 10:53 pm

      Mary Jo,
      Your writing schedule sounds like a really good idea. I find it really hard to get large chunks of time to write (I’ve got a 1 year old and a 2 year old), but I notice that when I get ten minute slots of time here and there, I usually end up blog surfing or emailing. So, I’m thinking about readjusting my schedule so that I can have two large time slots in the week to write. But I was wondering, do you also journal or write morning pages in addition to your two weeknight slots of writing time?

  2. 3 The Writer Mama October 9, 2009 at 8:33 am

    Deadlines get the writing done for me. 🙂


Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

My Latest Flickr Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 186,756 Visitors

