Fit To Write Tips: Remember the Good Stuff

By Kelly James-EngerKelly James Enger and son
  
Remember when that story you worked so hard on got killed? When an editor rejected your pitch after you spent hours on it? I bet you do. But what about the high notes of your writing career? They may be harder to recall.
 
That’s why I suggest you start an Inspiration File. Mine includes notes, cards, letters, and emails I’ve collected over nine years. There’s a note from an editor thanking me for a “great job” on one of my first stories, fan letters from readers of my novel, and a congratulations card from my husband when I sold my first book.
 
If I’m struggling with freelancing or having doubts about my choice of career, I take a look through my Inspiration File to focus on my accomplishments instead of my rejections. I suggest you do the same.
 
Don’t focus on how far you have to go-instead, celebrate the distance you’ve already come.
Author, speaker, and consultant Kelly James-Enger is a certified personal trainer and the author of books including Small Changes, Big Results: A 12-Week Action Plan to a Better Life (with Ellie Krieger, R.D.). Her book, Ready, Aim, Specialize! Create your own Writing Specialty and Make More Money, is aimed at novice freelancers; Six-Figure Freelancing: The Writer’s Guide to Making More Money helps experienced writers boost their bottom lines. Visit

www.becomebodywise.com for free articles about freelancing and more information about her.

Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

My Latest Flickr Photos

More Photos

Top Posts

Blog Stats

  • 186,447 Visitors

