My Word for 2008 is…

I’ve gone back and forth about what my one word should be for 2008 but finally I’ve decided.

Drumroll, please! My…one…little…word…for…2008…is…

OFFER

Such a simple word. Such a humble word. But if you think about it, offer is the perfect word for a writer because if you don’t make an offer, you don’t get the assignments.

I spent a lot of energy last year getting out there in the world and with all the planning and juggling family commitments and traveling I had less time than ever to contact editors and make appropriate offers.

Obviously, it all worked out because I have a very big assignment right now, my second book.

However, I have so much more to offer. And I don’t want the year to go by without feeling like I’ve made good on that feeling.

So, less travel this year and more offering. That’s my plan. And then in 2009, I’m looking forward to another book tour.

Listen to this definition of the verb:

to attempt to give somebody something that might be taken or refused, usually something desirable

also to provide something, or make it available for those who want it

That’s what I’m all about this year. It’s started all ready when I added two new classes to my 2008 roster based on needs I perceived in past participants. And when I study a publication and see an opportunity to offer my services, I will (after I finish my book).

So, for me, 2008 is the year to offer. To make an offer and keep making more offers for folks who want what I have, but can still say yes or no.

It’s perfect for me. Now what’s your one word going to be?

7 Responses to “My Word for 2008 is…”


  1. 1 Stephanie January 3, 2008 at 10:21 am

    That’s a great word to choose…very inspirational!

  2. 2 nathalie January 3, 2008 at 12:08 pm

    A funny thing happened. This morning, I filled out an order form to finally buy your book. I’ve wanted it since I found out I was going to get to be a mama last February. But, I kept telling myself the last damn thing I needed was yet another book about writing. What I really need is to just WRITE. But I kept it on my wish list. My little pumpkin’s been on the planet for nearly three months and though I’ve gotten really good at nursing while typing in order to meet deadlines, it turns out he is not so much content to sit beside me and coo while I write the day away. What was I thinking?! So I decided I could really use your book specifically tailored to this awesome opportunity because I am determined to make this business writing while mothering successful. And just as I completed my order form, I clicked to Ali’s blog and saw your comment which reminded me of the book I ordered and I followed the link to find this site! I’m excited to explore it and get to know your work better. This might be my longest comment on record; I’m just super stoked about this moment of synergy.

  3. 3 Mary Jo C. January 3, 2008 at 2:33 pm

    My word for 2008: SUCCESS

    I started dubbing each year The Year of… a few yrs back after some rough bumps in family/health and finances and the need for an attitude adjustment : One Year was the Year of Change, one was The Year of Loss.

    Last year (2007) was the Year of Rewards (and it worked – won 2 books from Christina) among other rewards.

    But this year, I am totally focused on my writing “career”. It will bring me SUCCESS…

  4. 4 Jordan Rosenfeld January 3, 2008 at 7:11 pm

    Hi Christina–I’ve been thinking about contacting you for a long time not only because we’re both WDB authors, but because I love your philosophy and blog, and I really appreciate your words. Then, five months ago I found out I was pregnant, and now it turns out I NEED your book too, even though I’ve been at this freelance game for a while.

    At any rate, I’m hoping I can get your email address. You’ve got mine, so if you think to drop me a line, that would be fantastic.

    Best,
    Jordan

  5. 5 Karrie January 3, 2008 at 8:39 pm

    My word is LEAP. For me it really is a leap to finally put myself out there and name myself a writer. I don’t mean a leap that is beyond my abilities but rather a leap like I used to love doing from log to log on the beach when I was 8. Man, was that ever fun!

    And that’s my word complete with image for my writing this year.

  6. 6 Linda Harris January 7, 2008 at 12:02 pm

    My word for 2008 is Opportunity. I’ve waffled back and forth between this and several others, but the one I keep coming back to is opportunity. I want to take advantage of every opportunity that comes my way. And maybe make some opportunities!


  1. 1 Divinely Crafty » My One Word Trackback on January 8, 2008 at 9:50 am
Comments are currently closed.



Christina Katz's Facebook profile

Whatcha lookin’ for?

January 2008
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

My Latest Flickr Photos

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 190,183 Visitors